Join our family as we start in the practice of sustainable homestead in New Hampshire, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 11 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    25.09.2022

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! Our names are Danny and Emily, and baby Olivia. We moved to our beautiful New Hampshire home in 2020. We have many acres of overgrown land, which we have recently set sheep out on to help us manage. We also have 2 cats, Scout and Atticus, one friendlier than the other. Our historic farmhouse, known as White Brook Farm was built in 1806 (ancient for American standards!) and is located in a small traditional New England village. We have plentiful blueberries, raspberries, blackberries. peaches, apples, and garden veggies to share.

    We believe in the practice of sustainable homesteading, and were inspired to pursue our dreams of getting 'back to the land' during the pandemic. Knowing that we have minimal impact upon earth's resources, respecting the environment, and supporting small-scale, local farming projects are our guiding principles. We also believe in the grassroots power of international exchange, and spent many years traveling and living abroad during our 20's. There's always so much we can learn from one another!

    Once we discovered WorkAway (and even the youngest members of our family were able to be vaccinated), it seemed like the perfect place to start forming our community! It also happens that with a small child, not much gets during the day, so some extra helping hands would be a most welcome addition :) We want people to feel like a part of our family, and are so excited to welcome you to our home and help you explore our beautiful little corner of the world.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We live in a very typical and picturesque New England town, located in the foothills of Mount Monadnock. The region is famous for locally produced artisan products. Both Danny and Emily have traveled extensively throughout the world and are always looking for ways to build on cultural exchange, Danny works full-time at home as a software developer, and most recently, Emily was working as an International Student Advisor at a local university. Together we speak French and Spanish, and would love to raise our daughter to be bilingual (or trilingual!).

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We have a neverending workload here, so we're happy to let you explore your own interests and follow your expertise. The work needs depend largely on the season, of course. Some examples of ongoing projects include: land reclamation, firewood stacking, tree pruning, small outdoor building projects (chicken coop, outdoor oven, woodshed), indoor DIY projects (demo work, bathroom addition, painting), sheep care, gardening, childcare, etc etc.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Italien: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We are always open and love learning new languages. And now that we have our baby, that is especially true, as we want her to be exposed to as much diversity as possible.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We are currently building an apartment above our garage space that has a separate entrance from the rest of the house. Anyone is welcome to stay there, but it may need some work to get it feeling very cozy. Most of the work on it has been done already, but it does still need finishing touches. For anyone wishing to stay in the mainhouse where we live, we have an extra bedroom, and a finished attic space that guests can choose from. We would love to host anyone for shared family dinners in the evenings, although breakfast and lunch are typically much less formal for us.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our area, and state for that matter, are known for its pristine outdoors. We live 10 minutes outside of the city Keene, which is home to a few colleges and has many restaurants and shopping. This is a great area to cycle, hike, rock climb, and kayak. We are also located very close to the state of Vermont, and about 2 hours from NYC, Boston, Providence, and Maine. We would be happy to lend you a car with enough notice. Public transportation is available, although rather limited.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We'd be happy to host pets in the main house, as long as they can get along with the resident cats.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 4 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 991577437832