Prenez un grand bol d'air frais à la campagne, dans le sud de la Colombie Britannique, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 120 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    24.11.2021

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,
    This year, there are two major projects that are going to be undertaken -- setting up a Solar system and rebuilding the garden fence. Of course, there's still the garden and orchard to take care of and the multitude of chores that need to be done around a country home.

    If you are looking for a peaceful place to spend some time and invest yourself in some out-of-the-city type living, please consider contacting me to see if this would be a good fit for you.

    Because I live away from the city, and a five minute drive away from the closest town, Winlaw, which is 45 minutes from Nelson, it would be best if you had your own transportation, but not essential. If you have a driver's licence, we could make things work.

    I prefer to host people with life experience, preferably over 50, but will host younger people who are willing to learn and get down to work. I am a very active/busy older woman who has a lot of knowledge to share and enjoy living life to its fullest.
    My home is on 80 acres of land, close to the Slocan river, and situated on the side of a small mountain. I live in a typical older country home, that is always needing some kind of work to be done, as in the winter, I heat with wood. In the summer, there is a large organic garden to take care of. This is a great place to learn about country living and what it means to live in a rural setting.

    Other work that will be done this summer include: setting up electric fences to keep the bears, deer and wild turkeys out of the fruit trees; harvesting the fruit: cherries, raspberries, blackberries, blueberries, plums, pears and apples as they come into readiness. The busiest month is in September with canning and putting food away for the winter.

    Depending on the skills and interests you bring, the work could range from cleaning to carpentry, pruning to plumbing, dog walking to log splitting/stacking. Taking dog for walk/feeding/brushing. . . but preference will be given to someone who is knowledgeable about solar systems and electrical fences.

    Please note, because of all the fruit trees, wild life abounds -- from wild turkeys to bears (see picture #2- bear in cherry tree). You must be prepared for life on the edge of wilderness. It would be most helpful if you can come with skills, but not a requirement. Attitude and willingness to learn/help are most important.

    Please note: references will be required, as to who you are -- even if its your mom who says you are the best person in the world.

    Please write me for more information about being here. Please tell me about your food preferences, activities you are interested in and your expectations for coming here.

    Thanks!
    Camille

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Learn how to live outside a city, on the land and what that entails. Drink fresh mountain water, breath clean crisp air, walk in nature. . .

    This summer, I would like to investigate the possibility of building solar panels agains the hill that lines the property. More on this later, as things develop.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    This old house is always in need of a nail and hammer somewhere, a fresh coat of paint here or there; The garden -- well, from weeding to watering to planting/harvesting, always lots of work there to keep one busy.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Private accommodation in the large trailer, with its own kitchen, living space and bedroom, and which provides easy access to the river.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Winlaw is an incredible town in a most remarkable valley. It has a welcoming and diverse community with a range of people who live here -- farmers, loggers, tree huggers, artists, musicians, a herbalist, off the landers, healers, gardeners, to name just a few. There's a second hand store, good restaurants, adventures galore. Pristine wilderness is its most notable feature.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Space for camper vans available.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Can accept neutered dogs, if not aggressive or hyper and can learn to stay out of the kitchen, preferably out of the house.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4 hours/day, depending on weather (20-25 hrs/wk)





N° de référence hôte : 756515568225