1 / 5

Help a family to create beautiful space in Aldia Nova, Portugal

  • Enregistré comme favori 15 fois
  • Activité récente: 20 mai 2024



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    We are Jorden & Kim, and together with our 3 children (Aiden - 7; Oliver - 5 & Louana - 3 years old) we moved from the Netherlands to Central Portugal 2 years ago. We are close to Arganil and are in the middle of the mountains with lots of trees, stones and water. We are a couple of minutes away from the small local town with a school and cafe.

    The first 2 years have been about settling in, becoming part of the local community and building the house into a comfortable space for us as a family as well as for friends and family. This year is all about helping the land to refind its balance, and to start bringing back life. And we need your help doing so!

    Our place contains 18.000 m2 of land divided over 4 terraces. It holds some old oak-trees, chestnuts and a few olive trees. It has plenty of water and a year-round stream of water on the lower edge.

    We are training as Firekeepers, based on the traditions that originate from the native Americans. This is teaching us how we connect with ourselves, with each other, and with all life. We try to cooperate with the land in this way. By connecting with nature, it helps us to find the answers to our questions and helps us grow from all experiences in life.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will be able to tap into the life of a young family that is on a big adventure. We have our roots in the Netherlands, but have seen many places in the world. Half of Kim’s family originates from Suriname. We love to learn from you, your culture and we look forward to sharing our time together with good meals, good conversations and laughter!

    We mentioned we are training in the Firekeeper Academy. If you are interested, we can explore together with you how your nature connection works through you. And how we apply this wisdom in working together with nature to bring back life to the Quinta. Together we learn and grow

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We are in start-up mode, so there are a lot of things to do. You will be a pioneer in getting the land back on its feet! There is a variety of things to do, depending on your experience, interests, season and time:

    - Maintenance of the land by trimming, cutting and pruning
    - Design organic garden/food forest & planting trees & plants
    - Maintain and improve organic vegetable garden / create new growing beds
    - Structural improvements: Build fencing & animal shelter (for chickens, goats, ducks), greenhouse, watering system.
    - DYI: building shed for the tractor or covers for firewood, creating communal places/firepit/ campsites.
    - Inspire and improve our place as a place for future WorkAwayers!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant
    Allemand: Intermédiaire
    Portugais: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We would love to learn better Portuguese!

  • Hébergement


    You can choose:
    - We have a comfortable room with two single beds on the top floor of the house.. There is another bedroom on the first floor with a double bed, where you also find a bathroom upstairs we don’t use often.
    - If you like nature, you can camp outside in a big, heavy and comfortable tent. Or bring your own camper, caravan or tent and find yourself a nice spot on the land!

    We have an outside kitchen in the making, but it is not finished yet. Should be ready in late spring. So we share our kitchen in the house. We have a pool as well where you can cool off and lounge after the work is done. Or dip in the nearby lake (30 minute hike) or stream at the border of the land.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The Flixbus or train can bring you from Porto/Lisbon/Spain to Coimbra, and from there a bus is going towards Arganil. We can pick you up from the bus station. There is a local bus going a couple of times a day to Arganil, the nearest town. In walking distance there is the local town of Pombeiro da Beira, which has a cafe and a small shop.

    A lot of opportunities for long hikes, swimming in the lake or relaxing on one of the many river beaches in the area (a lot of options within a 20 minutes drive). There is a big community in the Arganil/Coja area that hosts various cultural, spiritual and creative activities.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have stable Wifi through 4G and there is a work space upstairs with an extra screen and keyboard/mouse.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There are many spots on the land you can park your motorhome or caravan. Electricity is not available everywhere, unless you bring a long long extension cord :) You can use the facilities in the house if you want.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 877969957829



Aidez dans une petite quinta avec des chevaux au Portugal
Help with animal care, gardening and land maintenance on a farm with goats and poultry in Seia, central Portugal