Help with our animals and garden on our vegan, organic smallholding in rural Ireland

Country

Irlande

Enregistré comme favori 90 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    05.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are Patricia and Aidan, we are in our 50s and we have two adult children studying in Dublin. We just moved back from France to Ireland to a remote traditional cottage in the West. We have four cats, two rescued cockerels, seven rescued battery hens and three rescued dogs, including a huge gentle pyrénéen mountain dog mix called Marius and crazy Snoopy who is half Newfoundland and half springer. You would have to really love animals, especially big dogs! And not be afraid of mucky work!

    We are all vegan, don't use chemicals and our spiders stay where they are!

    We are setting up a small holding so there is lots of general garden work to do, building raised beds, cutting and trimming trees, clearing a small river and making a small bridge over it, fencing, general repair work. Also help with the animals would be essential.

    Aidan works from home and isn't available to help as much as he would like, so help would be really appreciated.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We can help you with your English and introduce you to Irish culture. Also, explore vegetable growing and animal care. We cook a lot to we can explore vegan cuisine together.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Basically, anything that needs doing! General gardening like weeding, composting, building more raised beds and preparing them for planting, pruning and tidying, landscaping, clearing a small river that runs at the end of our field, creating a path down to it and building a bridge up to an small woodland to the blanket bog behind, helping feed and care for the animals and walking, grooming and playing with the dogs. We are very friendly and relaxed so the house is a bit mucky with the dogs and the chickens running in and out.

    We would, of course, expect you to be involved with all the usual things for day to day living like tidying, cooking, washing up etc.!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We hope to soon start working on restoring a tiny (really tiny) separate studio where you would have a sink, cooker, bed, table and chair, for somewhat independent accommodation but as we having got that ready yet, you are welcome to stay in the cottage with us when our family though it is a bit small.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Where we live in East Clare is one of the most beautiful and unspoilt areas in Ireland.

    Our area is teeming with life; full of birds, deer, foxes, and it is one of the last places in Ireland where pine martens are found. There are some lovely wild walks up behind the cottage across the blanket bog and through the forests.

    We are about half an hour from the amazing Lough Derg and Killaloe, where there is boating and walks and nice pubs. We are about an hour from the West Coast of Ireland with its amazing Cliffs of Moher and the wild atmospheric limestone landscape of The Burren. Most of the villages around us, especially Feakle, feature live Irish music regularly. We are 20minutes drive from the village of Scarriff which has lots of facilities and is also on the coast of Lough Derg.

    We are isolated, our cottage is 1km from the road and the nearest villages are about 4km away. It would be best if you could drive; then you could borrow our car. Otherwise, we will have a bicycle at your disposal -- but be warned, the roads are narrow with high hedgerows so they are somewhat dangerous. The nearest big town is Limerick where there are buses to and from lots of areas around Ireland, including Dublin and Dublin Airport. We can pick you up from Limerick on your arrival.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have two sources of internet at the house as Aidan works from home

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    small van

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 4 days a week







N° de référence hôte : 961653951492