Help us to improve our old farmhouse in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, USA

  • Enregistré comme favori 12 fois
  • Activité récente: 11 févr. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Hello, Workawayers! We're a recently retired couple who want to meet new people and get some help with projects around our house and small farm. We're easygoing, curious, and open-minded.

    Our primary home is located in a small college town in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. We live within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Our small farm is 30 minutes away by car and is located along a river that's suitable for swimming, canoeing, or fishing.

    We have room for two Workaway guests or a couple. Visitors can stay in town, in the country, or alternate between, depending on the weather and what projects we're working on.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We're both retired teachers (writing and English language), so we welcome guests who want to work on their communication skills/practicing English. We love to cook and would be happy to teach you how to make cheese and sausage, too.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We're especially interested in guests who can help improve our old farmhouse. Our most immediate tasks are building a shed, removing old plaster, and painting. We will work alongside you and teach you anything you need to know - or, if you already have the expertise, we're happy to learn something from you!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    In town, we can offer a private bedroom for each guest and a shared bathroom for visitors. You can use our family room to watch TV or play in our basement game room.

    At our farm, our facilities are more rustic. The old farmhouse has a working bathroom and kitchen, but it's definitely a work in progress! There, you would sleep on an air mattress - or in a tent if you're feeling adventurous. We have no TV there, but you're welcome to hike trails on the property, canoe or swim in the river, explore our caves, or just relax by the fire.

    We will prepare meals for you, though we welcome visitors to use our kitchen to prepare favorite dishes from home, as well. We're adventurous omnivores. If you're vegetarian or vegan, we'll need your help to cook suitable meals.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our area is perfect for guests who love the outdoors. We live close to historical sites and parks and forests with plenty of hiking trails. During your visit, we'll be happy to visit some local sights with you.

    If you have a car, we're about 2 hours drive from Washington, DC. Local public transportation is limited, but we do have a regional airport only 20 minutes away, where we'd be happy to pick you up.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have reliable wifi in town. At our farm, the wireless signal is good but we have no other source for Internet access.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have plenty of room at our farm for camping or campervans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 936446281288

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Helping hands for Vashon Island farm in Puget Sound, WA, USA
Help our daughter to practice her Spanish or teacher her a foreign language in Leavenworth, USA