1 / 3
mis à jour  

Embrassez la nature et aidez dans notre guesthouse reculée près de Puerto Jimenez au Costa Rica

  • Enregistré comme favori 316 fois
  • Activité récente: 15 juil. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Hello,

    We are looking for a volunteer for July 2024- Aug 2024 and for the next year.
    In the guesthouse you will be helping with guests, welcoming them, cleaning rooms and making them up, keeping the restaurant area and guest kitchen clean, racking leaves, helping in the kitchen with diner and mainly breakfast, loving my dogs and cat ...
    You will be getting a list of chores to do for the 5 hour workday, some of which you are expected to do on your own… It is mainly general maintenance, cleaning rooms and restaurant area and gardening: weeding, racking, cleaning walls and painting, art work etc . We are there to help if you need it.

    For July and August , if there are no guests then you can help me with my magical garden, making an art view protection wall, and being creative with natural materials ,driftwood, vines, painting walls , making a stone path, fake river for drainage etc etc.

    You will be living in a cabin, surrounded by jungle, with a shared kitchen and shared bathroom, a small pool for you to use, if the pool house is not rented. If we have more then one volunteer and no space, you will be living in a four bed dorm ( Nov -April )
    You will get a basic food package : rice, bean, sugar, coffee or tea, oil every week and will get dinner, when dinner has to be made for the guests, same for breakfast.
    You will also be able ,whenever possible, to go on tours with Channy, help him with translation and enjoy!

    We also have wifi now here, so that is a plus.

    The volunteers must be very honest and open minded , completely independent, responsible but fun and be able to cope on her own..
    You have to be independent and don’t mind roughing it a bit as we are far from anything.
    You will have to provide and cook your own food, but very often we share our food, especially if there are dinners to be made.

    You have to love nature, jungle, rivers and time on your own as there is not much else here.There are great hikes around here, lots of beautiful swimming holes in the rivers, nature at its best! Best birdwatching ever....! Watching the monkeys in the morning ...And now a brand new basketball court at the school and we have a small gym here.

    It is a great opportunity to spend some time in the Peninsula de Osa, enjoying nature while working a little bit.
    We are 20 min from the beach and I go once a week to Puerto Jimenez, I can take you with me.There is a collective bus going twice daily to Puerto Jimenez.

    Now, if this is tempting you, or if you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact me.

    It is important that you speak some Spanish in order to communicate with Channy , my husband.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    This a small village, it has a park entrance and is slowly growing to become a tourist destination. It used to be a gold mining town and our place was the famous ( or infamous ) gold miners bar,brothel and jail....the cabinas with private bathrooms are in,what used to be the brothel and the bathroom for the huts are in the ex jail.
    Right now it is still of the beaten track.
    It has two small shop, a place to buy fresh vegetables ,a cheviche and bread man comes on Thursday, a couple of sodas.
    You can hitch a ride with me when I go to town or get an express (5000 colones ) for getting your food in Jimenez.
    It is one of the best places for birdwatching, jungle/ river walks, swimming... within an hours drive you can go surfing, kayaking, beach, rivers...

    We are a twenty-minute drive from Puerto Jimenez. Puerto Jimenez is a beach town that has a hospital, grocery store, hardware store, fruit/veg shop, meat shop, restaurants, two banks, etc.

    There is a collective bus Mon- Sat,leaving Dos Brazos at 7am and 12 and coming back at 11am and 3pm or you can hitch a ride with me when I go to town.

  • Aide

    Aide

    You need to be very honest and easy going,fun to be around with.You have to be able to work completely on your own, take responsibility , make your own meals , don’t mind living on your own, have to clean rooms and restaurant from departing guests,racking leaves , garden work, helping fix up the place like painting walls , making art work etc .

    In case there are guests :
    Experience in working with tourists is not necessary as long as you can socialize and make guests feel at home.You will have to welcome guests and explain the area and our tours and just to be there for the guests, clean the rooms when they leave etc.
    English a must.

    If there are not many guests you can help make any handicrafts projects; DIY lamps, decorative objects for garden and house, making fun arty things from scratch or things you find in nature, lot of driftwood art. .. natural wood sculptures/ carvings , planting, trimming, path making ....
    Garden work might include moving some heavy rocks, making a path, planting and/or growing moss / ferns species .Looking for wild orchids and 'planting them '....

    We have a probationary period and we will communicate via email or WhatsApp so we should know if we can work together. When you write to us, take a little time to introduce yourself, who you are, why you would like to come.
    Once you commit we expect you to come.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Channy, my husband needs to learn English and you could have an English/Spanish exchange. He only needs conversational English, but does need someone who can speak basic Spanish.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have a room on your own, just that sometimes you might need to change the room if it has been reserved and the guesthouse is full. When too many guests you will have to share a room with another volunteer.
    When the Little Pool house is not rented you can stay there and have a paradise living in full nature.

    I will provide the basics the volunteers can cook on their own . But normally , when dinner is provided to guests it is also provided to the volunteers.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are living 50 m from the Dos Brazos entrance to Corcovado National Park. There are lots of trails and rivers around here.There are waterfalls and natural pools, great hikes, lots of birdwatching etc. We also have three dogs, one cat.
    We live 13km from Puerto Jimenez, so to get here you have to take a collective bus .
    If you take the 12 noon San Jose-Puerto Jimenez bus, it arrives around 7-8 pm ,you will have to take a taxi from there to the hotel, ,around15.000 colones or spend one night in Puerto Jimenez.
    The collective bus , schedule is Mon-Sat from PJ- Dos Brazos at 6am, 11am and 3pm. From Dos Brazos- PJ it leaves at 7am, 12noon and 4pm.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    If you camper is independent on water and electricity, you can park it on a piece of land and have your own space.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Your pet should get along fine with our 3 dogs and cat.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours per day 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 162819748433

Feedback (11)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.6)

Communication: (5.0)















Wild Life & Nature Retreat in Platanillo de Baru, Costa Rica
Come and help in one of the nicest beach towns, Sámara, Costa Rica