Petite ferme avec des chevaux, des jardins et un verger dans la magnifique Ruakokoputuna River Valley en Nouvelle-Zélande recherche volontaires

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte Workaway

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    40  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    23.06.2017

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    98.0%

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    within 7 jours

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    Hi,

    We are looking for people to share our home and help us with the horses and other animals and also help with house-work, cooking, gardening, firewood and small farm projects.

    We have a small, beautiful property nestled in a bend of the picturesque Ruakokoputuna River Valley near the wine growing village of Martinborough (15 minutes away). Martinborough is in the Wairarapa province - we are 1.5 hours from Wellington. We work from home with Melissa involved with the horses and equestrian activities and Burton as a writer, publisher and inventor. We have 4 grown up children.

    Even if it looks like we are already booked up with Workawayers, there are sometimes cancellations so it is always worthwhile making an inquiry. We have been hosting volunteers for 12 years now and have made some wonderful life-long friends.

    We are usually looking for people to help us with our sport-horses as well as other house and farm/garden jobs. Our horses are upper-level sports horses or young horses - not quiet riding school or trekking horses - so if you want to ride then you need to have a good level of riding experience and be 70kgs or less. Of course there are lots of jobs to do with them that are not about riding them and they are all interesting characters.

    There is also plenty of work in the garden, the orchard and the house etc. We love it when volunteers like to cook too!!
    (we always have a well stocked pantry for those who want to bake and cook). We are meat eaters - (mostly from our own animals), but are fine if you are vegetarian - though we are not set up to cater for vegans.
    We have free-range chickens, a few sheep and cows and 3 wonderful cats as well as the horses.

    We are looking for self motivated, hard working, energetic people who like a variety of work and who appreciate healthy living, good conversation, interesting ideas, scenic beauty and physical activity. Volunteers need to be able to work independently as although we are mostly around, we are often busy with our own work. Sometimes you will be on you own in sole-charge of the place and the animals. Therefore we are more suited to people who have lived away from home for a few years - so age 20+ rather than your first experience away from home.

    Comfortable accommodation, good food and wine, and beautiful surroundings are what we offer in return for your assistance around the property. It is great if you have your own vehicle (or at least your drivers license as we sometimes have a car you can use) as then you can explore the local environment.
    We are also sometimes looking for experienced responsible people or couples who would be happy to look after our place for a week or two when we have to go away.

    We look forward to hearing from you.

    Cheers
    Melissa and Burton.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Cuisine / courses
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Aide à la ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux
    Aide avec l'ordinateur / Internet

  • Aide

    Aide

    We have a big home vegetable garden, a home orchard and also run a few sheep, cows, chickens and horses. We are not commercial but have our farmlet to enhance our family's health and well-being. Tasks include gardening, planting, working with horses, helping with animals, composting, household tasks, cooking, property maintenance etc. We are not vegetarian but don't mind if you are - particularly if you are happy to help with cooking.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have either a bedroom in our house with a queen sized bed or a very quaint gypsy caravan type house truck. This has a double bed and a table and sink etc.
    Meals are shared with us. We have broadband internet access.
    Our home is fairly open plan and warm. Mostly it is just the two of us here during the week with our daughter coming back sometimes to help with the horses.

  • Autres choses...

    Autres choses...

    The Wairarapa is a non-touristic area which has many beautiful places to discover - Cape Palliser Seal Colony, Castlepoint, Mt Holdsworth Forest Park, Patuna Chasm, Blue Rock Glow Worm Caves and Lake Ferry to name a few.
    The weather like all of New Zealand is unpredictable and so you need to have clothes for all weathers.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures d'aide bénévole attendues

    5 hours per day - but flexible. Can work more sometimes and then have day off.

Photos


My Photo Album


The Ruakokoputuna Valley - looking towards the Haurangi Mountains.
Host ref number: 462947311456

Feedback left by and about host

excellent
(excellent)

excellent
(excellent)


excellent
(excellent)

This Workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private.

excellent
(excellent)

This workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private, but can be contacted regarding this feedback by other workawayers.

excellent
(excellent)

excellent
(excellent)


excellent
(excellent)

excellent
(excellent)


excellent
(excellent)

excellent
(excellent)


excellent
(excellent)

excellent
(excellent)


excellent
(excellent)

excellent
(excellent)


excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

Moyen
(Moyen)


excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

excellent
(excellent)

Il est seulement possible de contacter les Workawayers avec un compte actif.

Veuillez vous connecter pour laisser votre feedback.

Some of our top hosts