Apprenez-nous l'espagnol et aidez un peu à la maison sur la belle île de Kauai, Hawaï, USA

  • États-Unis
  • Enregistré comme favori 300 fois
  • Activité récente: 29.01.2023

Disponibilité

  2023 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Aloha! My name is Giselle and my husband Dave and I live on Kauai with our four children (ages 10, 8 and 5 yr old twins). Our last "fur baby" (a 14 year old Shih-Tzu Chloe) recently died, but we still have a cat and four chickens. Our house is very lively! Dave works 24 hour work shifts in the hospitals and I work as a social worker at the kid's school.

    We are looking to host someone teach our family Spanish (preferably speaking only the Spanish language). Also help around the house or yard is always appreciated :-). If you are handy, there are always small fixes to do around the house and yard as well and/or if you like to cook, we love to try new cuisine (well, the adults do, the kids are sometimes a little timid). We are flexible with the scope of your "job", but are generally looking to add another adult in to the mix so we are not quite as outnumbered by the kids.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We live in a residential neighborhood that is walking distance to the world famous beaches and a small shopping center. Around our neighborhood is a lot of hotels and tourist areas. Our house is full of laughter and crying almost all day every day (translate this to mean it is often loud) and our kids are typically awake from about 6:30am to 7:30pm. All of our kids are now in school and they all have activities they are involved in after school.

    We spend a lot of time outdoors both in our yard and at local parks and beaches. There are amazing hikes, snorkeling, boating, surfing and friendly happy people.

    Our island is one of the most remote on the planet and is a beautiful place to explore. The Hawaiian culture is very unique mix of different Polynesian, Asian and European influence.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We live on the beautiful "garden island" of Kauai, Hawaii. It is truly one of the most majestic places I have known, but it is remote and not for someone who loves the "city life". In order to be happy here, you need to have a love of nature, the beach and outdoors and have an ability to "live simply".

    We are a family of 6 (plus a cat and 4 chickens) looking for a responsible, patient, detail oriented person mostly to help our children learn Spanish, but we also benefit from having a third adult around the house to keep up with everything that goes on in and around the house. And now that the kids are in school and activities, we often need help driving them to activities too - sometimes it's impossible for us to get them to two different places at the same time. Very recently Dave had a surgery that has landed him in a rehab facility on the mainland so our current situation is a little in flux and it would be beneficial for us to host someone who can stay for an extended period of time.

    My family is from Peru although I grew up in the United States. I want my children to learn the language and culture while they are still young. If you would like to practice/learn English, we are happy to do so when the children are not around, but we prefer that all of your interactions with them are in Spanish. They tend to answer in English, but understand a lot in Spanish. You will also have plenty of opportunities for English practice as you explore the island or with us after they are asleep.

    When we are not around and on your own schedule, we would like you to help with almost anything you can think of...
    - Laundry (we just can't keep up!)
    - House cleaning and little projects (organizing cabinets, small fix it projects, etc.)
    - Gardening (mostly weeding, but if it's something you enjoy, you can get creative)
    - Cooking (definitely not a necessity, but a welcome treat if you like to cook)
    - Pretty much anything. There are always jobs to be done and we never have enough hours in the day so any help is always welcomed.

    If you love to cook, we would take that too! Costco cooks most of our meals here and home cooking is a treat ;-) We will always keep a list of suggestions of ideas to help around the house, but pretty much anything you see that can make the house more organized, tidy or "fixed" will be appreciated. We just don't have enough hours in the day!

    The most important attributes we require is that you are self motivated and love children. It would be beneficial if you like animals too as we have a cat and four chickens and hope to add another dog or two to the family sometime soon.
    We are a fun and friendly family and are looking forward to welcoming the right person in to our home :-)

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We are very interested in learning Spanish and teaching our kiddos Spanish as my family is from Peru and I was not taught Spanish as a young child. I would love the opportunity to help with your English as you help with our Spanish 😊

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    At our home, you will have your own studio apartment that is in our backyard. It has its’ own bathroom complete with a lava rock wall outdoor shower, mini refrigerator and kitchenette and a queen size bed with television and cable.

    You are also always welcome in our home, but will have your own quiet place to retreat to on your off time. You are welcome to eat with us or on your own and help yourself to our kitchen.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    It’s very difficult to bring pets onto our island, however if you happen to already be here or be traveling with a pet, we would be open to welcoming both you and your non-human companion. We currently have one cat and five chickens and are animal lovers 🥰

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 858772248974

Photos

Feedback

Come help me in the studio and around the property in the idyllic setting of Penland, USA
Partez aider un couple en Floride