Help me to construct a workaway summer camp in my one hectare garden, close to the beautiful Gorge du Verdon, France

  • France
  • Enregistré comme favori 824 fois
  • Activité récente: 22 févr. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    Hi to everyone !
    I'm a friendly, open minded mature man who has a cottage near to the Gorge du Verdon.
    The National Park is one hours drive away. For experienced cyclists it is a lovely day-trip. The spectacular Gorge itself is further away. There is so much to see and do there, (including many different sport activities) so I suggest you allow 4 - 5 days after your workaway stay with me and head out there to experience this stunning landscape.

    I would describe myself as intelligent, outgoing and down to earth.
    I do not have a problem regarding race/skin colour or sexual orientation.

    I have an ambitious project for the 2022 season...
    I'm creating a workawayers 'village' for you to have your own special place to hang out and have fun. The project involves the following :

    *Building small individual styled wooden cabins as workawayer accommodation. You can bring your own creative ideas onboard this project !

    *Constructing a large hexagonal wooden pavillion which will be used as a communal kitchen and eating area, (initial construction has begun).

    *Creating a workout/gym area. I already have the weights/ bars etc, (the bench for lifting weights is already built), but there's more to do...

    * Also, I'm looking for help with strimming and cutting bushes.

    *Bicycle Repairs and maintainence.

    * And Fitness coaching... I'm trying to lose weight !

    PLEASE NOTE : The majority of the tasks on offer are cutting bushes and other basic gardening. This are hard physical tasks, especially during summer when the sun is blazing and it's 30°...also, in our region there are mosquitos and biting bugs to deal with. Please think carefully about this because it's 90% of the work duties. You must have stamina and a strong will power for this job. Once you get into the routine it's fine, but a lot of people give up beforehand which is not good for me or yourself !

    I ask for 4 and a half hours help per day/ 5 days per week in exchange for your own private accommodation, (in the caravan, little stone cube hut or wooden chalet...see photo's) plus meals and non alcoholic drinks, (please read the later paragraph relating to alcohol).

    You are responsible for preparing all your meals and doing the washing up. The cooking is shared on a rota basis. I will cook for you chilli prawns/ indian or thai curry, (or a pasta dish) twice a week.

    The daily routine is :
    Breakfast until 10:00
    Work period from 10:00 - 13:00
    Lunch break 13:00 - 14:00
    Work period 14: 00 - 15:30
    After this you are free for the rest of the day... go for a dip in the nearby river, explore the surrounding area or chill in one of our hammocks !
    After 5 days you have 2 free days to relax and explore.

    I am looking the following skills: if you are a qualified > Welder > Specialist for dry stone wall building > Electrician > Solar and wind energy specialist > Plumber> Bricklayer > Tiler > Roofing specialist > Computer programmer, then I ask for less hours and offer you more days off, (to be negotiated).

    An english friend will be joining me most of the time and he can assist you to improve your spoken english.
    I speak fluent german, english and french.

    PLEASE NOTE : I provide you with clean towels, bed-linen and have a large variety of work and casual clothes for you to wear + shower gel and you can travel light !
    I do not provide mosquito repellent spray or sun protection so please bring it with you ! Also, it may be a good idea to bring protective footware for swimming in the nearby river, (the river bed is stony).

    Please note : Internet access is limited to 2 hours in the morning and 2 hours in the evening, (through my airbox). Please ensure you have plenty of mobile data.

    I do not tolerate heavy consumption of alcohol ! This has been such an enormous problem : alcoholism and abuse of my generosity in providing it - so I no longer provide it. I provide soft drinks and good quality tea and coffee. You are welcome to consume alcohol, but you will have to provide it yourself. I am not a mean spirited person, (as you will see in my feedback), but it has become a huge problem and spoils the atmosphere.

    To join me you need to find your way to Les Arcs/Draguignan railway station or the town of Le Muy. I will collect you from there.
    Because accommodation is limited and I tend to be get overbooked in summer, it is essential that you contact me in advance so that I can reserve you a place !

    I'm easy going, but...if you are any of the following you will definitely not fit in here :
    * Overly religious.
    * If you are totally dependant on using your mobile phone throughtout the day... * If you have a problem with the heat working during the day... * If you have a problem with mosquitos and bugs, or mice, (all provence houses in the countryside have them). * If you are a fussy eater, (I'm a green person who does not like wasting food, so I tend to buy seasonal fruit and vegatables and food that is on special offer, * If you are reliant on local shops and cafes, (the nearest supermarket 40 minutes drive and the nearest cafe/brasserie is a 7 km hike).
    * If you are reliant on alcohol.

    UPDATE 04/10/2022 : This year I have had so many workawayers who have not turned up, (sometimes after months of planning and giving their exact arrival dates). This causes chaos for me and is not fair to workawayers who genuinely want to stay. So, once you have given me your arrival date, please commit yourself to the exchange.
    All no shows and workawayers who back out at the last minute will be given negative feedback.

    Careful planning is everything for both hosts and workawayers !!!

    Please ensure you have full medical travel insurance, (it's your responsibility !)

    For your first visit I strongly suggest you stay for a maximum of 1 - 2 weeks to see how you like it here.

    I hope to welcome you into my house and garden soon !


  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I can help you improve your german, english and french language skills.
    I provide bicycles for local sightseeing tours in your free time.

  • Aide


    All types of help, from gardening to painting/ help building garden structures/ housework etc...
    Flexibility is required.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    You are guaranteed your own private sphere for sleeping. This may be in the form of a wooden chalet in the garden or a little stone hut. I also provide small tents, (with comfortable mattresses) in case I am oversubscribed.
    In winter months it can be VERY cold and damp here. The accommodations are not heated, but there are plenty of blankets for the beds.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There's lots to see in the surrounding area, including typical provencal towns and wonderful natural landscapes - including the famous Gorge du Verdon National Park which is 30 km away.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    I have space for one camper van. Sorry, no dogs accepted.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4 hours, 45 minutes a day / 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 156725834914

Feedback (24)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.9)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)