Magical retreat in the mountains. Help create food stability and self-sufficiency in Cervantes, Spain

Country

Espagne

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 69 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    20.11.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a 43 year old man from the Netherlands and moved to a spectacular spot in (L)Os Ancares, in the mountains of Lugo, Galicia in the summer of 2019. My plan is to transform 20 beautiful mountain hectares into a (Holzer) permaculture site while using Biodynamic principles as well.
    About me: I have a background in training & development and therapy. Now working as a full-time account manager in the Ed-Tech industry. I work from home, working N-European working hours with occasional travel commitments.

    The project will take a few years to complete and I have just started! It will take place in several phases, the first being creating terraces on the fields directly surrounding the house and transform these from grassland into Food Forests.
    For this phase of the project, I am looking for help with planting (fruit)trees, seeding, watering, mulching and other gardening tasks.
    We don't have animals (other than dogs) yet, as the gardens need to be established first before introducing goats, geese, chickens, etc. However, I can't wait to have animals on the farm! (UPDATE: I broke my own rule and we have 5 geese running around now and are expecting a donkey in October!)
    The objectives of the Holzer permaculture project are: 1) Create food stability and self-sufficiency, 2) Create a forest fire buffer, 3) Create a beautiful natural garden that teems with life!




    The deal:
    I offer free accommodation and 3 meals a day. In return, I ask for between 20 - 25 hours from you per week (depends on the weather). It is up to you to decide when you will work those hours: Any time during the day, in the weekends or during the week. Just let me know what you prefer and if you change your mind during the day, no problem.
    (Update: With past work-awayers staying, I have learnt that not everybody can handle this freedom and some individuals need more structure. If you need more direction from me to feel more secure, just let me know and we will find a way that works for the both of us).
    Remember, I work Monday-Friday from about 08:30 till 17:30-18:00. If you prefer to work with me, we are limited to the weekends and evenings.
    If you are ok with working on your own (or with other work-awayers), you are free to choose when you will work but make sure you coordinate with your fellow work-awayers.

    The rest of the time you are off and free to spend your time the way you want.
    During our time together, I will teach you Biodynamics, (Holzer) permaculture and Holistic Management.

    Regarding meals: I usually skip breakfast but I have sympathy for breakfast eaters and your morning food of choice will be provided for as much as I can. For lunch, we always cook something delicious but I won't always be able to cook it for you (because of the day job) so we use a rotating lunch-cooking-schedule. If you cook lunch for everyone, that will be part of your work-away hours.

    Some rules:
    -Smokers are allowed but only outdoors. You must be very fire conscious as the building is mostly wood and in summer forest fires can ignite within seconds
    -No hard drugs on the farm. Party the way you want but not on the farm. A Coruna (2 hours drive) has great nightclubs to let your party-heart out ;)
    -I am flexible as anything but I need to be able to plan it. Give me notice and we can plan around whatever it is you would like to do or not do.
    -You must respect my neighbours - and this is a deal breaker - as they are an extremely important resource for me. You do not need to become friends, that is up to you but you must treat them with respect and they will respect you as well.
    -Enjoy the local area. It is great for hikes, bike rides, horse riding or just strolling through the forests and mountains.

    That's the most important information.

    I always meet with applicants through a video call first before deciding on the next steps.
    Looking forward to meet with you!

    Pascal

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    If you want to spend time in nature, away from everything and everyone, while helping to restore a very old farm and improving it, this is your spot! The local culture and history is fascinating and only 15 minutes from my house, you can find iron age houses that have been partly restored. These are remnants from the Castro Culture and there are many Roman left overs as well.

    The life in the Ancares is quite special. People are mostly self-sufficient. Everybody has at least a handful of cows, chickens and a pig or two and has a veggie plot near the house. This area has been isolated until the early 80-ties (1900) and this can still be felt and seen.
    If you are looking for fabulous restaurants and on-the-edge nightclubs, you will be sorely disappointed here. If you have a fascination or even enjoyment of nature, this might just be your place to spend some time at.

  • Aide

    Aide

    At this moment, the focus is on (permaculture & Biodynamic) gardening help. If you like to work with plants, we need you! (Update: a huge delay in the permitting process means I won't be able to create the terraces until 2021. Because there is not much point creating a vegetable garden after having it run through with excavators, there won't be much vegetable growing until after the creating of the terraces).
    If you like building houses and other construction tasks, you are also more than welcome!

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Dutch: Courant
    Spanish: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There are bedrooms in the main house. You will share a kitchen and bathroom with me. In the near future, I hope to restore a small house on the property with its own services. If you have construction skills, you can help me set that up :)
    Food is part of the deal. I provide 3 meals a day. When it comes to cooking, I usually suggest that is something we share. Sometimes I cook, sometimes you cook, sometimes we go out for lunch or dinner.
    Vegetarian can be accommodated for. Vegan is a bit more difficult as the local cuisine and available foods are very much animal based. Then again, nothing is impossible!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    The kitchen is a nice place to work.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    I can accommodate a van/motorhome up to 7 meters long. Longer than that and you won't be able to make the curves in the road.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    There are animals on the farm now so especially dogs need to be farm-animal friendly. I really don't like animals to penned or tied down but if there is no other way, we will have to do that if the animal is endangering the farm animals.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






N° de référence hôte : 897932235885