Join our homeschooling family on the farm in Auckland, New Zealand



Enregistré comme favori 73 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges


 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

  • Description


    We are a homeschooling family with a lifestyle farm on 5 acres with pigs, ducks, beehives, quails, guinea fowl, sheep, chickens, goats, rabbits, cows, cat and a dog.
    We have 4 children who are all 10 and under. They are awesome kids who love to play the host too and share in cultural exchanges.
    We live close to Muriwai, Parakai Pools and Shelly Beach.
    We have a large comfortable house with ocean views, bows, slug guns, spa pool, outdoor fire and unlimited internet.

    We grow, make and process as much of our own food as possible so have fresh eggs, furs, honey, fruit, veges and homegrown meat. We love to bake, are working on producing all our own bread, pasta, jams, chutney, candles and so much more - You will be well fed and we like to try and introduce you to as many NZ foods as possible!
    We grow homekill meat so this means under the NZ Law to eat it you must be involved with the ongoing manner in the farm's daily operations and their family and household.

    Being on a farm like this means early starts - breakfast is at 7am and a routine that needs to be stuck to.

    Accommodation can be a person on their own or couple/traveling friends.

    We are looking for help with our home, farm and children.
    Your hours do not include day to day household chores required by everyone who lives here for example: Dishes, picking produce, taking out rubbish, recycling, feeding animals, clean up after meals, milking for the house etc…

    This could include gardening, maintenance, painting, building, weeding, mulching, lawns, cleaning, driving, digging, animal related tasks like cleaning shelters and much more...

    To stay with us you will need to:
    * have a good attitude
    * be motivated
    * have common sense
    * keen to give new experiences a go
    * have lots of energy
    * be able to follow a list and instructions to a high standard

    We are particularly interested in skilled people for building projects, renovations and upcycling.
    It would be a bonus if you had a license to drive in NZ and were confident on rural roads.

    We enjoy learning about other cultures and sharing our Kiwi way of life with people. We are happy to help you with your English.

    We look forward to hearing from you!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique d’une langue
    Projets artistiques

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Share your language and culture with us! We are all doing this for learning about each other.
    Speaking English when ever possible in the household is a great way to practice/learn – we are more then happy to help you get the words right!
    We do request that when you are around the table for meals conversations are held in English – we consider meals a social thing.
    We have NZ movies, some stories and Maori culture books.
    We would love you to teach our kids and us your language in return.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Possible projects:

    *Painting Decks
    *Building and Painting Animal Shelters
    *Building a Courel
    *Sandpit construction
    *Playground construction
    *Chicken Coop Build
    *Rabbitry Floor
    *Renovating Caravan
    *House cleaning and organizing
    *Au Pair
    *Lawn Mowing & Weed Trimming
    *Animal Maintenance - drenching, hooves, housing...
    *Mechanical help

    So Much More depending on your skills and interests...

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    We have a fullsize bedroom and can accommodate a person on their own or couple/traveling friends.

    All food is provided by us. We provide Breakfast, Snacks, Lunch and Dinner.
    We generally don’t take fussy eaters – we pride ourselves on providing good food and you will be well fed! We do understand people often have particular things they do not like but please keep opinions to yourself unless you are allergic – this helps to keep the kids open minded about foods and sets a good example.

    Our food comes from the farm as much as possible - milking the goat, growing the meat and picking produce.
    We are a lifestyle farm – that means we all contribute to run and manage our household, animals and farm working towards being as self sufficient as possible -it is hard work but we love it and we hope you do too!

    We use all the animals for food or other things they produce like fur, eggs etc…
    We grow what we can and are continuously working towards producing more from our property.
    As part of our family for the time you are here we would like you to be actively involved to get the most experience out of your stay and contribute in day to day things we do to provide the great meals and the accommodation you get.
    There is a daily routine for feeding the animals and cleaning up after meals which is done by everyone - you need to be able to follow a list to a high standard.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are not new to hosting (also on helpx) and have had many great feedbacks from other websites some of our workawayers have been 2 weeks and some 3 months. We have enjoyed them and our family loves the experience.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have rural internet (DSL). You can work from a desk in your room. No photos of us or the property are to be shared unless permission is sought

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a farm with access to water and power for a camper.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.5)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)

N° de référence hôte : 759538544496