mis à jour  

Come and help on my homestead in the desert near Mesa Verde National Park, USA

  • États-Unis
  • Enregistré comme favori 69 fois
  • Activité récente: 1 juin 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum



  • Description


    My name is Evan and I live on my 4 acre homestead in Cortez, CO. I live here with my 2 cats, Hunter and Calle. And then there are the chickens. I'm from Virginia and had intentions of being a digital nomad for a while but when I reached this area a couple years ago I ended up staying at a camp and then house sitting before getting my own place. I previously worked in the corporate world for a decade and slowly realized the dissatisfaction with the way my life was going. About 10 years ago I started on a journey and committed myself to healing and self improvement. I've gone down many a rabbit hole seeking to know who I am and what this world is about. I transitioned into working as a massage therapist for some time and now I'm working in the table tennis industry. When I'm not doing that and playing ping pong I'm focused on cultivating this land, becoming more self sustainable and learning as many skills as possible. Some other interests are disc golf, golf, yoga, and hiking. Always down for a deep philosophical conversation but stay balanced and grounded. I don't keep up with mainstream media and like small town living. I would say I can be more introverted but am very interested in community and have met a lot of interesting people around here. I'm interested in meeting and working with other free thinking individuals. The Four Corners area is sort of a hidden gem and I feel blessed to call the high desert home. I appreciate the beauty of landscape and the nature that abounds this area.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Mesa Verde National Park is 15 minutes away and there are many historical native dwelling sites around the area. I played competitive table tennis and coached for a few years. There are disc golf baskets setup. I have bow and arrows and an archery bag for target practice. So I'm happy to teach someone these skills. I have market gardener friends and I've learned basic gardening skills and grow a pretty big garden. I also do some canning and fermenting of the vegetables grown here. Although I don't practice massage outside of trading with friends I could teach the basics of that if there is interest.

  • Aide


    Help is needed fixing up the camper shower and ceiling in the bathroom. I also want to build an outhouse and could use help with fencing and putting in a new kitchen counter in the house. I may need help pouring concrete pads in certain spots. If you have any experience with doing these type of things and could take the lead I may be able to offer payment to help with these projects.

    Otherwise short term stays would be available for help weeding in the garden and around the property. There is a ditch where junk was dumped that needs cleaning up as well.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    I have a camper trailer that has sewage/electric/water hookups. Hookups could be used for someone who has their own rig. The shower in the camper currently is not working. There is a garage with insulation which has couches. I have a canvas yurt that can be setup. Also tent camping down by the stream would be an option as well and I have an extra tent. For showers one could use the main house shower or the stream has couple of pool areas depending on how rustic you want to get. I'm happy to share meals or provide food. I'm not vegetarian or vegan but should be able to accommodate those that are.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The house is up on a hill and has great views of Mesa Verde, the La Plata Mountains and the Sleeping Ute Mountain. There is an irrigation stream on the property with a natural pool area if you want to take a dip. It's a nice luxury in the desert. It's very peaceful surrounded by sheep and cattle farms along with other small hobby farms. So it feels like the country yet is a 5 minute drive into Cortez and 10 minute drive to the small town of Dolores. You can see the milky way on clear nights. I have a bike that is available for use. Along with Mesa Verde there are many other historical native sites around this area including the Canyons of the Ancients trail. Cortez is a small town but has a nice park with disc golf course, recreation center, and there are some good restaurants and breweries. A championship level golf course is 5 minutes away as well. Dolores is a pretty little town up in the mountains that has parks, a brewery and cidery. Mancos is 20 minutes away and similarly has fun places to visit. Phils World is a top mountain bike trail destination just outside of town. Durango is an hour away if you want to do some shopping or hiking among other things. Telluride and Moab are within 2 hours. Tons of hiking trails around. There are some great farmers markets around the area if you like local organic food. With this being Colorado there are plenty of dispensaries for those that are 420 inclined.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    The wifi is strong.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Can accommodate smaller RV's/5th wheels/Campervans. Have electric and sewage hookups.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Pets are a possibility although they would need to be friendly with my cats and chickens.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 913768465847

Feedback (1)



McNab Puppies help this summer? Biointensive Garden, Orchard, Solar energy, Emergency Response grant, All happenin in coastal Northern California, USA
Join us and help out with micro-farming and pet care in Leverett, MA, USA