Organic croft with sheep, hens, cattle, ecobuild in Scotland, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 906 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    26.10.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 25 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Situated near Nairn, close to Inverness and Loch Ness in a beautiful hidden glen, we live on a 57ha croft with improved grass, rough grazing, wetland & birch woods. There are 20 ewes, 35 lambs, 60 hens and grazing cattle plus vegetable garden, polytunnel, orchard & building projects. Excellent wildlife habitat with ponds, flowers, birds & animals. Holiday homes provide main income. Following an agricultural degree and 21 years managing a dairy farm we moved towards self-sufficiency on our own croft in 1996. Interests include dancing, making mandalas, hill walking, eco building, anti GM campaigning djembe drumming and cooking meals from home grown produce. We are looking for volunteer helpers for stays of 4-12 weeks, but ONLY ONE AT A TIME. Beginners welcome, enthusiasm and no smoking is all we ask - we will teach the rest, even English! Please check our calendar. Beautiful holiday homes for non-working paying guests. Thanks for your interest in us, best wishes Peter & Thérèse.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aider dans une ferme
    Aider avec des éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will learn about self sufficient living using organic principles (we are Soil Association growers), cooking from basic raw organic foods mostly grown here, Scottish traditional culture, loving the beauty of nature.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The Help we need is very varied from feeding and caring for livestock, gardening, property maintenance, holiday home cleaning, cooking.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will live with us, in our house, as one of the family. We only take one helper at a time for a minimum stay of three weeks, but many stay longer. The help is varied, beginners are welcome, enthusiasm is all we ask - we will teach the rest.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We have much info about the area on our website, so once you apply you will get access to this. Two days off a week. Non-working, paying guests in lodge, chalet or caravan.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours, 5 days a week

Croft in foreground, Nairn and Moray Firth behind.
Thérèse loves making mandalas.
Quads are not common, but we have 35 lambs a year.
Mandala, but only 'till the tide comes in.
The loch in autumn.
Our croft.












N° de référence hôte : 8863825444a3