Donnez-nous un coup de main à la ferme ou avec nos enfants et explorez les environs, Vancouver, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 38 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    11.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our farm sits in a beautiful area of Vancouver Island. We are centrally located so you can go anywhere on the island from here with relative ease. We have a large area for a garden and a large barn and lots of space with our beloved animals. We try to eat as best we can and grow what we can the best way we can. We are not certified organic but we don't spray noxious chemicals. we are slowly becoming more self sufficient with our farm with our rain water harvesting, manure and composting, and going to be setting up solar or wind electricity.
    our home is large and inviting with a large deck with out door kitchen overlooking our garden and main farmyard. We love to preserve our harvests and will gladly teach others how to can and dry produce, make cheese and bread, etc.
    Farmer Mike is a software developer and he works from home. His hobbies include brewing small scale wine and beer and computer stuff and building things with his 3d printer.
    Farmer Shannon is a fiber artist/mom/jane of all trades who primarily runs the farm and plans the projects We are currently working on several building projects along with expanding our garden to eventually provide more healthy food . We raise animals of all sorts, Goats pigs, chickens, pigs, ducks and geese and try to use everything we can. We work along side our children as we feel its important to know a good days work and where their food comes from so be prepared to have a couple of youngsters working along side us most days

    Currently we have availability starting on the first week of March

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We love learning about the different cultures we have had stay here from around the world!! We love to share everything we have and know with others. there is a lot of interesting history in our community with first nations and exploration that we are excited to share.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Our upcoming big projects include building an outdoor shower, , garden beds, a lean to for the barn, painting the farm buildings, , some fencing, painting, and beating back the blackberry brambles among animal care and general garden stuff. Our regular day to day activities include milking the cow, the sheep and the goats, , egg collection and washing, general farm animal care and gardening tasks such as weeding, harvesting planting and watering. You would have the chance to learn how to grow vegetables, flowers, raise and train the animals, milk goats and the cow along with making cheese, butter, and yogurt with the milk! Baking, knitting and spinning are all common events here.

    Ideally we are welcoming longer term work awayers (three weeks plus) and would love to discuss a very long term arrangement (several months). We have lots of fun adventures planned for summer!!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a cozy camping trailer available for your personal space with shower use inside the house .
    Its great for close friends or a couple or small family. We believe up to 4 people will be comfortable there although there has been more (not by my choice it was theirs I swear ha haha) . There is also plenty of room for tents during the summer or a spot to bring your own small trailer/RV (23 feet max please). We have Wifi internet connection with no data cap
    Usually We would all participate in meal prep or cleanup and our goal is to try to eat mostly the food we grow/make here. We even make our own pasta! Ideally, most evening meals will be eaten together unless meal time is missed or other arrangements are made. We frequently go on adventures and would love to have you join us. We will welcome you to our home like our own and love to share in this immersive experience! Ideally we are looking for longer term ( 3 plus weeks and onwards ) but are flexible. Please note we are non smoking/drug use at any time.
    COVID UPDATES
    Yes covid still sucks Sorry I know its sucky but we are all doing our best!! . That being said :
    We are all fully vaccinated (YAY!) and do require it for our farm stays.
    we are requiring stays to have a negative Rapid antigen test result before coming to our farm/At arrival to our farm even if you are coming from the next town over. We realize this is slightly different than the border rules and you may have already tested on entry into the country but We have an immunocompromised child.
    -We are sorry but we cannot pick you up at the ferry/airport/bus station at this time. There is a great cab service and some busses available to the general area. We are a short walk from the bus stop.
    -in accordance with provincial regulation , we are considered as one whole household so unfortunately, we cannot allow outside visitors coming in /going to visit other people in restaurants/pubs/bars//households, etc at this time during your stay. Please consider we have someone living here at higher risk.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our farm is located right near a lake that hosts fishing, paddling and other water sports and we are a short distance from the ocean and gorgeous trails. theres lots of hiking around. WE also do lots of adventures on the weekends aroudn the island, museums, different provincal parks, local community events, etc. The area offers lots to do in your spare time from hiking to cave exploration to the later summer fairs/community events, and floating down the nearby river. Bicycles are available for your use to explore and we could help arrange with getting elsewhere.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Since Mike works from home we have the best internet thats available in Canada.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We can accomodate rigs up to 23 ish feet. There s some wiggle room here. Theres power water and sewer access

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 937211796455