Come and help at a farm in a deep and mountainous area and enjoy hiking in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

Country

Afrique du Sud

Enregistré comme favori 50 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    19.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 13 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there

    Welcome to the Moody Work- away experience. So basically, myself and my brothers have inherited a farm that has been passed down the family. Indeed, it has been in our family for over 100 years with most of my family buried there.

    The farm is located in an exceptionally beautiful valley in the Southern Drakensberg. The farm is fairly remote (1 hour from the nearest town (Kokstad or Underberg) and 30 minutes from the nearest shop (Swartberg). The location of the work away is on thisfamily farm in the greater Swartberg Area of Southern KZN in South Africa.

    On the land, which is about 200 hectares, there are several families that live on the land and also work the land with grazing of cattle and small-scale farming. Manini and her family stay on the land and are amazing. I have known them all my life and spent many a childhood day with her children. She stays about 200 metres from my farm house and is an excellent cook and beautiful human-being. She has a head of cattle and is a dedicated farmers who could use some assistance by the work-away volunteer.

    Since my dad passed away in 2016, I have been trying to get the farm more developed and have been spending time up on the land to get things going. As such, I am currently in the stage of re-building the main cottage at the farm which burnt down in 2016. I have thus far built 2 rooms (bedroom and lounge/kitchen) - toilet, proper kitchen and extra bedroom are still to come. There is another cottage next to this one which is lovely but in need of some TLC.

    There are several small projects that need completing and some bigger ones that need completing for those with more skills. I am also happy for people to just come up and enjoy the beautiful valley in the mountains and they are welcome to stay. I am very flexible and you can stay up there for as long as you like (1 week minimum).

    Like I said, it is rather isolated but extremely beautiful in a valley not far from the Lesotho border. Some important information about the place:

    IMPORTANT: The farm is currently suffering from lack of rain and so the running water (that comes from the spring) has not been functional over a very dry winter and spring. This is the start of the rainy season so hopefully that may change. In the meantime, I/you would have had to go to 1) Manini's place for water or down to the river (Umzimvubu River) to collect water. This issue is indicative of the tough life that local community members live so please don't expect your experience to be easy ( a relative term I know). The area can have harsh conditions (wash in the river) and the climate can be extreme (heavy rains, massive storms, snow in winter, extreme heat and cold). While it is comfortable (and I am trying to make it more comfortable) please please please don't expect an easy or convenient experience. Cell phone reception is spotty (MTN network is by far the best) so don't be expecting fibre 20mbs per second wifi...in fact there is no wifi so your phone data will be your only source of internet (if vodacom then no reception at my farmhouse - have to walk up the hill to get signal). Lastly, I would think it would be fairly essential to have your own vehicle (go to shops/leave the valley etc.). This may pose a problem for some of you (especially internationals) so apologies...As I said, this work-away won't be for everyone so apologies but that is the way this particular cookie is crumbling.

    Overall, I am new to Workaway but am looking for hardworking people who want a unique and beautiful experience in the beauty that is South Africa.

    If you want some time in the mountains then send me a message. The stars at night will blow you away, and the silence of the valley will play with your mind:-), The river water is as clean as can be and the hiking is amazing Culturally and historically, the valley is very interesting with a total mix of cultures, languages and skins...very unique even to such a diverse country like South Africa. Most people will speak isiXhosa/isiZulu mix and some Afrikaans. Not that many people speak English well so basic knowledge in an indigenous South African languages is a plus.

    Safety, in my experience the farm has always been safe and although there may be, from time to time, petty crime I would deem the valley to be a safe place. I don't lock doors when sleep but i guess it is always wise to be vigilant and lock doors when not there i.e. be safety conscious.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    They will be located in a remote areas in a culturally unique community.
    Deep in the mountains so lots of hiking to be had and swimming in the two river. Very peaceful place to do Yoga, think and reflect on life.

  • Aide

    Aide

    There are many projects to do but the major ones at the moments are as follows:

    - August 2021- Orchard Pruning (Peach, Apple, Apricot, Plum)
    - Clearing of invasive species
    - Gardening and re-developing the nursery
    - General house work and jobs to do

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There are 2 houses on the property with beds to sleep in. There is a toilet in only one of the houses.

    I am currently building up one of the houses which currently has a bedroom and lounge/kitchen/fire place. It is very rustic and although there is electricity, we often struggle with running water. This is especially as the rains have been low this year and so springs are drying up.

    The other house is full loaded and more comfortable then the original house aforementioned. There is a bedroom, kitchen, lounge and bathroom. The bathroom has a tap, toilet and bath but is also water dependent.

    IF guests are looking for an easy experience, they will not get it here and I want to make clear to whoever is interested that this is a deeply rural and isolated place. I am trying to make the living conditions more comfortable but at the moment it would someone/s with a harder outlook on life and comforts.

    Volunteers can buy some small things from around the community but need to go the Kokstad/Swartberg or Underberg for a larger shop.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Deep in the mountains so lots of hiking to be had and swimming in the two river. Very peaceful place to do Yoga, think and reflect on life.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is plenty of space and you could find an nice spot around to make camp.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 893631684411