Beautiful lakeside living near Vanderhoof, British Columbia, Canada

  • Enregistré comme favori 238 fois
  • Activité récente: 11 juil. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We live in rural central BC on a large ranch, with 2.5 km of lakefront. In my house it is only myself, my 18 year old son and my husband (who is often away travelling for work). I have 2 adult children who live on their own, one in Toronto and one in a small log house on our property. I work as a marriage commissioner, counselor, and make a health tonic. I write articles on health which are published weekly in several online papers across Canada. I am often too busy to maintain my place the way I would like to. This is where Workawayers have been a Godsend. Every Workawayer is valued and I encourage a stay of at least 2 weeks to really get to know each other and settle into our peaceful environment.

    Workawayers would have their own log cabin on the lake 150 metres from our house, over a hill so it feels very secluded. I encourage couples to come so that they have each others company but individuals are welcome too as long as they don't mind alone time. Because I have a husband with heart disease I have had to limit my guest's time spent in our private house. We used to eat together but now I am asking Workawayers to be comfortable with eating on their own at their cabin. This is also why I encourage couples. I provide groceries for independent food prep or will share meals if I have cooked that day. The cabin has a wood stove for heat/cooking.

    It is very beautiful & serene here. No neighbours, no traffic, no industry sounds at all. One must love birds - they are everywhere in the spring/summer as we are on the migratory route for many species. We have resident ospreys and eagles who live very close (often hanging out in the trees on our beach) and often fish right in front of our house. We have a resident hawk and owl. Other wildlife you may see: deer, moose, otters, black bears, coyotes. We regularly see wolves in the winter but they move out of the area by spring. Our sunsets last for hours. We have epic bonfires on our beach and will teach Workawayers how to roast the perfect marshmallow.

    We have bikes, a canoe & kayaks that Workawayers are welcome to use to explore the lake or go fishing. We have horses but they are for my horse therapy program rather than for riding. One is a beautiful 18 year old paint and the other is a year-old warm blood. If Workawayers are interested I can teach them some natural horsemanship ground schooling in our round corral. Not all play with horses needs to involve riding - working on trust and the join up is just as fun.

    I need help in the following areas:
    Inside the house:
    Cleaning & Organizing (I have the continual need to purge lots of stuff),
    Cooking and Kitchen Cleanup
    Minor repairs
    On the house:
    Cleaning my big windows that look over the lake, sweeping off the cobwebs weekly
    Sanding window ledges and painting

    Outside:
    Gardening (weeding & planting, weed-eating, pruning... )
    Getting my veg garden back in shape
    Planting flower boxes
    Lawn care (we have a push mower, a ride-on mower, & strimmers (weedwackers)
    Erecting a greenhouse (if I have ordered it)
    Clean up poop (dogs and horses)
    Fixing fence rails
    Organizing and purging outbuildings - ongoing project
    Painting or staining deck or deck chairs
    Raking the beach
    Cobweb removal (outside of buildings)

    Other:
    Construction and renovation projects are always underway - if you have solid reno or construction experience you would be a great asset!

    With Animals:
    Brushing & Feeding Dogs & Horses
    Ground Work if you are capable & confident (these are not trail horses but real horses who have their own minds), I can teach you natural horsemanship for ground schooling.
    Feeding chickens & sweeping out the chicken shed (we have no chickens presently),

    Please let me know in advance if you have fears. As we live in a natural environment we have the odd spider, garden snake, frog, mouse ... And sometimes moose, wolf or bear sightings (from a distance). We do have resident bears who live nearby but they leave us alone and we do our best not to disturb them.

    We live 15 minutes from the nearest town where there is shopping, a couple pubs, restaurants, movie theatre, parks, museum, hospital... We live 1 hour from Prince George where there is much more shopping, entertainment, restaurants, theatre, clubs... easy bus ride or you can come with me when I go to Prince George (weekly) to sell my health tonics there. You will be responsible for your own accommodation though.

