Some help with our pets and rescue animals and to move house in beautiful North Wales, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 675 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    25.05.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    94.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Update! As usual we would still welcome Workawayers to help care for our dogs and cats. The help with the pets is described below in much detail. We are moving house this spring and are therefore also looking for additional volunteers who could help us during the move and whilst we settle into our new home. The new house is in a beautiful location a 5 minute walk to the sea. The new house itself is already renovated, but we’ll need some help moving our belongings, building a cat run, and developing a garden at the new house, as well as doing some renovation works at our old house. As mentioned, we will of course still also need about 5 hours a day help with our dogs and cats, and also someone who could help look after our 2 year old daughter. For the house move we could accept shorter term and longer term volunteers, but for the pet or child care a stay of at least 1 or 2 months is best. Below is a detailed description of the pet care required. We can provide additional information about the help required for the house move / renovation tasks and childcare this spring / summer, depending on how the lockdown situation develops.

    Please read our full profile carefully before applying, especially the ‘Help’ and ‘What Else’ sections.

    Please note that although we are a tolerant and welcoming family, for the safety of our small daughter and pets we cannot accept drug users, heavy drinkers, and we prefer non-smokers. For the same reasons we also cannot accept any volunteers with serious mental health issues that could affect the safety of our daughter or pets. Thanks so much for understanding.

    So, here all the information about ourselves and our place...

    We are a married couple in our 40s with a two year old daughter. Tom, originally from England, works as a Marine Scientist, and Tamsin, originally from Germany, currently stays at home looking after our little daughter and managing our dogs and cats. We currently live in a detached house in a very small rural village in North Wales with views of the hills and sea in the distance. We have a big garden and fields used by our local farmer. As mentioned, we are moving to a bigger house closer to the sea in spring / summer 2020.

    We are big animal lovers and can have up to 9 dogs and 10 cats - our own pets, rescued dogs ready for adoption (mainly Spaniels and Border Collies), Ragdoll cats, as well as rescued cats. Our dogs and cats are all very much loved and we aim to provide them with all the love and care they deserve. They are all lovely pets who thrive on human attention. Some of the dogs are very lively, but most of the cats are very calm. We are looking for a real pet lover to help us to take care of our dogs and cats, as well as possibly do a little bit of general maintenance work around the house and garden, and help with cooking, shopping, washing up etc. There will also be childcare needed in future. However, the focus for now will very much be on animal care. Or helping with the house move.

    This post is suitable for a motivated individual or two friends or a couple. The tasks may be more enjoyable when carried out with a friend / partner, and there will also be free time for you to enjoy at the weekends, which may also be nicer when there are two of you. But the work can also be completed by one person on their own.

    North Wales is known for its stunning scenery with amazing mountains and beaches. It is an area well suited to outdoor enthusiasts with a great variety of outdoor activities on offer. It is a rural, quiet and beautiful area for nature lovers, but does also offer some cultural activities in small local towns. There are some busses that go to and from our village every day.

    We would like to provide somebody with the opportunity to care for our lovely dogs and cats, whilst also being able to enjoy the beauty of North Wales. For this, you would need to be very pet-loving (ideally with experience of looking after dogs and cats), like children, and be caring, observant, reliable, trustworthy, friendly, honest, positive, motivated, and independent. If this sounds like you, then please contact us with some information about yourself. We look forward to hearing from you!

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Baby-sitting / garde d’enfant
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux
    Aide avec les langues

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will gain a lot of experience helping with dogs and cats and experience living in a rural village in North Wales. You would be able to explore the beautiful mountains, coast, castles and small Welsh towns at weekends. The local languages are English and Welsh and you would also be able to learn about Welsh culture and history. You could also have weekend trips away to England or Ireland if you like.

  • Aide

    Aide

    You would either be helping with the house move and/or be helping with the daily care of our dogs and cats 5 days a week, which involves:

    - Getting up at around 8am to feed the dogs and cats and exercise the dogs
    - Exercising the dogs 3 more times throughout the day (at around 13:00, 17:00, and 21:30), at least an hour each time in total
    - Cleaning the dog sleeping areas and the cat chalet where the cats live
    - Cleaning up any dog poo and cleaning the cat litter trays
    - Spending some time with the cats playing / cuddling with them and brushing them
    - Helping to raise Ragdoll kittens when we have them
    - Keeping an eye on the pets' health
    - Helping with any vet visits

    - Possibly some childcare too

    There will also be a little bit of general help around the house and garden required, including shopping, cooking, washing up, and cleaning / tidying, possibly some gardening and painting too. You will be expected to cook dinner for the family every second or third evening. But the vast majority of your work will be with the animals.

    There will be free time for you to enjoy late morning, in the afternoon, and evening, in between the mentioned work shifts. You will usually have the whole weekend off, as Tom is at home then to help Tamsin.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    Mainly English, but also German, the local language is Welsh

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You would be staying in a bedroom in the house with a kingsize bed and good WIFI. In our old house you will have access to a private shower room and the kitchen downstairs. The upstairs of the house is our private family area in our old house. In the new house you’ll also have access to the dining room. There the bathroom is shared with us.

    We usually eat dinner in the evenings together and you would be expected to take turns cooking dinner for the family. We have no special dietary requirements. You would be preparing your own breakfast and lunch daily (we provide the ingredients) and help with food shopping and washing up etc. In the summer we enjoy BBQs together with views of the mountains and the sea.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Please note that, as mentioned, the work with the pets (around 5 hours a day, 5 days a week) is spread throughout the day (about 2 hours at 8am, and then 1 hour each time at 13:00, 17:00, and 21:30). So you will need to prepare for early mornings and late evenings. You will need to be prepared to spend around 4 hours a day of your 5 daily working hours outside with the dogs in all kinds of Welsh weather (rain, wind, snow, sunshine, sometimes all in one day). Beside feeding and exercising the dogs and spending time with the cats, you will also be responsible for cleaning up all pet areas, dog poo, and cat litter trays 5 days a week. Please note that if there are two of you, we may ask you to complete some additional projects, like cleaning, painting, gardening etc. If you come on your own, please be aware that you would need to be happy spending some time every day on your own and with the pets of course :-) And playing with our daughter. We prefer for Workawayers to stay at least 3 or 4 weeks, but may consider shorter stays as an exception. 1 or 2 months is great!
    Please note that in autumn and winter North Wales is rainy, cold and windy, so please prepare for this if you come between October and March. Spring and summer (April to September) is usually much nicer, although we can expect rain at any time really.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week.

This kitten was named after a Workawayer
One of our adorable Ragdoll babies
One of our beautiful Ragdoll cats
One of our rescue dogs, an unusual Border Collie
One of our Spaniels enjoying the beach
One of our crazy Spaniels :-)
Some of our dogs saying hello to our neighbours
One of our Ragdoll kittens we bred
Our back garden in late summer
This is us :-)
One of our gentle Ragdoll cats
Some of our lovely dogs on a walk on a local beach
Some of our doggies ready for a walk on the beach
One of our beautiful Ragdoll cats

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





















N° de référence hôte : 652629916633