Looking for untouched wilderness and the cowboy way of life? in British Colombia, Canada

Country

Canada

mis à jour   Last minute

Enregistré comme favori 1924 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    58  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    15.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    94.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 7 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
Offre "last minute" : besoin d'aide urgent immédiatement mais aussi à d'autres périodes de l'année.
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Beautiful secluded ranch close to the North Thompson river and many great fishing lakes and miles of quiet trails. Nature is exactly what you will find here if you are lucky you might get to see a bear or two and the many bald eagles in the area.
    We are in a very remote area 1.5 hours from Kamloops instead of city life you will find untouched wilderness and lots of animals to love. Get ready to unplug from social media and your phone our internet is very limited. We love a can- do attitude and you will get out of the experience what you put into it. There is independent work to be done as well as team work. My husband works full time in the summer and I work part time. We have weekends off where we enjoy spending at the local lake, camping, swimming or bonfires, there are also rodeos on the occasional weekend. I take the fall and winter off to work on the ranch. There is calving in March and April where there are night checks and babies to help bring into the world. Summer consists of gardening, fencing, irrigation, moving cows and checking on them once they are out to pasture. We are a very hands on ranch and we all help make this place an animal paradise. After a day's work we like to unwind with a swim in the nearby lake in the summer and enjoy a cold beer. We also go for hikes in the local mountains and local waterfalls. Sun Peaks Resort is only 1.5 hours away and the snowboarding and skiing there in the winter is great. There are also lots of local lakes that are great for ice fishing in the winter and a local ski hill and cross country trails. Come learn a little of the cowboy way of life in beautiful British Columbia.

    We need help in March and April for calving. We would love someone who's experience with cows and would like to help bottle feed and check on newborn calves. Someone who does not mind hard work and odd hours. We never know when a new calf is coming!!

    We also need help with getting the fields ready for haying. Tractor work as well as building our new guest loft!! A strong man or a couple would be great for the month of May!!! June, July and August we do irrigation, fencing and haying so again tractor work as well as in the garden. There is always animals to look after and plenty of fun as well. Swimming in the lake and bon fires are a must!!

    During September and October we are looking for help with getting firewood and gathering the cows as well as some construction to finish up and help getting everything ready for winter. A couple or a single strong person with some construction knowledge would be very helpful. We are looking for a self motivated person to help look after the ranch and animals while we are on our holiday.

    Please feel free to get ahold of us.


    A basic English understanding is a must for safety reasons as well as health insurance and insurance in case you break or damage something of ours. If you can not live without social media or texting and calling friends this is not the place for you. We need everyone to be present and not distracted while working.

    Thank you for your interest, Cheers and good luck in your travels.
    Michelle & Len

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Come learn the Canadian way of life!!

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We need help with different things around the farm for example painting or carpentry, gardening and animal care. There are many smaller projects as well and depending on your skills and interests we will find something that suits you.
    Horse and cow experience is a plus but not necessary.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    In exchange for your help you will get room and board, many great memories and new friends are included.
    There is a rustic cabin available and also a room in the house where there are a few single beds.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Wells Grey Park is close by with beautiful waterfalls, boating, hiking and camping. In Clearwater there is white water rafting and river kayaking available as well as many lakes for fishing and swimming in the summer. In the summer there are small outdoor concerts from time to time and every Saturday there is a farmers market in town as well. If you have your own vehicle Jasper is only 2.5 hours drive or Sun Peaks in the winter is only 1.5 hours by car. There is downhill mountain biking there in the summer as well as amazing hiking. Having your own vehicle is a major bonus, it give you lots of freedom to enjoy your days off. Public transportation is not really available around here and we do not lend out our personal vehicles anymore.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










































N° de référence hôte : 813579429132