Learn about renovation and help out at our farm house in Pikva village, Harjumaa, Estonia

Country

Estonie

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 70 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    08.05.2022

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello

    Update 2022

    We are Viktor and Kristiina and Grete and Birgit and Hugo.

    Our place is a farm house in Pikva village, Harjumaa Estonia. It is located by Jägala River. Distance from the capital is 50 minutes by car.

    History of the farm starts from early ages. Several owners are marked in Church books form middle ages. Current setup of houses were constructed between 1908 to 1933. We have two stone houses - grain dryer and stable. In addition wooden barn. Main house was burned 20 years ago.

    Establishment is surrounded with Kõrvemaa nature reserve and Jägala river. Across the river are our neighbors - small summer houses. Nature reserve provides clean and healthy environment.

    What to do in here? + Free time and socializing.

    The farm is not our main home. It means we spent time there during warmer months. We are there during the summer nights and weekends. We renovate hold houses and maintain the garden. As garden is huge, there are many activities. Planting salads and tomatoes and cucumber and other veggies. Grass cutting is my task and is done with tractor. Usually all work awayers have planted some trees. Pine and maple and oak have been most popular however this year we move to apple garden. This requires some ground works as well as planting and watering and protecting apple trees from wild animals.

    Besides gardening renovating and building is most time consuming activity for me. No, actually it is my hobby. We are currently building summer kitchen. It is basically a greenhouse, with kitchen function. Also children's playhouse is huge project. Wooden gates are next in line as I finished posts made out of stone. So woodwork is huge part of the works.

    As I mentioned earlier I do not live there. It means we cannot provide 24/7 companionship. Usually we are there 2-5 days during the week and time to time take our workawayer helpers to sight seeing. Maybe some other city or location which we visit ourselves. We can provide the ingrediencies , but bulk of cooking should be done by everyone themselves. There is no easy access to public transport. Railway station is 4km through forest.

    Accommodation is in sauna house. It has second floor for sleeping and first floor has dark small room for indoors eating and sauna for personal hygiene. Sauna is wood operated and requires fire. Most of people spend their time outdoors and in summer kitchen.


    Whom is it for?

    I don't know?...I can tell who has visited us during last 6 years. There were two set of people who stayed more than 3 months. Both of them came with their own caravan and stayed for several months. They helped us with garden maintenance and woodwork projects mentioned earlier. Of course they had convenience of their motorhome. One couple had children other one cats:). They worked remotely with their own projects and helped us for some hours each week.

    Other group of workawayers is solo traveler who likes nature and peace and relaxing environment. There have been several of them. And finally couples or friends who travel together.


    WBR,

    VKGB

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Living here is suitable for person who would like to get away from city environment. Learn how to renovate old fieldstone houses/wooden roofs/ovens or gardening tips and tricks.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Woodworking; fieldstone works, woodpile construction, painting etc.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Estonian: Courant
    Russe: Intermédiaire
    Finnish: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accomodation is in loghouse/sauna. 4 beds sleepingroom + sauna room + main room with small oven.
    Try toilet. Hygene in sauna or garden shower.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Transportation is by car. I will provide transfer from capital or near by town of Kehra. There is a train stop 4km from the farm. However it is trough forest.

    It is possible to travel to capital Tallinn for the day and enjoy the medieval old town and other sights.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Caravans are OK. Electricity available. Caravans are specially good for living there.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    All friendly animals are welcome!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Not determined. According to ones will and readiness. (25 hours a week, maximum)






N° de référence hôte : 226621867425