Croft and Family support in the Scottish Highlands

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 337 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    16.10.2021

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    296

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 9 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Monika (an Austrian in Scotland), Stewart (a true Highlander) and Corwin (11, plus two dogs and 3 cats. We live in a loghouse (named Sonas Beag/Little Happiness in Gaelic ) on a woodland croft in the parish of Assynt, in the far North West Highlands of Scotland, just outside the village of Lochinver (NOW BEFORE YOU EVEN CONSIDER TO APPLY PLEASE GO AND LOOK AT A MAP AND DECIDE IF YOU ARE *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️REALLY*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ PREPARED TO TRAVEL THAT FAR!!!)

    Ok you have looked at a map and are sure you want to commit to spending the time and money to come up here? If so then Assynt will reward you with amazing white coral sand beaches (we are 5 mins from the famous Achmelvich Beach) as well as great mountains (Suilven for example). A fantastic area to explore.

    To enjoy the area you are ideally an adventurous spirit with a willingness to embrace the rural experience. Whilst not a farm our house is on croftland - wonderful to explore but no paths, no street lights!

    Our house and its surroundings are rustic - wooden floors rather than carpets and heather, and gorse rather than manicured lawns and flower beds.

    We have a long history of offering hospitality to travellers and international students via other platforms and will be very happy to share our profiles & reviews. We love meeting new people, shared meals, talks, joint outdoor adventures and will enjoy people staying longer and helping us on the croft and in the house.

    We are home educators and Monika works from home online as a Sociale Media Manager. Stewart is a fishing guide.

    Ideally we are looking for somebody mature enough to feel confident to stay alone with our pets for a few hours, a day or even overnight, who is flexible and happy to go with the flow, caring and relaxed and had a real affinity with animals. With 2 dogs and 3 cats we need somebody who really enjoys to spend time with pets! The same goes for children. As an experienced mini-host our son enjoys to chat with people who stay with us and therefore willingness to engage with him is essential.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are a multi-cultural Austrian/Scottish family who love meeting people, cooking for and eating with people, sharing stories, laughing, crying .... Stewart will be happy to pass on his passion and skills in fly fishing and we just generally hope to make meaningful and lasting connections!

    The North-West Highlands are an area out outstanding beauty with a unique combo of beaches and mountains and an amazing geological history. We feel that anybody staying us will get a real insight into how it is to live in a small remote community.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We don't have a specific time this year when we need somebody for are open to applications from cheerful & caring people of all ages with a can-do attitude willing to support us with various croft work (like collecting wood), digging over vegetable patches and help with some domestic tasks, share their stories with our 11 year old curious & chatty home-educated son and possibly some support with other general things. The only specific support need would be to help with re-varnishing the loghouse which is overdue - being good on a ladder is a pre-condition for this,

    We look for people who are self-reliant and independent - happy to be social and become part of the family but also enjoy having their own time on other occasions. Because we have hosted so many people we are confident that we can offer a relaxed and fun environment, but we are not in a position to entertain or ferry round people all the time.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We recently got a caravan, which will be the main sleeping quarter for any workawayers. Toilet and bathroom will be shared with our family in the house probably. We are looking forward to shared meals. We are omnivores and eat a mix of meat, fish and also vegetarian meals.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There should be plenty of spare time to explore the area, go to the beach, climb mountains or any such things. Please note that whilst it's possible to make your way to us on public transport there is not much in that respect once you are here. Whilst a car would be ideal (sadly we cannot lend you one) we can make a bike available (plus helmet) to get round the more local area (we are roughly 2 miles from the village of Lochinver and two miles from the beach). Hitchhiking is also a good option for those confident to do so as both visitors and locals are very happy to give lifts.

    Please consider if you are willing to and able to afford the journey to get to us! On public transport we can be reached via flights/trains/bus to Inverness and then a further bus to Ullapool, from where we can pick up.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    On average a maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week (this usually includes Sat/Sun - days off might be mid week). Although sometimes we will need to cover more hours per day or an overnight petsitting in exchange for more time off on other days.

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)










N° de référence hôte : 948328854442