Come and enjoy quality time on a small island in Maine, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 75 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    13.09.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Dear Workawayers,

    My name is Katy, I’m a 59 German-American, also a Workawayer.

    My family and I are looking for help on a small island (about 1.5 miles long) off Maine’s largest city Portland.
    We’d like some general help around the house and garden, cleaning, organizing, dragging old wood up to the road for large-item pickup, etc. Nothing difficult.

    We can offer you your own room (maybe even a tiny cottage with own bathroom) and food for about 4 to 5 hours of work a day, 5 days a week. You can take any two days off as agreed. I’m really flexible and if the weather does not cooperate, we’ll stay inside and take it easy.

    Back to our island. It is small. The winter population is about 50. The main mode of transportation is by foot, bike, or golf cart. We do not have any open stores, restaurants, or pubs during the winter, but a well-sorted public library. Everything, including groceries, has to be ordered from the mainland.
    We can be reached by ferry boat (about 5 times a day). Yes, there is a larger city, Portland, with all the usual city amenities, but the island itself is quiet and peaceful.

    We can cook together or I can cook for us both. Whatever you feel like.

    And: The island is always on "island time”! Some things work out someway/somehow, some don’t. That’s just the way things are around here.

    I would love to hear back from you!
    Katy

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I, myself, have been on several Workaways and loved the amazing experiences and encounters. Now I want to pay some of this back and share with some like-minded individuals.

    There will be small-island living in beautiful surroundings in a typical New England cottage, right in the Atlantic.
    While we are „summer people“, we have many island friends who’d love to meet you and share meals, drinks, and game nights. It’s great to be part of a small tight-knit community and our one-room school house with currently 4 school kids is amazing.
    There is fabulous hiking on the mainland and several national parks, but bug spray is recommended!
    We may be able to find a lobster fisher to take you out lobstering. And there are whale watching tours right out of beautiful Portland, Maine. Once in a while, we see marine wildlife right off our porch.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Helping us around the cottage and maybe some other small maintenance and gardening projects as the need arises. All to be discussed and agreed upon together.
    Nothing difficult and certainly nothing dangerous!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Swedish: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A nice light room, either with double or single beds. Rest shared with me.
    Possibly your own unheated little cottage with own bathroom, as you wish.
    High-speed internet. Meals paid.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    On island: beach-combing, reading, book club, happy hour, game nights, kayaking, etc.
    Off island: free inter-island ferry-boat hopping, trips to town, national parks, etc.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Good high-speed Internet!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





N° de référence hôte : 873627877154