Farm helpers needed for harvesting olives in Australia

Country

Australie

Enregistré comme favori 38 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    08.04.2021

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    132

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple living on 28 acres, which we share with our horses, cats, dogs, chickens and one sheep and alpaca in the beautiful Macedon Ranges just north of Kyneton in Central Victoria. We established an olive grove of 300 trees in 2008 and in 2017 took over the management of a further 150 trees a few kilometres down the road. Work includes olive harvesting and pruning of trees in both groves and preparing the olives for processing. There may also be some general yard work that needs doing at various times. Our olives are handpicked so you will need to be fit and prepared to work longish hours in the grove – of course, you also get breaks and lots of tea and coffee and food to keep you going. You will have two days off a week to do whatever you choose. You will have your own bedroom with a Queen Size bed and your own bathroom and toilet – which may be shared with one other person if we have someone else staying at the same time. Our house is clean and comfortable and warm in winter and cool in summer. We adore food and look forward to sharing meals and perhaps cooking with you as well. Non smokers preferred.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Well, that's an interesting question. We would like to have you share our food and we love food and wine. We would love to learn from you about your food and culture. Jude speaks fluent French if that's of interest and she is always trying (well persevering anyway) to get Rob to speak it, so that’s an option...you can also learn about horses and how to safely work with them, same with alpacas, dogs (friendly), cat and chooks. We love where we live and are so happy to share it with people who wish to spend time with us.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We need help with the olive harvest between the months of April and June each year – sometimes longer depending on what nature brings to us. This involves handpicking, sorting, cleaning and preparing the fruit for processing. Rob is a passionate olive farmer and loves to talk about olives (and fortunately, other things too). You will have the opportunity to learn about this wonderful fruit from someone who is passionate and fun. You can also spend time with our animals if that is something you enjoy – they are all lovely and very friendly.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have your own room with a Queen Size bed and your own bathroom and toilet – this may be shared if we have someone else staying at the same time. Our house is comfortable and welcoming (so we are told) and has everything you should need. The kitchen is central to the house and we spend many hours cooking and chatting and drinking wine there. Our cat and dogs spend most of their time outside but are inside in the evenings and for sleeping. As well, we are avid readers so there are many books for you to read as well. AND - we are only one hour from Melbourne by fast train service.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are 7 kilometres from a mid sized local town, Kyneton, with lots of good shops - two supermarkets, doctors, dentists etc. There is a train station with fast rail one hour service to Melbourne and the other way to Bendigo, a major gold rush town in Victoria. Plenty of historic buildings, and gold rush memorabilia in area. Good local (small and large) hills to walk around and up for wonderful views. Cool natural waterfalls and a swimming hole. Various neighbours are cattle farmers, bee keepers & honey makers. There are loads of kangaroos, kookaburras, magpies and sulphur crested cockatoos to see. Happy to loan our ute for drivers with international licences for days off exploring.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 775814357924