Live in a treehouse and help with our hobby veggie and garlic farm outside Prince George, Canada

Country

Canada

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 493 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    24.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Covid-19- We require all guests to show proof of vaccination upon arrival, due to the presence of an elder in the household.

    Welcome! We speak fluent English and German. We are looking for someone to live in our treehouse cabin and to help us with projects, and looking after a our farm where we grow as much produce as we can on a tiny piece of land.

    We live on a 5 acre rural property just outside Prince George BC- a town you need to pass through to get to Alaska and the Yukon. We live about 30km from downtown where the air is fresh, and it’s just a short walk to two lakes. Holly kayaks to the school she teaches at!

    We are a family of 5, with 3 children ages 13-18. Children are not here on the weekends. Holly's elder mother lives in her own suite downstairs. We have 1 large dog and 2 cats that live in the house and if you have allergies to cats our house would not be suitable. There are pescatarian/vegetarian options available for meals, as Holly is pescatarian but the rest of the family eats meat. We try to eat healthy meals, but unfortunately we cannot accommodate other diets and food allergies due to busy farm life. Non-smoking/non-vaping guests only please. 4:20 friendly on your own time.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Learn the basics of gardening and building in a difficult northern climate. We only have 60 days to grow the majority of our food and there is so much planning involved. We would love to share our knowledge! Holly has been growing produce for over 20 years and has learned to sift out the wives-tales from research based best economical practice. Learn to grow produce for both yourself and a local chef.

    Experience rural family life as we develop a small farm that reuses discarded materials to lessen our impact on the land. Come see how a tree house cabin, chicken coop, fence, and a loft styled shed were all built using wood from our own land and recycled materials. If you love innovative projects and are interested in how you can use what you already have, we are the right fit for you.

    Depending on the season, walk the land with us and learn how to harvest wild plants for food, tinctures, and teas on the weekends. Holly knows all the names of the wild plants of B.C. and we eat local plants when ready and have an entire cupboard of wild crafted teas. Learn how to find yourself a quick survival snack or cup of tea!

    Ever want to take a big dog for a walk or a run in your free time? Charlie (Great Pyrenes/Golden Retriever mix) would love to get out around the neighborhood or to Eskers 20 min down the road. Learn to live away from city life, and experience kayaking on a lake all to yourself! (Lake may still be frozen till end of April depending on the season). Sport fishing (license required) is at Eena lake, a 5 min bike ride down the road. Nukko Lake is beautiful, but limited in desirable fish species.

    We also offer training with basic power tools and can teach you to use a chainsaw safely. If you are keen to learn new skills, we are willing to show you! We are also a musical and artistic family and would love to learn about your talents as well!

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for flexible and positive minded guests who are genuinely interested in learning how to run a small hobby farm to grow their own food. Basic work experience in a garden (any zone) or working with plants or on a farm is appreciated, but not necessary. Ideal workaway guests are guests who want to learn, and who are interested in small-scale farm life.

    Garden/yard tasks may be weeding, using a wheelbarrow to make garden beds, watering, sifting soil, mowing, harvesting vegetables/garlic. Ask us about our YouTube Channel and you can see the greenhouse/ treehouse and the garden.

    Depending on your interest and skillset we can expand your tasks. Tasks change per season- with the main crops ready July/August, although we will be already working in the greenhouses in April.

    You will often work with Daniel as Holly is teaching full time from April-June 29th. April may be a bit chilly, so please be aware of our climate zone. Canada does not spray for mosquitoes in rural areas, so be aware! Daniel is allergic to them and survives only because he loves Holly. Holly ignores them completely because they rarely bite her.

    Animal care is working with chickens and quails: feeding, egg collection and cleaning cages, pens, and is a shared with our youngest. Help with building projects is simple and straightforward, no experience necessary.

    Basic household chores may be included during the week as part of your hours as it gets busy trying to keep up with everything! Everyone pitches in with clean up of meals, including children. If you wish to cook and prep meals/bake, this can also be part of your hours during the week if it fits our timeline. We often have many unique projects on the go, so please expect clutter in the house, and tools or a project on the kitchen counter!

    Help will be needed about 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. We do not go beyond 5 hours, as many guests have experienced in other workaways. Guests usually start their day at 9, but we begin earlier. Guests work from 9-12, have a 1 hour lunch then work from 1-3pm. That being said we are super flexible with our hours/days and might work different hours dependent on the weather. If you want to start early with us to have more time off in the afternoon, just ask! We try to mix up your tasks.

    We consider guests as part of our family and we enjoy connecting with you. Instructions will be in German and English. A car will be helpful if you want to explore beyond our routines.

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will be staying in privately set 8x12 tree house cabin (including porch) at the back of our property. Heat is provided by a small wood stove and there is power to the cabin. No water or toilet facilities in the treehouse. We only accepting 1 guest or 2 traveling partners so the treehouse space is yours.

    There is an outhouse by the treehouse but you will have full access to our large family home for cooking, laundering/showering/WiFi and just hanging out. Bathroom will be shared with kids. Campfires are permitted and encouraged! Light a fire and enjoy the night stars! No light pollution, and you can see Milky Way!

    Sauna! We have a beautiful outdoor wood-fired sauna in the woods that you may use. The sauna is built with waste wood and trees from our land, and overlooks the small gully next to the treehouse.

    Both the tree house cabin and the house are non-smoking and we do not accept smoking/vaping guests. Bedding/towels are provided. Wi-Fi is only available in the house. Breakfast and lunch meals are pretty informal, and we try to have a sit down family dinner each evening at 6pm depending on Holly's schedule. All food is provided and there is a pantry full of snacks. Alcohol is not included, but feel free to purchase on your own. Weekends the kids are at their dads, and meals are more "help yourself"/leftovers and informal.

    To access the lake you just walk across the road down a little path and we have two kayaks to offer guests. Generally, you are the only person on the lake!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    During your time off you will have access to the kayaks, and fishing gear. There are two nearby community beaches, a fishing dock, and Esker's Provincial Park about 15km away to go easy hiking in. We enjoy living in a rural setting, and if you crave the parrying nightlife on the weekend, we are not the right fit for you. We are young(er!) but would rather sit around here with a glass of wine and a fire enjoy the outdoors. The closest basic shopping area is 15 min away by car. There are not steep hiking trails near by- you would need a car to access these, although the Ancient Forest and Grizzly Den hiking is about 150km away. Prince George area has more walking/gentle hikes locally.

    Our neighborhood is quiet and safe. We live 30 min from downtown Prince George, and we go downtown every Friday to drop off the kids, deliver produce, and shop on the weekend. We are currently not loaning our car out to guests due to insurance complications.

    We will pick up and drop off at the Prince George airport, Via train station, and other locations to help you arrive/depart.
    We are known as the Gateway City as we are the central city to pass through on your way to Alaska, the Yukon, as well as Haida Gwaii. There are an abundance of ride-share options on Facebook that can take you to and from Prince George along with an International airport and a train Jasper and Smithers .

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Lots of parking area. No water hook up, but an outdoor hose, and access to a power cord. But the treehouse is just so much better! No wifi outside.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












N° de référence hôte : 754594478723