Connect with horses and learn about natural horse keeping in Alcoutim, Portugal

Country

Portugal

new host  

Enregistré comme favori 67 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

    Pas encore évalué
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    16.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Learn and work with horses in a natural way on a horse farm that offers no riding. With us you can really connect with horses as animals with intrinsic value and learn more about ethical animal keeping and training.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    // PLEASE NOTE - Our workaway positions have currently been filled until spring 2022 //

    We offer a kind, compassionate environment that is good for horses and people. The way we handle our horses is all non violent and based on mutual respect. All the activities and training we do with our horses is based on the horses voluntary participation. Our horses are kept naturally, living outside in a herd 24/7 with constant access to roughage. This allows for very interesting observations of the herd and understanding of the natural behavior of horses. The horses presence itself is healing, and we actively encourage you to spend time with the herd and enjoy their company and healing presence.

  • Aide

    Aide

    // PLEASE NOTE - Our workaway positions have currently been filled until spring 2022 //

    We run a non ridden horse farm in the south of Portugal, right by the border with Spain. We have 12 horses, 2 large dogs and 3 cats at the farm, so no two days are the same! You do not necessarily need previous experience with horses, but an enthusiastic and compassionate attitude towards animals is a must!

    The farm is run by a couple who are about to have a baby, which of course means more hands on deck are needed with the work on the farm.

    We run a small business on site, where clients come to enjoy time with the horses or learn about horse training or natural horsekeeping. We also offer lead rein riding for small children as a family activity. Please note, Workawayers are not expected to participate in any of the business activities with clients - your help is needed in the day to day care of the horses and housework only.

    The tasks here are not physically very demanding, but we are looking for responsible and reliable people to help with duties such as;

    Preparing the horses feed and feeding them twice daily
    Cleaning a small section of their 7ha paddock daily (usually no more than a couple of wheelbarrow loads)
    General housework duties such as hoovering, vegetarian cooking and tidying up.
    Walking the dogs
    Picking up supplies from nearby suppliers using our vehicle (You need to have a valid driving license )


    ----
    TYPICAL DAY
    Generally, the days start with feeding the horses and spreading out their daytime hay, walking the dogs and general tidy up around the house and the farm. In the mornings we also do our run for the supplies, to the local town or the agricultural store for horse feed. The morning duties are usually all done by 10am, if we start at around 7.30am.

    During the day you will have free time to head to the river beach or hang out in the hammock with the horses. If you are the type that likes to keep busy, we can sure find useful projects to keep you occupied around the farm, but the main help we need with really is the daily care of the animals in the mornings and afternoons.

    If you are travelling on your own, please note that the time in the afternoons you will be entertaining yourself, so it helps if you enjoy your own company.

    The afternoon consist of feeding the horses, spreading out the hay for nighttime and preparing their morning feeds. We spread the hay by car and a small trailer, so ideally you are comfortable driving around the farm as well as outside for the supply pick ups.

    The evening duties usually take about 1,5h -2h and we like to start at around 4pm. After feeding the horses, we walk and feed the dogs too.

    In the evenings, it would be a great help if you would be happy to cook a vegetarian meal for everyone, at least occasionally.
    -----
    We are looking to host two people, so this would be an ideal spot for a couple or two friends happy to share a room. If you do come on your own, you will likely be the only workawayer, so it's good to be comfortable spending time on your own.

    Ideally you are positive people with a responsible attitude and some experience in farm animal care. You need to be able to drive a car in Portugal, as some of your duties might include picking up supplies. It's great if you take initiative to get things done without having to be reminded!

    We would like to have you here for at least a month, as it takes time to fully learn and become confident in everything.

    NOTE - This horse farm is NON RIDDEN - horse riding is not at all possible here with our horses. We run a small business related to the horses on site, but workawayers are not expected to participate in any activities with clients.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Finnish: Courant
    Portugais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Happy to chat in different languages if that helps you in your journey!

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will be living in the same farmhouse as the hosts, in a private bedroom on your own or with another volunteer. There is fast wifi available. We share the rest of the house; kitchen and bathroom and lounge are all communal areas. The rooms are kept clean and tidy and we do not allow smoking inside the house. Dogs and cats live inside the house too but they are not allowed access to the guest rooms so you will not be sharing your bed with fluffy friends.

    You can help yourself to food when you are hungry. We tend to cook at least one hot meal per day to eat together, and very often the dinner leftovers make for a nice lunch the next day. We are "almost vegan" vegetarians, we eat cheese and eggs still but do not use any other dairy. You are of course welcome to eat what you please, but the house supplies are limited to veggie goods. We try to be accommodating to your tastes and requirements.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The farm is run by a Finnish - Portuguese couple with an absolute passion for horses and caring for them naturally. We are easygoing and flexible, as long as the animals are well cared for.

    The horses 7ha paddock surrounds the house, so the nature and the horses here are really on your doorstep!

    The farm is located within a walking distance from a riverside town of Alcoutim. The town has all your basic needs, small supermarket, pharmacy, restaurants and coffee shops as well as a very cute riverbeach. We have direct access to marked footpaths so should you be a keen hiker, there are plenty of dirt tracks and paths for nice walks in the area. There is a river boat taxi service across the river to Spain and they hire out kayaks and jet skis too.

    Public transport around here is not great at all, but you are welcome to join us on our shopping trips to Spain or to the other big towns nearby as and when they happen. We like shopping in the local charity shops too, so if this is something you enjoy, you are totally welcome to join us!

    There will probably be times where you can take a few of days off the farm to go explore, we are happy to drop you off at train station to help you on your way. There is a train line all the way across the Algarve and with connections to the rest of the country with the nearest station a 30min car ride away from us.

    The nearest beaches and bigger towns are all about 30min drive away.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    You will have plenty of time in between farm work to focus on your own work. We have a fast wifi here and good mobile signal too.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have space and can provide a plug in for standard size campervan.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 856418582999