Share a permaculture experience overlooking the city of Florence, Italy

Country

Italie

Enregistré comme favori 639 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    21.11.2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come help us! If you’re interested in permaculture, organic food, vegan cooking, self-sufficiency, sustainability, nutrition, natural healing - and volunteering in a beautiful location - you have come to the right place.

    My name is Fabio I live in our family's villa on a hill overlooking the city of Florence. We are lucky to live in beautiful Tuscan countryside with the historic centre of Florence just 7km away. Here we really have the best of both worlds.

    Several people live here, family, housemates, long terms voluneers, often some guest and lovely Barney, the dog plus some cats. You are welcome to join us. We can accommodate 3 helpers, short or long term - minimum two weeks unless specially arranged. Accommodation is in the villa, with all normal facilities, including wifi.

    You will volunteer mostly with me, as I am looking after the projects on the land. We produce our own wine and olive oil, so depending on the season, you may also have the opportunity to learn more about viticulture, wine making, and olive cultivation (work varies, of course, depending on the season and running projects). I also have a permaculture garden where we are growing vegetables, fruits, and herbs.

    Tasks are varied and may include big or small projects and any of the following: weeding, sowing, cultivating, harvesting, making ‘rolls’ to reduce land erosion, working the land in accordance with permaculture principles, construction projects, making homemade cleaning materials, etc.

    We make our own compost and like to recycle as much as possible with an aim to reduce waste and be self-sufficient. We try to avoid the use of manufactured chemicals and petroleum products as much as possible. If you are interested, I can show you how essential oils can be used for healing and as everyday chemical replacements.

    I am especially interested in hardworking people who can bring their own permaculture knowledge, or have construction skills as I would like to build a cover and gazebo for our pizza oven. Also web developers are welcome as I’m growing an association for the experimentation of sustainable ways of living.

    Food is very important to me, and nutrition has a fundamental role in the project, here we do our best to provide healthy organic vegan food for every meal ( but we occasionally make little vegetarian exceptions for who wants to try some traditional Italian recipe with cheese or eggs).

    In the kitchen you will typically find: seeds, real extra virgin olive oil, lots of organic vegetables, coffee, vegetable milk, different kinds of lettuce, old grain pasta, rice for risotto, different cereals, fresh bread baked in a wood oven, marmelade, honey, beans, fresh fruit, himalayan salt, curcuma, flour, olives, a lot of herbs, etc... the garden also is providing us some very nice veg or fruit that are a luxury to bring to the table!

    In order to keep this variety of fresh, local, organic, high quality ingredients in the kitchen, a voluntary contribution of €25 per week is requested for the grocery. This allows us to try many different recipes and accommodate special requests.

    We will cook 3 meals together, sharing recipes and tips. Like in a little community everyone will be active part of the group to make things work, and the daily life comfortable and enjoyable for everyone even if sometimes challenging! That's how we like it: deserve to celebrate!

    *️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️NOT ONLY FARMERS...VOLUNTEERS WITH WEB DESIGN/DEVELOPMENT SKILLS ARE ALSO VERY WELCOME IN, PLEASE GET IN TOUCH IF YOU WISH TO BE PART OF A GREAT PROJECT*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️

    in lak'ech

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    In addition to all of the above will also have the opportunity to learn some delicious vegan Italian recipes, eat very healthily and learn about healing and living with essential oils. I am interested in philosophies and the awakening world. I will be happy to share with you my craziest visions on science, religion, human history, astronomy. I also like to play the djembe (bongo) and listen to vinyl records. I started sustainable and environmental projects in Mexico where I used to spend half of the year.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Tasks are varied and might include big or small projects and any of the following: weeding, sowing, cultivating, harvesting, watering, making ‘rolls’ to reduce land erosion and retain water, pruning, working the land in accordance with permaculture principles, construction work, making homemade cleaning materials, house maintenance. Cleaning and organizing the house is also expected to be a daily habit.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Spanish: Courant
    Italian: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    All the volunteers will sleep in a big shared room. There is a bathroom for their exclusive use.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Last but not least, Florence. This beautiful city is very close, it is easy to go by yourself walking and with buses and trams only takes one hour. This city is famous for it’s museums, artworks, architecture, the amazing Duomo, Uffizzi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio and much more. We are also not far from the popular sites such as Pisa, Siena, San Gimignano, Lucca and the coast. Florence and Tuscany in general are very active with projects on permaculture, organic markets, communities and ecovillages, the Renaissance seems to be here...again!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

reflexology+essential oils
Fabio
View from our helicopter, only joking. Here's a photo we have borrowed showing Florence's beautiful Duomo.
The view of Florence from the house!
Volunteers working
Volunteers working
Volunteer working in the garden.
Fabio creating the vegetable garden, 2015.
View of the villa from the vineyards and olive groves
Flowers around the house








N° de référence hôte : 989118751754