Family homestead in the Te Henga Valley Waitākere, Auckland, New Zealand

  • Nouvelle-Zélande
  • Enregistré comme favori 42 fois
  • Activité récente: 10 mai 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum



  • Description


    We are a whanau (family) of four living in the majestic Te Henga Valley, 2 adults a tween 11 and a teenager 13.

    Pip is of Māori decent from the tribes of Ngāti Tūwharetoa and Ngāti Raukawa. Pip is a Kai Tā (Māori tattoo artist) who has specialized in Moko for over 20 years. Operating from her private studio built on the whenua. She is passionate about her culture always learning, sharing and creating beautiful spaces and projects that align with tikanga values.
    Miles is kaiwhenua (land caretaker) and loves to work with the soil, plants and animals. His main projects involve practical things on the land. He hails from English and Carribean parents and as he likes to say the 4 corners of the world and blew ashore Aotearoa 15 years ago.
    Our girls go to the local kura (school) both fluent in Te Reo Māori language. They love to get creative, dance and practice their mau rakau (maori martial arts) skills.

    Our shared whenua (land) is a small mixed homestead farm of 10 acres where we have lots of creative projects on the go. The name of our land roughly translates in simple terms as the place of growth. Your stay here will no doubt leave you with your own translation of what this means to you, we are all unique with unique perspectives.
    There are multiple habitats which are being regenerated with inspiration from Permaculture, Organic, Tikanga Maori and Natural principles. Trees, wetlands, grazing, browsing, growing and working with and learning from the whenua and Papatūānuku (mother nature).

    There is always something varied to do, with opportunities to learn or to help us learn from your experiences. Each season brings new challenges. We work at a pace that isn't rushed, we tune into the phases of the moon and natural cycles (maramataka) and try to utilize resources from the land in our projects. We would love to collaborate with people who have creative imagination and a desire to manifest their ideas into reality.

    We have several pets of dogs, cats, chicken and sheep. Animals are a key part to our lives that we love.

    We are 5 minutes drive to Bethells Beach or the Waitakere ranges and 20 minutes to Auckland.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The learning opportunities are infinite with an open mind. Each day we wake we know the day will bring something new to teach us. Our indigenous backgrounds guide and support our unique outlooks, we love carving and working with natural materials, painting and drawing.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    There is such a wide variety of help possible that it would take for ever to list. Things are seasonal, so winter may be more artistic/preparatory work, dryer seasons may be more harvesting and growing.
    We have two teenage girls who we encourage to step out their boundaries, enthusiastic creative engagement with them would be a big bonus.
    We keep some animals which will require help with moving, shifting fences and feeding. Gardens are constantly expanding and need the soil to be fed, trees need planting, fences repaired...
    Skills and experience in chainsaws (if comftorable), mowers etc would be useful.

    Carpentry and building skills would be great, we have plenty of projects needing these skills. Renovating a barn, studio, and our caravan. We have some tools available
    Creating new artistic works to complement the whenua is also something we enjoy and would look to do with the right people.

    Home help,cooking and cleaning are pretty standard skills.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    We have various accommodation depending on availability. A small caravan, a sleepout and a larger cosy community house.
    Kai will be available for 2 meals a day.
    Self contained campervans can be parked up also.

    We are on tank water. Water conservation is vital.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Life skills are important, self responsibility, self care, using appliances and tools etc.
    We don't want to parent, we already have enough responsibilities.
    A unique first message, what exactly could you offer to us? what in particular inspired you to message us? what are you keen on doing on your travels etc

    There is much to do. 20-30 minutes to central Auckland.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Small van size

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 948815521889


Help a multicultural family with projects at their place in rural Tuahiwi, North Canterbury, New Zealand
Developing land for a retreat centre in Northland, New Zealand