Assistez aux premiers pas d'un élevage de chèvres dans l'Algarve au Portugal

Country

Portugal

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 449 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    05.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    86.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is an old abandoned farm up in the mountains of Monchique which we (Roi & Ana) had bought about two years ago. We are now starting to live here and slowly attempting to revive it according to the principles of natural farming. We have 40 goats which clear the forest daily, prevent fires and provide glorious milk from which we make cheese and yoghurt. Our goats get an amazing life and this is the most important thing for us. They live in the forest and spend most of their time munching on bushes and trees. Roi has been doing this full time for a few years in an amazing goat farm near Jerusalem, and after learning quite a bit about goats and cheese making he has decided it’s time to try to do it on his own. This is a long term project and it’s in its first steps.
    Other than that there are many trees to care for here as this is a very forested mountain area. The main fruit trees are olives, chestnuts and walnuts.
    There is also a small veg garden that needs caring and watering.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    ROI:
    Before working as a goatherd and cheese maker I used to work as a cook in many types of places. If you are interested in anything related to food we are sure to have some interesting things to share and learn. Also reading is one of my favourites, specifically history and of course philosophy, but I love all genres really. I am quite into Taoist philosophy and try to live and create with it in mind. I love learning new languages and try to learn new things regularly. I am amongst other things, a big sinophile. I used to live in China for a few years, and am fascinated with Chinese and east asian cultures.

    ANA:
    As a local, I can teach you things about portuguese food, culture and good spots to visit.
    I studied nutrition and my big passion is food!
    I love exchanging knowledge on food culture. I am passionate about reviving old recipes and techniques, fermenting and baking sourdough.
    Reading and herbalism are other of my big interests :)

  • Aide

    Aide

    We have 45 goats that need constant care. This includes feeding, cleaning, milking and herding on the mountain side. We walk with the goats 4 hours a day. This job demands a fit body and good navigation skills.

    One of our main projects right now is renovating our old stone farmhouse into a family home.
    The work is natural lime plastering, roof carpentry (we have some big natural chestnut wood beams that we would like to put to use) and general construction work.

    We have a veg garden that needs care and watering.

    Other than that we always have some sort of building/woodworking projects, so carpenters and people who like working with wood are more than welcome.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Hebrew: Courant
    Portugais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Chinois (mandarin): Intermédiaire
    Arabe: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    This place is still a bit wild. We live in a big yurt. We recently put a roof on an old stone structure that is in the farm and converted one of the rooms into a living space for volunteers. The room has a wood oven, a kitchen to cook in and a couple of beds for sleeping. Its dry, warm and nice. There is also a small campervan that can fit one person or a small couple :) If you have your own tent or other arrangement (campervan\caravan) that would be great, you can pitch or park it wherever you like, we have a few cute camping sites on the land.
    There is a hot shower depending on the sun. There is water from natural springs on the land, and they are great for drinking. There is a stream that crosses the land with a few small waterfalls which are fun for bathing (in the summer :). There are a also a few big stone pools for swimming.
    There is a communal kitchen in which the volunteers cook their meals. We provide all the food, which is mainly vegetarian and once or twice a week meat if you like. We also love cooking and we enjoy inviting everyone to share meals with us. We get electricity from the grid and there is great mobile internet signal here. There is a mobile wifi dongle with loads of data that we can share.
    Be warned: life up in the mountains can be quite rough at times. It can get chilly In the evenings and the winds often remind you that the ocean is ever so present. There is an amazing view of the coast of the Algarve to meditate with after a hard day’s work.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live in a remote area, and there aren’t many people around (though we have some very lovely neighbours). We love meeting new people and getting to know new faces and we also like our own time and space. If you are coming alone you should be someone who knows how to spend time by himself. Monchique is a beautiful mountain to explore while you are here and you can go on all kinds of hikes around. We have a car and we can pick you up from the village of Monchique when you arrive. We can take you into town when you feel like it or take you for a drive around the mountains and meet friends, which is always fun. There are loads of beaches around where we live (the western and southern beaches of the Algarve).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week (but I'm quite flexible :)

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.9)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)























N° de référence hôte : 155531121972