mis à jour  

Venez me rejoindre dans ma petite ferme en permaculture à Brisbane, Australie

  • Australie
  • Enregistré comme favori 327 fois
  • Activité récente: 28 nov. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines



  • Description


    **COVID-19 notes**
    I take the virus risks very seriously and will ask all guests to do the same. You will be free to do whatever you like on your days off, but you must follow all current Queensland restrictions, practice social distancing and take great care with your personal hygiene. If I feel that guests are being reckless, I will end the hosting arrangement immediately.

    I bought my home in Darra over six years ago and I'm excited about continuing to develop it as a suburban permaculture farm. I need some help with ongoing projects, and maintaining the farm. Jobs include creating compost, maintaining garden beds, animal care (goats, geese, chooks, bees and cats) and yard work. If you're interested in permaculture, I'll happily teach you about the principles and practical skills. I also enjoy cooking and making fermented food (like sourdough, pickles, kimchi, sauerkraut) and can teach you techniques and share the treats! The suburban village is surrounded by bushland and very welcoming. Kangaroos can be seen behind the back fence and there's lots of native birdlife around. The local shops and train are a short walk away.

    **Local volunteers**
    If you happen to be local and would like to learn about suburban permaculture without the live in part, we welcome day volunteers every Saturday. We start at 8am and finish at 4pm. You will be 'paid' in vegetables, herbs and possibly honey and eggs if we have excess. You'll learn how to make compost, care for animals, look after worms and grow fruit and vegetables. Lunch is included. You just need to bring a water bottle, clothes you're happy to get dirty and a willingness to listen and learn.

    **Next 3 months availability**
    December, January and February are almost full. The only spaces I have available are:
    24 December - 5 January (double or single room)
    20 January - 5 February (double or single room)
    6 February - 24 February (single room only)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will learn about permaculture, community-sufficiency, and low impact living. I cook delicious vegetarian food (or vegan if required), and I'm happy to teach you new meals and techniques. You will gain experience with all aspects of urban farming in a subtropical climate, animal care, composting, and so much more. Sometimes I like to have little craft afternoons on Sundays where we make things like homemade toiletries (toothpaste, deodorant, moisturiser) and natural cleaning products and do basic clothing repair. I can also teach you to knit and sew.

    Nearby you can walk through beautiful natural forest, dip your feet in the creek and visit local Vietnamese restaurants. The area is close to bushland, friendly and welcoming. Kangaroos can be seen behind the back fence; if you're very lucky, you can spot a local dingo, koala or platypus and there's lots of native birdlife around.

  • Aide


    I need help maintaining the permaculture garden and caring for the goats, chooks, geese and other animals. It would be fantastic if you have permaculture experience but not essential. General building experience would also be a bonus, but not required. A willingness to listen, learn and to live a low impact life is really all you need. My project is more than just a hobby, I am building a way of life. I run my suburban permaculture farm as a demonstration site and education centre, teaching people how to live a low impact life with what they already have - so you'll get the chance to really help contribute to something big!

    I work a four days a week (Monday to Thursday) as an ecologist to bring in enough money to feed the animals and pay the mortgage; Friday and Saturday, I work on the farm. Ideally, you would do morning and afternoon chores a few days during the week and then assist with project and maintenance work on Friday and Saturday (approximately 8 hours with breaks). The daily chores which take about an hour in the morning and half an hour to an hour in the evening each day include feeding animals, walking the goats, collecting eggs, watering the plants). You're then free during the middle of the day. Cleaning up after yourself is not included in the 20/25 hours; that’s just being a respectful guest. You're welcome to take two days off per week (generally Sunday and Monday works best).

    I choose to live a very low impact life. This involves composting, reducing my waste, collecting local food waste from stores, trying to bring very little plastic into the home, collecting water etc. The farm doesn’t generate any real income as I mostly swap things I grow for other food. Any cash I get from selling eggs, honey or vegetables goes to the high cost of animal feed and care.

    Upcoming projects include:
    - building a new chicken house
    - building a new caged garden
    - developing the food forest
    - expanding the greywater system

    I would love to host guests with basic carpentry/plumbing/building skills, experience with wood fired oven building or videography/film skills.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    Darra is a multicultural suburb, about 15km from the city centre. I have a garden hermit called Simon who lives in a little backyard cabin that he is renovating; we share our space with goats, chickens, geese, bees, and two cats. We have a double room available (in exchange for 25 hours help), and a single room (in exchange for 20 hours help). You would have your own room (unless you’re a couple who wishes to share the double room) and a shared bathroom. The rooms are comfortable, with a bed and everything else you'd need.

    Food is included - it's help yourself for breakfast and lunch. Usually for evening meals I cook for us (or you're welcome to cook if you'd like); ingredients for breakfast and lunch are readily available for self-catering. It's a vegetarian home so no meat in the house. There is also no smoking in the house or on the farm.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I have a bicycle that you can borrow.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I have a fairly decent wifi connection but it's not super fast.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Approximately 20-25 hours a week (1-2 hours a day Tuesday to Thursday, plus two full days on Friday and Saturday). There is flexibility in these hours with discussion, and you'll usually get Sunday and Monday off.

N° de référence hôte : 973758634657

Feedback (17)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)

Appréciez la vie simple dans notre éco-village sur la Sunshine Coast à Crystal Waters, Queensland, Australie
Outdoor projects and enjoying life near Perth, Australia