Join us in the woods stewarding a small homestead in coastal Nova Scotia, Canada

Country

Canada

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 24 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    31.07.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Canadian-American couple. Looking for easy going guest(s) interested in permaculture techniques, regenerative gardening, herbal medicine- plenty of native medicinal plants on property, sustainable forestry - trails, woodworking-planning to build platforms for camping/yoga.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are still unlearning settler culture and digging deeper into the original stewards of the land, we would like to connect to and honour the Mik'maq culture specific to the area. The land has been used as an organic farm in the past, our vision is to continue to steward the land. In the small home (900 square feet) we try to reuse resources, this includes learning how to fertilize growing beds with urine, humanure and compost with a focus on building soil and regenerative earthworks. I have spent many years living in Asia and parts of Africa and enjoy exchanging stories and experiences. We have both been involved in Permaculture design courses in Asia and are learning how to adapt the principles in the Maritimes.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I am looking for help with building soil/mulching, planting trees, flowers and vegetables, rain garden landscaping, woodworking projects- including hoping to build platforms for camping/yoga, outdoor greenhouse, and possibly a sauna. Maintaining and cleaning up dead trees on trails, permaculture activities including setting up water management, maintaining grey water system. There are two laying chickens which are closer to pets but their coop needs some tidying at times and foraging and gathering plants/vegetables.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Currently, the accommodation will be shared within the small home. The home is nestled in the forest, yet the rolling ocean is almost always audible. The guest(s) will have a double futon inside the house, as well as a tent platform outside if preferred. The kitchen is small but has all the necessary appliances for cooking. I would be happy to share the cooking/food including using eggs and vegetables from the property. I eat mostly vegetarian and dairy free so I only have a small fridge. Guests would be free to join this or get their own supplemental food in town. The property is approximately 3 acres and there are areas where a tent could be set up or you could park a RV/van, there is also an outdoor shower, and outhouse.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The property is a 10 minute bike ride, 2 minute drive to the beach (provincial park), great beginner surf, picnic area and hikes. Kayaking can be done across the road in the harbour and into the marsh area, there are 100 wild islands in the area which boast some of the most beautiful kayaking/SUP experiences. The closest shop is a 10 minute drive to the Webbers convenience store which also has a secondhand clothing shop below and Memory Lane Heritage village (Seasonal) beside, a fun spot to explore. Musquodoboit Harbour is a 20 minute drive which I go once or twice a week. A weekly farmers market, bakery, microbrewery and Uprooted Cafe/organic produce in town.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    As long as the friendly pet gets along with chickens and the other wild animals on the property (rabbits, pheasants, foxes).

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 621942791645