Join us on our rural organic homestead in Willits, Northern California, USA



mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 562 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    96.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 7 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 3 semaines

  • Description


    Hello! We are a married couple, in our late 30's/early 40's, with a 8 year old son. We live in Mendocino county on land that has been in my family since 1970. We built a straw bale home 10 years ago and are working on creating our dream homestead. We are advocates for organic and sustainable living. We value living in nature and enjoying the beauty and gifts that provides. We have been working towards creating a homestead that provides real food, fun, a peaceful and healing retreat, learning opportunities, as well as being a sanctuary for people during uncertain times.
    We keep dairy goats, chickens, dogs, cats and one free roaming peahen. We have three large vegetable/herb gardens and some young fruit trees. There’s a pond which provides swimming and agricultural water through out most of the year. Our homestead is in the mountains so there is still a sense of the rugged lifestyle and adventure that comes with living in a rural environment. We are 'off-grid' so we get our power mostly from solar and/or generator power. We still live a semi rustic lifestyle even though there’s a main house and so we like to warn people that they should be comfortable with some elements of rugged living i.e. oil lamps/solar lamps, camping, dirt roads, outhouses, outdoor showers etc.
    We cut our own firewood, gather wild herbs and play in the forest as much as possible! We still maintain the 'back to the land' feel that brought our first family members here. Being still mostly in the beginning stages of developing much of our infrastructure, there is a lot to do to contribute to this awesome vision!
    I am a certified herbalist, Rebirthing therapist, nature lover, and passionate Mother. My husband is a carpenter, artist, musician and wizard of all trades. Our Son is very open, engaging and social. It's important to us that those interested in staying here have a love and appreciation for children, and are comfortable relating and interacting with them.
    Our passions/talents range from organic/biodynamic gardening, permaculture, herbal medicine, spiritual exploration, music making, celebrating the seasons and cycles in nature, environmentalism, community building, art, dance, Waldorf education, carpentry, animal husbandry, nature all things farm life related! We appreciate humor, generosity, kindness and curiosity, and strive to foster those attributes throughout our daily lives!

    *️️️️️We are always looking for help with building and house projects. Some of the things we'd like to get started are converting a small shed into a little sleeping space with loft. Finishing our outdoor kitchen. Lime plastering a bathroom and installing a tub/shower. Building an outdoor cob oven...or two. Please reach out if you have experience in those realms and want to have some fun! :)

    *Our outdoor kitchen recently underwent some upgrades and we dismantled parts of it to pour a concrete floor for the space. We have set up a cute camp style kitchen in the meantime. While not the awesome finished product yet, it is still very cute and functional!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We can offer a learning experience in organic gardening, herbal medicine, carpentry, animal husbandry, living 'off grid' and following nature in everyday life.
    We offer the experience of living a rural life in the hills of northern ca, in a small artistic and historically rich community. We live in a town and community that has many farmers, artists, activists and old ranching families with deep roots and a love for this beautiful and unique area.

  • Aide


    We need help with the day to day farm/garden chores i.e. watering, weeding, feeding livestock, cleaning pens etc. Help with planting/harvesting, irrigation, housework, animal care, cutting firewood, building fences, new animal enclosures and small structures...and just about everything in between!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    We have a small single room geodesic dome structure with a full bed (this is currently undergoing repairs and not available) We have a gorgeous little gypsy wagon/tiny home with queen bed, skylight and partial kitchen. We also have many beautiful spots for camping, with tents available.
    There is food from the gardens and eggs from the chickens available. We provide staples for meal making, any extras or specialty items you must provide yourself, like coffee, desserts, snacks, treats etc.
    We appreciate family time and mellow mornings homeschooling our son, so most meals are “make your own” style in the outdoor kitchen, lunch is either communal at the main house or make your own, depending on the days flow.
    We do two community dinners a week...where we cook together, sometimes celebrate and play music/read poetry etc.! The other dinners during the week we have for family time and farm helpers cook communally or solo at the camp kitchen.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our town is a small vibrant bustling community with many fun options to explore during down time, like swimming in the river, hiking on a redwood trail, museum, great bookstore, art gallery, library, small theater, movie house, farmer's market, community documentary nights, farmers gatherings, fun local pub and cider house with great local musical talent and many other cool things to explore!
    We have been hosting volunteers for the past 5 plus years and have found it to be a fun and enriching experience for all. Many who have visited come to love the area and stay connected to our farm, and either extend their stay or come again.
    We strive to create a mellow fun environment for our family and for those visiting!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.7)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)

N° de référence hôte : 157548332979