Kira

  • Italie
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

    Ma prochaine destination :

    Hebrides, United Kingdom - du Oct 2022 au Déc 2022
    Voir tout
  • Description

    Hi!! I'm Kira, I'm a 26 years old Italian early childhood and primary school teacher. I've been really impacted by the pandemic and quarantining alone in my studio apartment in the city. Now I really long for nature and fresh air.

    I grew up in the countryside up until I was 10. My gramma's family used to have a small farm, where they grew organic vegetables. I know something about growing food by watching them.
    I still remember those days with great affection and sometimes feel like I should like to go back an live such a life.

    I move out of my original county when I was 16 and then again at 20 for uni. I was craving life and I thought I would find happiness in the chaos and pleasures of a big city. Turns out those things make me quite miserable. I feel like I need nature, especially for my mental health, and hard work for my soul. I love the satisfaction and pride that only manual jobs give me, the amusement in seeing that you just made what is standing in front of you with your hands. It makes me feel really good and helps me believe in myself, and in all the things I can do and achieve.

    During quarantine, that feeling of freedom related to the countryside come back, and since I never fancied particularly my own country I thought about leaving and traveling to see the world.
    Now that I finally graduated I still don't know if I want to proceed to live a life that is unraveling in front of me or jump and choose my gut (I'm usually an overthinker and a planner). I hope this trip and knowing you will help me understand if the country life I still remember so fondly, though being a really hard one, might be the right one for me or if I can find happiness also in a city working as a teacher.

    Other things I'm interested in are meditation and yoga, though I'm not very good at it; painting, embroidery, sewing, both historical and modern garments. I'm a pretty good cook, I'm fine with traditional Italian recipes, especially those from my region, and with desserts and cakes. In the past 3 years, I've been experimenting also with veganism and I find the recipes delicious too.

    I would love to join you and your families in your daily tasks and help you to bring your visions to reality. I would love to share stories and experiences, learn a bit more about your culture and language, whether it is English, Gaelic, or another. I've been trying to learn both Irish and Scottish Gaelic in quarantine, but I'm still pretty bad at both. I'm usually a very fast learner of languages, but I only found a course on an app so it's a bit harder.
    I can teach you a bit of mine if you like.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Nature
    Sports d'aventure
    Yoga / bien-être
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Vie en van
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Menuiserie
    Dev. durable
    Langues
    Dessin et peinture
    Écriture
    Livres
    Vidéographie
    Photographie
    Cuisine et alimentation
    Végétarien ou végan
    Soin des plantes
  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Italien: Courant
    Français: Débutant
    Irish: Débutant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    I would really like to improve my very thin knowledge of the Irish and Scottish Gaelic language, I've been trying to learn them through an app, but sometimes they don't offer the pronunciation and being surrounded by the language itself helps me learn faster usually.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Langues
    Éco-projets
    Tenir compagnie à une pers. âgée
    Aider dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Accueil / tourisme
    Aider à la maison

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Projets artistiques
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Enseignement
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    ANIMALS: I grew up on a farm until I was about 10, so I remember some things although I wouldn't consider myself an expert in those skills. I am comfortable working with animals, feeding them, doing a bit of tidying up in the barn, and such.

    WOODWORK: In those years my great-uncle taught me woodworking, and I still remember how to build basic things, like tables chairs...or basic things you might need on the farm, like logs for the fences etc, since I'm comfortable using basic machines and power tools. From 12 to 16 we lived on an ex-olive oil farm, so we had to do some pruning seasonally, and I can use a hacksaw and manual saws or two-arm saw. In January I helped my hosts building a new cabin.

    FARMING and GARDENING: I Had some experience growing vegetables, planting seeds, and ploughing. I'm not particularly good at growing flowers nor at discerning the various types, but I'm really interested in learning more about them. I have some experience with olive groves.
    I have been working on two different farms so far, through the wwoof website.

    COOKING AND HOUSEWORK: I'm a really fine cook (at least so they say), and there is really very few things of housework that I've never tried. I've been living alone for the past seven years so I'm used to all the chores and routine that needs to be done in order to keep a house going.

    CHILDREN /BABYSITTING: I'm an early childhood and primary school teacher, I teach children from age 3 to 11, and I've been working as a babysitter as well when I was younger.

    HOBBIES: I'm really much into sewing. I can design and make garments, mend things, I'm learning how to knit (could still use some advice in that, I'm only able to do the basic stitches), I enjoy embroidering and painting, and in the past two years, I've developed a very strong inclination towards historical sewing and garments, especially 18th and early 19th century, and an interest in learning more about fabrics and materials they used, particularly about wool, tweeds and tartans. I would like to become more skilled in filmography and photography, I'm trying to learn that as well considering also the editing part.

  • Âge

    26

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      I'm vegetarian but my stomach doesn't digest very easily milk and derivates, so when I cook for myself, usually 80% of my weekly meals are vegan and then a 20 % I allow myself some dairy poducts, especially for desserts =)

Feedback

Amis

Photos

Feedback