Learn about a unique tradition of rose harvesting in the Rose Valley, near Nova Zagora, Bulgaria

Country

Bulgarie

mis à jour   Last minute

Enregistré comme favori 257 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    18.05.2022

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    90

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
Offre "last minute" : besoin d'aide urgent, tout de suite, mais aussi à d'autres périodes de l'année.
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We (Dany, Johanna and our 4yo daughter Ani) are growing oil-bearing roses in the Bulgarian Rose Valley. We researched the idea of planting roses in Bulgaria since Dany inherited several hectares of land located in the Bulgarian Rose Valley from his grandmother.

    Growing up in a city, I always dreamed of having a garden one day - Now, I find myself working away on our rose fields in the Bulgarian Rose Valley carrying on the ancestral tradition of growing Rosa damascena for rose oil production.

    Having studied chemistry, I am always interested in the ingredients of cosmetics and their impact on our health and the environment. For us it was never a question not to produce organically and only use absolutely natural ingredients.

    Our goal is to create fields of roses in the Rose Valley that we can be proud of. We aim to produce as sustainable and organic as possible. In sharing our experiences we hope to bring new light to the tradition and beauty of the Bulgarian Rose Valley. We welcome everyone to join us in our quest whether for a glimpse or a memorable picking-season.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The rose harvest is a unique tradition in the Bulgarian Rose Valley. In our small town there are many families owning a rose field that has been in the family for years. During rose harvest everyone is out on the fields and picks fresh pink roses that are produced into essential oil the same day. We are growing our roses purely organic and can share our experience with rose organic cultivation.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    During May and June the rose harvest takes place. This is our busiest time of the year and we like to share this special time with Workawayers , so we might be up to 10 people here.
    We usually have between 3 and 6 Workawayers at a time and share all our meals together. There is no set structure to follow as far as the help is concerned, you are free to decide how much you would like to participate, so in that sense it is about us sharing what we have with people who have similar interests.
    Please note that workawayers do not replace skilled help - You will be accompanying us alongside our local paid workers (rose pickers).
    The harvest does take place early in the morning. Depending on the time in the season we would get up between 4-5 am and after a very quick tea/snack be on the fields by 5/6 am. Then again it depends on the yield of the day whether it's a short day of rose picking or a longer one. Could be anywhere between 8 am and 11 am. If you are not a morning person or really have difficulties getting up this early this is probably not the right place for you.
    When we get back from the fields we need to prepare the sacks for pick up ( i.e. weight and label) and will have a joint breakfast or lunch depending on the time.
    Then everyone usually appreciates some time to shower, rest and relax. There is a lake nearby suitable for boating or swimming. We also have two mountain bikes available for exploring the area around.
    Some days we head to the fields in the afternoon for a couple of hours of maintenance work (weeding etc) or do a few smaller projects in the garden or around the house.
    The overall working time is in average 4-5 hours a day (not including helping with the preparation of meals or dishes etc). There might be a day with a couple of hours less and then some other busy day with 1-2 hours more.
    In the mornings it's usually a bit chilly and gets warmer as soon as the sun gets up around 6-7 am.
    As we have to get up so early during the harvest, we usually go to bed around 8-9 pm.

    May usually can have some rain falls and even without the rain the fields are wet in the morning due to morning dew, so proper rain gear is essential to keep dry and happy :-) We do have a range of rubber boots so as long as you have a good rain coat and pants that should be enough. 

    During other months of the year, there is always the garden to work on or maintaining the rose fields (pruning, tilling...).
    We are also constantly trying to make our place a better home by repairing existing structures and refurbishing the place. Everywhere you look there is a new project around the corner, so anyone with carpentry, general building skills is highly appreciated.

    In your free time you can explore the surrounding nature (we have two mountain bikes, swimming in the lake nearby, fishing...), relax or visit cultural places nearby.
    Keep in mind that we are in a very rural area with limited public transport so if you are planning to explore more around and visit other cities while here you this might be more difficult to organize.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Bulgarian: Courant
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We are always interested in any language ;-) We can offer Bulgarian and German and English of course

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Our place is very basic as we recently bought this old place and dream of reconstructing it (one day). We only have one bedroom right now and a small hot shower bathroom. The toilet is an outhouse in the back of the garden. Volunteers camp in our garden (we can provide tents, mattresses and sleeping bags) and share meals with us. Sharing meals means that we will prepare and cook together and also share the work of cleaning up afterwards. We cook in our outdoor kitchen and generally spend most of the time outdoors.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are located 20 km north from Nova Zagora and 50 km from Stara Zagora. There is a daily bus from Stara Zagora to here, Panicherevo, leaving Stara Zagora at 3 pm.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












N° de référence hôte : 849666132844