Aidez de jeunes fermiers à développer leur petite ferme durable, Nouvelle-Écosse, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 85 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    15.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am an enthusiastic young adult starting a small farm in Musquodoboit Harbour, NS with my baby Husky Luna and mutt Sandy. I have been building up my farm the past 1.5 years with the help of some wonderful workawayers. I am hoping to finally have my grand opening this summer, start running farm tours, rescue more domestic animals and have a more consistent production cycle. I am aiming for more small scale methods of farming with lots of biodiversity and recycling of nutrients. I am not from a farming background and this has been a great adventure for me & I plan to continue (just need a little help) growing my farm. Right now, I am raising chickens, ducks, pigs, rabbits, geese, goats and boarding horses. I am also hope to do some gardening with the compost created by our animals this spring. I have been very lucky to have had wonderful workawayers the past year and want keep meeting new travellers and new people. I am looking for someone to add to my project; bring in new ideas, methods & enthusiasm.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I live about 45 minutes outside of Halifax, NS, just along the ocean. There are lots of wonderful outdoor activities all around us (kayaking, swimming, hiking, climbing, etc.). I am from Quebec and moved to Nova Scotia to enjoy its beauty and tranquility. You would be part of the family as I share my dinners & hot tub times. When not working you can enjoy hammocking and hottubing while looking at the ocean. I also love playing board games, chatting or making fires.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I am just starting my farm and looking for help during spring/summer/fall. Tasks will range from helping me take care of animals, gardening, putting up fences, cooking, engaging the community, etc. I currently have chickens, ducks, rabbits, goats, pigs and horses. The tasks will be extremely diverse as we are just starting out and the amount of work is quite high despite the small size. I do expect a hard worker and someone that is comfortable around animals and dealing with animal wastes.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    I am just finishing up a cabin we built especially for our workers. It is a separate building on the farm and overlooks the harbour. There are two lofted queen beds, a little kitchen, shower, outhouse and couch. It will be available for workawayers once we finish in (expecting mid February 2021). I also have a large finished basement with private bathroom/shower and queen bed. Meals are provided, however, help cooking would be appreciated. I try to eat as healthy as possible and aim to eat as much from what we produce. Once the cabin is done, I am planning to allow workawyers their space and privacy in the mornings/afternoons and in the evenings join me for a communal dinner & any internet needs (no internet at the cabin).

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I am a laid back and enjoy my little paradise. However, I definitely understand the need to explore your surroundings. Therefore, I am open to offering rides in town or up to hiking site or wherever you would like to go.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    If the pet is friendly with farm animals & other dogs!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







N° de référence hôte : 146555796881