Learn to re-build a traditional farm, speak french and enjoy the peaceful country side in the Gers, Midi Pyrenees, France

  • France
  • Enregistré comme favori 71 fois
  • Activité récente: 27.01.2022



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois



  • Description


    Hi Workawayers !

    I'm re-building an old typical farm in the south west of France. I do it for my family because it's my childhood dream. I would be happy to host you and to show you how to re-build an entire house in the traditional way : as I have been a builder instructor, I am used to teach people :)

    I am 35 years old, and I travelled a lot, so I am happy to host travellers, learn about them, their culture, their previous trips... and tell them about my culture and France.

    The village's name is Bastanous, in the beautiful region "Gers". It's a very peaceful place in real typical french country side, with a beautiful view on the "Pyrénées " montains, which are not far away (1h drive). The larger region is called "Midi Pyrénées" which is a lovely area with plenty of stuff to visit as monuments, medieval villages, castles, rivers and canyons, sea and ocean, etc... This french area is actually an huge touristic spot but with peaceful places too :)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre


    Bastanous is a small village, with farms, cows, and a little church, no shops. (There are a lot of shops 5km from Bastanous, in "Trie sur Baïse" : 3 boulangeries, 2 cafés-bar, a restaurant, pharmacie, butchers, supermarket...)

    You can walk around in Bastanous, and talk with people, they are very nice, and our neighboors are very very typical french farmers ! Going to Bastanous is a real immersion in french countryside.

    I will be happy to tell you about my culture, to answer all your questions, speak french if you want, and recommend places to visit.

    I previously talked about the construction techniques you can learn.

  • Aide


    About the help you may provide : it's up to you ! It depends on what you want to learn.

    I am a professionnel builder since 18 years old and I have been also builder instructor : I like to share and teach my knowledge about building. I have been also specialized in heritage restoration, so I know how to respect the needing of an old house and that's what I'm trying to do.

    I've been teaching the art of building to many people and you know what I learned ? Anyone can learn and do anything if they really want... such as wall building, roof, carpenter, I don't know all the words in english, but everything for a house actually ! The farm in Bastanous is in cob (walls in soil & frame in wood).

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    You will have a big trailer for you with shower, electricity, water, heat, cooker, etc.. and all the needed stuff. It's nice and cosy !
    I stay in a small construction with all the accommodations and 3 beds. Shower, water, cooking, electricity, everything is there but there is only one big room.
    Meals will be provided, cooked and taken together if you feel like it. Otherwise you can do your things by yourself if you like to be alone, and we'll find an nice arrangement for everyone.

    As I've been travelling a lot, I like meet people and I'll be happy to exchange with you and make you discover my country.

    I live with my family (wife and 2 children) in Tolouse, which is a lovely city about 100 km away from Bastanous.
    During the winter : I come to the old farm every monday morning and go back to Toulouse tuesday evening. Wednesday I take care of my kids. Thursday morning I come back to Bastanous until friday evening and spend the week-end with my family.
    During the summer : I will go back to Toulouse for the wednesday and my family will be joining us at Bastanous for some week-ends.
    So wednesdays and week-ends you are completly free ! You can rest and enjoy at Bastanous, or visit around, or come to my home to meet my family and share our life, and of course visit around.



    Dogs are welcome, and if you have your own truck you are welcome too.

    Families are welcome too ! We used to come for week-ends all the 4 of us in the trailer, but there is only one double bed now so it depends on how you travel.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I can provide you a bicycle.
    The place is really country side so it's better for you to have your driving licence.
    I may lend you my car sometimes but i need it. I can lift you to the train or bus station...

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours per day , 5 days/week

N° de référence hôte : 866622683761

Feedback (2)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)