Come and help out on our farm and learn about the culture in Deneysville, South Africa.

Country

Afrique du Sud

Enregistré comme favori 341 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    26.06.2022

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    283

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    What we do and need help with:
    - training and exercising our horses
    - helping in our orchard and vegetable tunnels
    - helping with fencing, making compost and other small farm activities
    - making goat milk soap
    - help making stuffed animals for charity
    - contributing to a daycare centre for local small children with no facility to go to

    RIGHT NOW we need trained and experienced riders to back our young horse, lunge the mares with foals to get back into shape and fitness, and school the other horses in basic jumping and dressage. THIS IS WHAT WE NEED MOST. It is better if you stay longer and get into the rhythm of things, especially with the horse-riding. Our best experiences have been with people who came as long as they said they would, and did the things they said they were interested in.

    Our experience with workawayers has been mostly positive, mostly. We've also had a few horror shows. And we don't need people who stuff around, pretending to have skills that they've never practised before. We need to point out the following for prospective workawayers:

    - we mostly need help with schooling and exercising our horses. If that is not in your area of interest, you'll probably not fit here. You would also be expected to help with fencing and other normal farm activities, but we're always there right next to you and would rarely expect you to work when we don't! Riders under 100kg PLEASE. It doesn't count here to love horses but you can't get on them. We've had that too.
    - you must love animals and be prepared to engage with our own farm and house animals (lots and lots of them), learn their names and personalities
    - we prefer to keep a smoke-free zone. We have had great smoker volunteers, and they are still welcome here. But if we find cigarette butts in our plant pots or thrown into the environment, a whole lot of goodwill dissipates
    - we expect, and have normally but not always received, common courtesy such as greeting people. If you're going to act like a surly post-adolescent, you will not be remembered kindly
    - you need a robust and well-developed sense of humour around here! We laugh at ourselves, at the foibles of South African society, and there are no sacred cows. At the same time we are resolutely non-racist and do not discriminate on any grounds except the points above.
    - workawayers are expected to keep their own living and communal areas clean. This is not a serviced hotel!
    - we will provide a common cooking kitchen along with onions, potatoes, rice, pumpkins and eggs and milk. You can buy meat and snacks at our farm store. If you are vegan, we expect you to respect other people's choices and not make an issue about it.
    - we encourage friendly, but not sexual, relationships with our farm labourers. We do not need social problems on our farm.

    WE DO NOT WELCOME PEOPLE WITH DESTRUCTIVE RIGHT-WING AND RACIST VIEWS. We have deactivated our account for a long time because of a very bad experience in this regard, and we'd like to avoid that in future. We apologise to everyone who tried to contact us in that time; please feel free to contact us again IF YOU FIT THE ABOVE DESCRIPTION. We CAN'T take on hangers-on who come for a free holiday.

    We run a guest house and working farm on the banks of the Vaal River. We are an hour away from Johannesburg, so we are not entirely cut off from civilisation.

    We are a family of 3 humans, 15 dogs, 13 cats, 8 horses and a growing number of sheep, goats and cows. We are trying to run our guesthouse as 'green'-ly as possible and would appreciate help in this area.

    We cannot make our vehicle(s) available to workawayers, but we do have bicycles available if you want to travel to nearby Deneysville or anywhere in the area.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bénévolat
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are ex-tourist guide trainers and know a LOT about South Africa and its cultures. We also have experience in teaching English as a foreign language, and can teach professional cooking at a basic level, as well as share our skills in cheese-making and video production and editing. What we have in mind is providing board and lodging to the usual Workaway standard for the usual 4-5 hours per day, and if you need English teaching to a certain level (exam preparation etc) we can make additional arrangements. You will learn about the real South Africa, with definite exposure to more than one culture!

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We would welcome reliable and experienced help in all the above, with specific needs in the area of exercising our horses (even schooling them if you can), looking after them and the other animals, including feeding, cleaning out holding areas. Also welcome is knowledge of fencing, re-purposing existing areas, eco-building, anything that you might find relevant.

  • Langues parlées

    Afrikaans: Courant
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    RE-constituted groom accommodation. Two rooms with bathrooms attached, one room with a bathroom close by. We use these rooms as accommodation for guests, so we would start workawayers out in the room with the bathroom close by.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Johannesburg is an hour away from the farm. There is a variety of activities in the nearest town, Deneysville, which is right on the shore of the Vaal Dam. We have kayaks available for people to take out during their downtime.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    As needed (max 25 hours)








N° de référence hôte : 952724293376