Join our happy workaway family on our quinta in Alquerubim, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Enregistré comme favori 699 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    21.01.2022

  • paid opportunity

    Offre rémunérée

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our farm is owned by Goetz and Amelia whose lifelong dream was waking up every day to donkeys on a farm and whose dream has come true!!!
    Goetz is not much of a farm boy but is instead out surfing or kitesurfing living his dream in his campervan with our dog Jackson.

    The house is a large double story old house where we all live together, with volunteers who have their own rooms.

    We currently have one volunteer here and a couple who ended up staying for a year who are now leaving us and we would love to share some new experiences with new people. We have 2 rooms available for now.

    The farm is a fun farm for the pure pleasure of living with our 3 donkeys, five ducks, 14 chickens, 2 cats and a dog. We bought the property and it was pretty wild and overgrown but with amazing soil and exhisting fruit and nut trees, we have started to, with each season, embrace permaculture, food forests and working out how to keep animals that are happy and healthy, eat our own food ans live harmoniously with nature.

    We have two small construction projects underway, of cottages to be restored and renovated so are hoping to find someone with a little knowledge of construction or if not, who will give it a go.

    Our donkeys are a native breed in Portugal which are going extinct. We plan to get more in the future as we would like to do therapy and trekking with them, as well as rescue more donkeys. For now we have our 3.

    The donkeys and all other animals need feeding, cleaning out, walking and as we go away occasionally, it is vital we have people who have a genuine love and interest in the animals welfare and idealky thise who wiah

    We work from Mon to Friday from 9 till 2 and then Saturday and Sundays off or other flexible hours depending on the surf, weather etc but its basically 25 hours a week, all food is provided which is 90 percent vegetarian. We usually all eat together and Amelia cooks on week nights. Weekends everyone does their own meals or joins up for meals or we make pizzas.

    We want to create an artistic, warm, welcoming space with various accommodation facilities, workshop spaces and be surrounded by enthusiastic people of any age range we can share, collaborate and exchange ideas. We love people with initiative who will go and research stuff on youtube and then say "ok i think we can do this"

    We would love to invite artists to come and use our space as a canvas to create whimsical, irreverant art in any form alongside the building and in the house, garden and field. If your passion is bees build a beehive, if your passion is art, make an art installation, if you want to try make wine, use the grapes. we are open very much to ideas and collaborations.

    Although we are both 50, we relate a lot to alternative younglings. and our aim is to turn our space into a vibey, communal funky space that is a fun space for volunteers to hang out, whilst also restoring the main house and outbuildings to eventually accommodate groups for yoga, shibari workshops and eventually restore the big barn into accommodation.

    current projects:
    training donkeys to do treks, helping with painting and building, plastering, sanding, starting building a duck pond, building a beehive or whatever else takes your fancy. We love people to have their own ideas and make things, be creative and leave their mark.

    We can offer electricity and water if you have your own campervan which can be parked in the donkey field.
    We do not currently have any paid positions available, only volunteer hours, unless it is construction woodwork or plumbing.
    Amelia and Goetz

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Experience the Portugese countryside but not too far from Porto. Connect with other volunteers and learn and exchange skills and ideas.

    My husband can take you surfing or teach you one of his other watersports .He also offers support with anyone doing the 12 step programme.

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

    L’hôte a indiqué qu'il paierait au moins le salaire horaire minimum de son pays pour chaque heure travaillée et que l’hébergement serait fourni. Il demande de l'aide dans le cadre de son entreprise ou activité professionnelle. Contactez l'hôte directement via la messagerie du site pour en savoir plus et avoir des détails sur le salaire proposé. Tous les arrangements devraient être conclus à l'avance avec votre hôte.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We have a few projects on the go as well as daily farm life and tending to our produce.

    Creating art installations, building a pond and mini hydroponics set up, building beehives, a natural swimming pool, a fire pit, compost toilet.

    Fencing being put up for the donkeys.

    An exhisting adobe barn, needing renovating, a bathroom, roof, insulation, flooring, plastering so carpentry and building skills, using lime render and plaster, tiling, dry walls, plumbing would be a bonus!

    Two bathrooms in the house ie installing shower, toilet
    Insulating of roofs, tiling.

    Kitchen needs a bit of tiling, new sink installed and a bit of modernisation.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Portugais: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We are desperate to learn PORTUGESE. !

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    accommodation is rooms in our house with a shared bathroom, shared kitchen and once cottage is renovated this will be available.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are mostly vegetarian. We eat meat or fish maybe once a week but cook for the vegetarians separate stuff.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    we have fibre

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    we have water and electricity for you to plug in and an outside loo

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Any pets that arent chicken or cat killers.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    25 hours a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





N° de référence hôte : 169858593622