Aboriginal Living & Learning with Indigenous Family in Atlin, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 95 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    10.09.2022

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    3870

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Centre for Aboriginal Living & Learning)

    Indigenous family practising our culture in a modern context. We help many people in our community, young and older. We hunt, fish, gather, dance, sing, drum and live on the mountain side of Atlin Lake and have a land-based healing camp on the Nakina River.

    We are looking for people who are open and hard working to help us at our land-based healing centre.

    As we get older and some of our children have moved out, we've found we need your help to keep this good thing going!!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We live a traditional life in a modern setting. We hunt, fish, gather from our land and water, and we have computers and internet!

    You will learn how to hunt/harvest skin, cut and prepare moose meat and fish for freezing, canning and drying in a traditional smokehouse. We also gather berries and medicines as they are in season.

    We are a part of the Taku Qwan Dancers, so dance in festivals near our community and in our community.

    I also sew traditional clothing and can do beadwork and make moccasins when time permits.

    I am also a storyteller and activist, focusing particularly on the rights of indigenous women and children. I am also an Ojibway Pipe Carrier, sing and drum.

    Bryan is also a carver, artist and is working on completing his first book and is an amazing writer.

    We also recently bought a small rugged saw mill and will need help falling and milling trees as Bryan intends to continue building hunting/gathering structures out within our territory.

    Finally, we live a sober (alcohol and drug free) life and can share that experience with you.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I am Ojibway and Bryan is Tlingit – we are a Canadian indigenous family.

    Bryan and I have been married 25 years and our home is a beacon of hope in our community. We have young adult children of our own living at home and/or nearby and we also foster children.

    As we’ve aged, we find we need help with the work necessary both inside and outside our home to make this all work.

    I really encourage you to contact me as my photos will show you how we live an amazing life!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Canvass tent with wood stove heat; meals are together in central kitchen tent.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Time off on the Nakina River is spent resting and absorbing the vibe from Mother Earth!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 786977571174