    If this placement interests you, and you want to learn more about me please ask for my websites and facebook page.

    Please send me a list of your skills when you contact me so this experience can be mutually beneficial. As much as I enjoy getting to know people from other countries, I really need to only have people here who have a good grasp of English. I would also like to know what your talents and capabilities are beforehand.

    Happy travels and stay safe.
    Claire Nielsen

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Help with English
    Learning new skills
    Beautiful lifestyle on a quiet and private lake
    Connection with nature
    Spiritual conversation
    Counseling 1 hour a day
    Bird watching
    Connection with the night sky
    Cultural experience with Aboriginal community next door
    Learning about the true and authentic history of Canada.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Spiritual and balanced personalities are always welcome.
    I am a very spiritual person who teaches mindfulness and has a practice of spiritual counseling & energy work. I am happy to be in active dialogue with any people who come here. I am also the local marriage commissioner.

    If you are interested in helping with my horses, please outline your experience. These are not trail ride horses but they have lovely energy and generally good ground manners. I can teach ground-schooling & natural horsemanship.

    Non smokers only please, no drugs, light drinking accepted. I am not opposed to marijuana but it must be discreet and not habitual or in front of my son. If you turn up stoned for projects you will be asked to leave.

    Sense of humour an asset. I have a teenager who has ADHD/ODD so please don't come unless you like teens. He has graduated high school now so he may not even be around.

    I am open to singles, couples & families. We prefer couples without young children (our area and the lake is not toddler proof). However, we do have a toddler (grandchild) who comes to visit a lot.

    I hope to connect with independent, individuals with good work ethic who can get themselves up in the morning and help on projects without supervision. I prefer mature individuals, as I don't want to be a 'mother' to my Workawayers. (I will however, be an Aunty.) I do offer free counseling support to my guests but please bear in mind that counseling support is offered with limits. Please don't choose our profile for this reason only.

    Nature-lovers will appreciate the natural beauty and wildlife here.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Private, quaint log guest cabin right on the lakeshore
    Log cabin has power (limited) with a fridge, microwave and hotplate. Log burning wood stove for heat.
    Outhouse type toilet
    Outdoor shower (can be daily)
    Laundry & very occasional showers in our house (not daily as our system is sensitive)
    Most Workawayers absolutely love staying in the log guest cabin, but if you are afraid of the odd spider, mouse or being alone in quiet please talk to me beforehand to determine if this is the right accommodation for you.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live in a incredibly beautiful setting on a private lakeside ranch with over 2.5km of waterfront. Workawayers can use the canoe or kayaks for sightseeing on the lake. It would be good if you can swim. There are leeches in our lake but they are harmless and only seasonal (and easy to remove).

    Workawayers are expected to work on projects independently. I have a very busy life so there will be a list of chores / projects and the Workawayers can often choose which to help on (aside of the daily plants and animals that need tending to). We do not watch the clock.

    We have a gym that workaway guests can use, complete with professional equipment, a tv (Netflix, Disney, Prime Amazon) & Wifi. We ask that workout times be coordinated with family members that use the gym.

    We are just down the road from an Aboriginal Reservation so cultural learning is available. Small town of Vanderhoof is 15km away where you can find shopping, theatre, pubs, coffee shops, restaurants, river for swimming and floating on, parks, hiking trails...

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have wifi for those who are working on their own projects but ask that they consider the commitment to working hours as outlined in the Workaway agreement.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a lot of space so if you prefer to sleep in your own campervan, there are many options of where to park.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We have 2 friendly German Shepherd dogs so if you bring a dog (please no cats) it must be up to date on immunizations, spayed or neutered, and sociable with other dogs.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 892752752521

Feedback (32)



Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)















































Looking for help with our horses and animals in Enderby, BC, Canada
Come and help our family and stay in a funky tower on the Bay of Fundy in Harbourville, Canada