Victoria & Donald

Origine: États-Unis

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte joint

  • ...


    Grèce, Italie, Turquie

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    01.06.2020 - 12.01.2022

  • number of facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Notre statut

    en voyage

  • Description

    My wife and I are minimalists, environmentalists, teachers, learners, and humanitarians. I always wanted to explore the world to meet new people, share stories, enjoy each day for the moment, and keep memories rather than stuff collected. My wife, my four daughters, and I agreed to change our life by leaving USA. In the last four years of travel, we have been welcomed in so many places that we now have a world community to call our home. We believe in self-directed education, and inspire each other to be productive through learning practical skills from others. Work and cultural exchanges have enriched our lives, and have helped us appreciate the world by toiling and laughing with new friends.
    We became a world traveling family in 2016. We are full-time, 100% nomadic. We limit our personal possessions to what we can carry in our backpacks, but we left a 1989 five meter camping car in the United States, which stores precious objects too valuable to surrender, but not useful enough to carry with us on the road (We have enjoyed hosting on the Bewelcome platform with our camping car.).
    In 2018, we learned about teaching English in Spain and we are employed in our second year with the Auxiliaries de Conversation program. In Tenerife for our first year, we were able to host a couple from Portugal through Bewelcome.
    We had three main reasons for traveling the world. First, we want to build strong family connections and long lasting memories with each other. Second, we want to be useful -- helping, learning, and finding enrichment from one another (Before I left the United States, I was attending Law School, was enlisted in the Air Force National Guard, and worked as a reservist in Federal Emergency Management for disaster response.). Lastly, the world is a huge place and exploring it is a fascinating way to spend each day.
    Note: Our daughters fully participate in workaway, and are very capable young women.
    Rachael (Age: 13): Loves to sing and play her ukulele, dreams of having her own YouTube channel someday. Loves to write in her journal, listen to music, and make new friends. Always happy to help, in the kitchen, or in the garden. She is excited to talk and share and feels good helping with animals, English practice, and cultural exchanges. Will chop garlic!
    Lauren (15): Loves drawing, being creative and sharing her love for art YouTube videos. She makes a great egg, ham and cheese sandwich, loves to read fast and for a long time, craves horror films (but is not allowed to watch them too much) and play video games (with a friend, preferably). She is always happy to make new friends, share stories and to play any type of games. Always happy to help with animals. Will make pancakes!
    Kathryn (16): Kathryn is attending university this year via online. She loves to bake, listen to music, dance, learn about art, write in her blog and socialize. She teaches English and art to children in small groups and individually, in person and online. She loves to help children learn English while playing with them. Always happy to help, loves to clean and organize while listening to her favorite music.
    Izabel (19): Izabel now has her own profile on workaway and travels independently. Sometimes she is with us, but after almost four years of traveling together, she is a confident solo traveler. She is currently working as an assistant English teacher in Galicia, Spain, while stinultaneously attending university online.
    Victoria & Don (41 & 43): Victoria has devoted herself to bringing up awesome kids. She is university educated and worked in banking and as a waitress before children. She speaks both English and Russian fluently. She has experience working as an assistant English teacher for two years, as well as teaching private English lessons. Don has had many jobs. His favorite jobs have been cooking in restaurants and truck driving. Cooking is a passion that allowed him to explore cultures through food. Driving a truck allowed him to look at the changing landscape and seasons. Like Victoria, he is university educated. His work in the stock market, real estate market, and property management reflect his MBA education. He also has experience teaching English.

  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Ça nous intéresse :  

    Projets artistiques

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Pratique des langues
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Certified TESOL English and Business English instruction, business management (MBA), entrepreneurship, securities & finance, marketing, sales, trucking-logistics, culinary arts, aircraft maintenance (military), hospitality, property management, child-rearing, swim instruction (CPR), exercise and diet training, life coaching and motivation. Accompanied by a dual language speaker with BA in Business Administration, a mom and a life partner, with experience in teaching English, child rearing, healthy eating, motivation and life coaching. Positivity is our number one priority. Never giving up is another. Flexibility is our strength.
    Over the past four years of full time travel around the world we have been to Japan, Mexico, UK, Croatia, Thailand, Malaysia, Norway, Germany, Denmark, France, Spain, Italy, Morocco, Montenegro, Macedonia, Serbia, Bulgaria and Bosnia. We stay primarily at Airbnbs, as well as use workaway to make social connections and volunteer. We taught English at a primary school in Uttaradit, Thailand, helped host a ceramics conference in Tolne, Denmark, assisted teachers at a language academy near Casablanca, Morocco, helped in a women's shelter and solidarity project near Granada, Spain, helped at a farm/horse riding camp with goats, horses and children near Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria, taught English at a Cambridge Language school near Seville, helped out with general clearing/painting projects near Huelva, Spain, took care of animals and property at a hotel for guests with special needs near Faro, Portugal, as well as helped a family with house projects near Marselle. We have met lots of wonderful people while traveling the world, and can't wait to make more connections and learn more about different places we visit.
    Currently, Victoria is finishing off a contract with public schools in Murcia, Spain, where she is an assistant English teacher, while Kathryn, Lauren and Rachael are attending Spanish school for language immersion. Don is finishing off a temporary work commitment in the USA.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Russian: Courant

  • Âge

    42 & 44

  • Nationalité

    American (USA)

  • Autres infos...

    Here's a podcast interview our girls were invited to participate in:
    Rachael's YouTube song
    Here is a link to our airbnb reviews:
    Our oldest daughter's initial blog

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial


Working together is better than working alone.
The unknown is not far from home, thanks to friends everywhere.
We pack light, because space is sometimes limited.
Kitchen work in Denmark for a ceramics conference.
Victoria helping at Thai school.
We love food, delicious.
Raising culturally sensitive and educated minds, with your help.
"The hand that gives is better than the hand that receives" - Mr. Harim Islamic expression
Me and my broom (and some rocks that I put in the dirt)
Granada, Spain Solidarity Women and Children Center
Kathryn's baked goods
Jose's House near Huelva, Spain
2018 Bosnia Herzegovina
2019 Kids finally old enough to not fall into the Grand Canyon