Come live and work on a permaculture homestead in Western MA, USA.

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 292 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    30.11.2021

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Join my mom and I as we live and work on our 13 acre permaculture homestead. We are located on a quiet, dirt road in Shutesbury, MA only a short 3 mile bike ride from the center of Amherst. On one side of our road is the house as well as 2 acres of mostly lawn space (with a small kitchen garden and several perennial flower beds). Directly opposite the house stands the solar panel covered animal barn. Here we house laying hens, ducks, three sheep, two draft horses, one livestock guardian dog and three pregnant goats (set to kid out in June!). These animals have free range within a 10 acre fenced in pasture. North of the pasture is an outdoor riding ring, our large no-till annual vegetable garden, a collection of fruit and nut trees as well as berry bushes/shrubs. A constantly flowing stream edges these 11 acres (pasture+garden space).
    Our mission on this land is to be almost entirely self sustaining, living off the land in a way that regenerates the life in the soil and, simultaneously, produces little to no waste. We are also trying to create a space for others to learn homesteading skills

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Travelers will benefit from living and working on a homestead that embodies the permaculture philosophy of surviving (and thriving!) off the land while at the same time improving the health of the natural ecosystem. Volunteers will learn strategies to catch and store natural energy, grow their own food, create healthy soil life and recycle EVERYTHING back into the farm system.
    More specifically volunteers will have the opportunity to acquire hard skills in the following areas:
    1. Farm machine use and maintenance (Kubota tractor, cub cadet mower...etc)
    2. Food preservation (canning, drying, fermentation, root cellar storage...etc)
    3. Animal care and management (goat, sheep, horse, chicken, duck and dog)
    4. Cooking (learn to make tasty use of our garden veggies, homegrown eggs and goat cheese! We also make grind grain and make our own bread)
    5. No-till gardening (sheet mulching, broad forking, composting, seed starting, pest management...etc)
    In addition, longer term volunteers will have time to tackle their own eco-projects on the farm. Help us set up a rainwater catchment system off our barn roof! Install our hydraulic ram in the nearby stream and help us irrigate the garden! Propose your own project and make it happen!
    Beyond what volunteers will learn on our particular farm there are also many opportunities to learn about permaculture and homesteading at farms in our local community. The Pioneer Valley is a regenerative agriculture hub. In their free time volunteers are encouraged to visit nearby nearby gems such as Laughing Dog Farm, Wildside Cottage and Gardens, Paradise Lot, Sirius Community, Triplebrook Farm and many other permaculture sites. The area outside of the farm also offers travelers many opportunities to develop mushroom foraging skills. My mom is an expert and loves to explore the surrounding woods for forest edibles.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    My mom and I need help with a wide variety of farm chores. These will include animal care (clipping goat hooves, scooping horse manure, milking goats, feeding all animals...etc), gardening, cooking, tree pruning, food processing and preservation, harvesting..etc

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Chinois (mandarin): Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I’m trying to get better at Spanish! My current level is intermediate.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have several options for acommodation. In the house we have a sleeping loft. Outside we have a large pop-up camper trailer with two queen sized beds. We also have a comfy tent that can be set up on the ground or converted into a hammock tent. Meals will be prepared and eaten in the house. Cooking will be a rotating chore.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our area offers lots to do in a volunteer's free time! There are numerous nearby town centers offering yummy food, shopping, live music and other events. Amherst, Northampton, Greenfield, Turners, Montague and Shelburne Falls are especially worth visiting. Volunteers can also take time to explore the local nature. There are plenty of hiking trails and swimming holes many of which are within walking distance from our farm. We have three bikes (one of which is electric!) and two cars available for transportation.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.8)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)










N° de référence hôte : 138812617369