mis à jour  

A terraced food forest near Castres, France

  • Enregistré comme favori 346 fois
  • Activité récente: 13 avr. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Hey,

    How are you?

    -----------The basics-----------

    The farm is on 40 hectare very forested slope within a 3 min drive from the village of Vabre. I live in one of the small houses, a bigger a family/guest house is occupied on a non-permanent basis, my mom stayed there this winter, and she rents it seasonally, and another young couple is staying medium term in their yurt.

    I am looking for one or two people who can share a double bed in a small wood-heated caravan to stay for short periods to help me out with different activities here on our wild syntropic food forest-farm.

    Sometimes we work together and eat together, sometimes we will do our own thing. (5 hours a day, 5 days. Flexible days based on the weather and seasons. Activities listed below the next section).

    Details about a part-time paid position at the end.

    ------------More info----------------

    My medium term goal is to renovate the other two buildings and find individuals/couples/families with young children to live here and have revenue-generating farm projects that can be incorporated sustainably and harmoniously with the land and it's residents/owners.

    I'd like that people who come stay here are independent and ecologically minded, can be flexible yet timely, ENJOY working outside on farms, using their bodies as well as their minds, can follow directions, ask questions and most importantly speak up when there is a misunderstanding =)

    It is also important that you are fine spending time alone sometimes.
    And be ready for a short video conference before we agree on a stay :)

    Here I can teach you not kill yourself eating wild plants+trees ;) identify (≈100 on the farm) and eat them or not, perma-culture type gardening, syn-tropic forest gardening, how to stack and chop wood like a pro, as well as what ever renovation projects I am working on...

    Elise, my mom, is a mushroom expert and loves teaching mycology. She runs a gite on the farm
    which sometimes she needs help with the gite but no more than a couple of hours per week.

    My background

    I grew up in the States, studied history and Permaculture, was involved in different militant struggles in US/FR, squatted in Ireland before coming to Vabre in 2016, I'm passionate about agro-forestry, climate change, permaculture, growing food, engineering the farm to be more efficient, spending time with my toddler and making her laugh. Though she lives in Germany most of the time.

    ——————————-
    How to get here:

    We go to the small organic food market in Vabre once-twice a week with the car and do a day trip to Castres once every two-three weeks to go the bio store/bricolage store and a bigger organic outside market. By foot, Vabre is a 35 minute walk or a 3 minute car ride. In Vabre there are also two small supermarkets but the bio food is rather expensive... There are buses to and from Castres 4-5 times a day - except on Sundays!).

    After a week we check-in and talk about how it's going for every one.

    Description of Area:

    We are located on a South-facing SLOPED mountainside with two wild rivers within a ten/twenty five minute walk from the main house. There are places to rock climb/boulder and cliff jump at these river spots. Super fun =)

    We have a spring on the land that provides water from October/November to July/August after that we rely mainly on rain water, jerry cans and our filter.

    The forest is amazing and everywhere here. This a perfect place for people to be surrounded by nature with amazing views and the ability to hike and explore for hours without seeing a soul.

    Hope to speak to you soon!


    ***Part time paid position available*** for French citizens only at the moment and there would be an official work contract. Minimum one month.
    The agreement would be 4hrs paid (18euros/hr) + 20 hours work exchange per week and you cover your food. See below in "accommodations".

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Languages! We love learning.
    Food! We love eating.
    Wild plants.
    Living and working a steep, wild and forested slope = loads of exercise and fulfillment. Not to mention spectacular views.

  • Aide

    Aide

    ------------Potential work activities----------------

    Spring-Summer 2024

    -Fruit tree nursery (200 grafted seedlings + 200-400 from seed)
    -wood harvesting: chopping, moving things with the wheel barrel, dragging down slopes, stacking, making bundles, etc... 1-2 times a week depending on the season and needs.
    -finishing closing the greenhouse and plant care inside it.
    -digging trenches
    -planting+watering around established fruit trees (around 250-300)
    -clearing around fruit trees
    -helping put up new fencing against deer and wild boar +maintenance
    -clearing/making paths
    -Making, hoeing, clearing, weeding (hello brambles and nettles!) garden beds
    -house improvements
    -moving stuff around and general farm/house cleaning and maintenance
    -improving the caravan-cabin or other cabins on the land.
    -composting
    -more weeding and watering =)

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Allemand: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Sleeping the "caravan-cabin" (insulated, with a wood stove, compost toilet and a very basic attached kitchen with a gas hob, for the warmer months)

    ----

    *Part time paid position* for 1 person only or split it with two people - to be discussed. One month minimum. Come first with one of the below options.
    18 euros/hour for 4hrs and 15 hours of normal work exchange.

    And you would cover your food costs - we could eat together lunch or dinners :)

    There are two small supermarkets accessible in Vabre for you or going to bus to Castres or buying food in bulk with us/or going to Castres with us.

    OR

    25 hours of work a week where we would provide your food, 90% organic, (you would cook for yourselves unless we eat together =) I eat meat very occasionally, and butter, eggs and cheese almost daily. Sometimes fish. Almost always bio/local.


    OR (preferred when not much help is needed)


    12 hrs week and you cover your food


    --- Other things ---

    Internet available in a sun room outside the main house.

    There is also tent space available.

    Awesome solar shower available or, of course, the river. And for emergencies we have a normal shower (though not always available).

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are 5 buses from Castres to Vabre and the last one is at 17:10/18:10 Mon-Fri (Saturdays at 17:10). If we have to pick you up from Castres we will ask you to provide money about 10 euros total for the trip.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Depending on if you come paid, part time or full time.

N° de référence hôte : 997711329847

Feedback (3)



Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.7)

Échange culturel: (4.7)

Communication: (4.7)





Join us in the Ardèches, an area of natural beauty, Labastide de virac, France
Renovation, gardening and much more in beautiful rural Lot, France