Help renovate an old French farmhouse in Aquitaine, France



Enregistré comme favori 5 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente



 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

  • Description


    We are renovating an old French farmhouse and need help with the renovations. We are English and resident in France. My husband works and needs help to complete the project. We also have rescue dogs and cats and foster the odd dog, so must love animals. We are in the most beautiful valley in the Charente, not far from town and major roads. Being able to drive is a must as no public transport where we are. If your looking for crazy nightlife everynight then ours is not the place for you but if you want the occassional night out and appreciate nature and peace and are not afraid of handwork, good home cooked meals and inclusion in our social life then you can have a home from home with us.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We live in a hamlet of 4 houses within a French community so opportunity to learn French is available. We are surrounded by Lakes for fishing and water sports as well a swimming. The opportunity to discover the beauty and tranquility of the house and to experience diverse French culture while living with an English Couple. Access to main Railway services giving you the opportunity to visit Cities, towns, beach resorts and the mountains while with us. Some as a day trip and others as weekend away trips. The use of a car may be possible.
    We also offer the opportunity to experience new building and plumbing skills as my husband, Ken, is a qualified plumber and Heating Engineer. He also has general Building and decorating skills along with welding skills.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    General building work, to assist in putting drainage in and gutters up. Assisting with plumbing work , a new bathroom to go in and bathrooms that are already plumbed need decorating and tiling. Putting up plasterboard, General internal and external decoration with some restoration to fireplaces and brickwork. Garden work to help landscape the garden, (after drainage is in)., along with mowing and strimming the grass. Stone wall also needs restoring in the garden along with restoring stone walls to barn and hanger. Assistance will be required to put in a roof light to flat roof and roof will need tiling. All work will be supervised by Ken although some of the work will be undertaken while Ken is at work but he will ensure you fully understand what is required on those days. Some experience in general building would be an advantage but general labouring and gardening along with common sense is necessary.
    Mucking in within the house will be required and assisting walking the dogs and mowing the grass/strimming and weeding will also be required time permitting. Building experience would be a great advantage but enthusisim and willing to work hard is a must along with honesty. If your a couple your both very welcome as we have plenty of work to keep everyone occupied.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    We have a fairly large old French Farm house on about 1 acre of land. Our photographes are out of date and bedrooms are now built to the first floor but 2 of them still need some decoration. You would have your own room en-suite and share the rest of the facilities with us. Kitchen is workable but needs a complete refurbishment and all rooms need decorating but are furnished and comfortable. We have a large lounge and a separate TV room. All food will be provided but shopping/ food prep /cooking will sometimes be expected generally we would want people/person who wants to integrate within our home creating a home from home environment. Laundry facilities are provided and Obviously your privacy is valued along with ours.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The house is close to leisure lakes providing, water sports, fishing and swimming facilities. We are close to main Line train stations making visits to Cities, towns, beach resorts and the mountains possible. Bordeux, Limoges, Bergerac, La Rochelle to name but a few and The mountains are accessible during the winter to ski or summer to holiday. We are very close to a main town with bars and restaurants but our house is within a hamlet comprising of just 4 houses. Surrounded by fields, woods and spectacular views. Great walks and lots of wild life. Local entertainment throughout the year which is an opportunity to experience rural life in France. We live within a French community giving you the opportunity to learn french and depending on your length of stay, French Lessons. We are a warm friendly couple who's family and friends visit but who are established in France and will include you in local social activities while you are with us. As already stated the loan of a car is possible but fuel would be at your own expense.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 749442435144