Come discover wheelchair sports in Montreal, Canada



mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 177 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 7 jours

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

  • Description


    French to follow ⬇️

    You want something different, how about working with a Paralympic athlete in the sport of Boccia (look it up on the web), how about working with someone that should be long dead:) In my case, through sports and healthy living, I have far exceeded my life expectancy and I show no signs of slowing down:) Where there’s a will, there’s a way!!!

    Let’s get some admin stuff out of the way first:) To come to Canada you will need to be fully vaccinated and to volunteer with me you will need to have a drivers permit and not be allergic to cats:)

    About me: I’m Marco a Canadian Paralympic Athlete in the sport of boccia. If you don’t know about the Paralympics, it’s the biggest sports event in the world for disabled athletes. it’s like the Olympics:) I’m pretty easy to find on the web with a little bit of sleuthing, if you want to check me out:)

    I’m looking for someone for at least 1 month or more and a WHV might be an asset but not a requirement:)

    We are now in 2022 and I hope that we can return to even more normalcy soon. This past August I competed at the Tokyo Paralympic Games and although the results weren’t quite to my liking, it was great to finally compete again after almost 2 years and to see some good friends:) And now my sights are set on Paris 2024!!

    in early December I played in the Americas Zone championship in Brazil and I won the bronze:) A Workawayer accompanied me there and it was awesome:)

    Now it's time to set my sights on the 2022 World Championship.

    The Boccia competition season is from March to December. so if you decide to stay longer than 3 months, there should more opportunities for travel: Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Croatia and Taïwan are all possibilities in 2022:)

    Down to business now:) If you like sports, healthy living and you like discovering new things, my proposal will surely interest you!

    You will be supporting me in my sports and daily activities. You should rather be a person who gives than receives but trust me, you will get lots in return for this one of a kind experience.

    And maybe a mental recalibration would do you good, we could do a little meditation together :)

    However, you will have to be careful and follow the COVID-19 prevention guidelines carefully, because I am part of a segment of the population vulnerable to Covid-19, even if I’m fully vaccinated.

    My sport, boccia is a precision sport, like lawn bowling, pétanque, boules and it's really cool, because it gives people with severe physical disabilities, a chance to compete at the highest level, it’s very inclusive.

    I’m looking for someone to assist me in my daily life and in sports here in Montreal, which means preparing practice equipment, assisting me during practice (3-4 times at the gym and 1-2 times at home per week), assisting me at home, household work (cleaning dishes, laundry...), getting groceries, running errands, food prep and other related things.

    What I offer is food, lodging, local transpo (bike rental, bus and subway pass) and you get to help me in my preparation for my competitions and a shout out for getting me on the podium:)

    In Montreal, I live close to downtown, really near the botanical garden and Olympic Stadium where I train.

    Hopefully you will have experience in working with the disabled or have a bring on the challenge attitude if you have never worked with the disabled:)

    And then there’s my 2 babies, Sushi and Sashimi, they’re my baby bengal cats:)

    If you require more info on what I’m looking for or want to see a few videos of the type of help I need or a little bit more about myself, just ask:)


    Es-tu complètement vacciné? As-tu un permis de conduire? T’aimes les chats ou du moins t'es pas allergique:) Un PVT pourrait aussi être un atout:)

    Nous voici en 2022 et le monde s’ouvre tranquillement et j’espère que l’on pourra retrouver encore plus de normalité prochainement.

    Si t’aimes le sport, voyager, une vie saine et tu aimes découvrir des choses nouvelles, ma proposition pourrait t’intéresser! Il s’agira essentiellement de m’appuyer dans mes activités sportives et journalières. Faut être plutôt une personne qui donne mais qui recevra beaucoup en retour de cettet expérience:)

    C’est un peu un investissement humanitaire durant des circonstances difficiles en période de COVID-19.

    Et peut-être une recalibration mentale te ferait du bien, on pourrait faire un peu de méditation ensemble:)

    Il faudra par contre être prudent et respecter les consignes de prévention de la COVID-19, car je fais parti d’un segment de la population très vulnérable au Covid-19 même si j’ai mes 3 doses!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will get a life experience of a new world, learn about incredible resilience in overcoming fantastic obstacles! We have an amazing and open community. Open your mind and heart, don’t be afraid, dive in and you will get an abundance in return.

    You will learn French and if you are French speaking, you will learn some québécois French and you will also improve your English, if It’s not your mother tongue.

    You will learn about Paralympic sports, experience a great city; Montreal is a very vibrant city, we have lots of green spaces in the city and very close to the city. It’s Montreal, it’s awesome, even during the winter, but as you can imagine, I prefer the summers as snow and wheelchairs don’t get along very well!

  • Aide


    If you have experience working or helping with the physically disabled, that’s a big plus, but it’s not a deal breaker, as you’ll learn as we go along. Embrace it as a challenge:)

    For the specifics on the help: you will assist in daily living and sports like setting up my cross training at the apartment, we'll also be hitting the courts 3-4 times a week, where your tasks will be to set me up, assisting me for some aerobics, picking up balls, listen to me and my coaches directions to ensure a proper training session and some general help:)

    Household work, will be normal chores: dishes, laundry, recycling, taking out the garbage, food prep, etc.. I also expect you to be fit, as it helps with what the tasks you’ll be performing.

    What do I expect? I expect you to be organized, responsible, dynamic, go with the flow, be chill, work well with others, high energy during our tasks and very keen to discover wheelchair sports and my very particular community:) I like somebody hands on, that doesn’t back down from challenges, that wants to learn and shows initiative:)

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    I live in an apartment complex and your domain for your stay will be the living room but no worries, you’ll have privacy as there will be a divider/curtain separating your space (approx. 3.10m x 3.30m pictures included). And you’ll sleep on a comfy futon. You will also have a TV, working area, an IKEA shelving unit with drawers (clothes and stuff) and a small table. You will be comfortable:)

    And of course I’ve got your wifi needs covered:) I also have Netflix and Disney+.and a sports channel!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I’m a pretty simple person, I enjoy a stress free environment, where everyone gets along and where there’s solutions for everything, wouldn’t that be great:) I live for my sport and to give kids and adults with disabilities some mentorship and guidance, on what you can achieve with dedication and passion.

    I enjoy going to the movies (from indie flix to blockbusters and watching the Simpsons and during the summer, I I like going to terrasses and I enjoy some walks/rolling:)

    I have never smoked or done drugs and I don’t really drink but I do enjoy a small glass of quality red wine with supper, once in a while;) I’m a serious athlete, even given my limitations and I truly adhere to healthy living! I really believe it’s the reason I’m not dead, as the doctors gave me a short life expectancy!

    I expect you to be a non smoker, no drugs and drink with moderation, if you drink. You should pick up after yourself, I’m not a neat freak, I just like a tidy place. I want a down to earth person, someone not too complicated or demanding, just be happy to be:)

    And as I said before a good level of fitness is very helpful to helping me out:)

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    About 25 volunteer hours per week

N° de référence hôte : 976184869141