Help at our community farm in Sainte-Colombe, South-East France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 66 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    22.11.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    81.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 7 jours

 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everyone,

    In 2015, Thierry took over an old farm which was unoccupied for 10 years. He is renovating the farm to become a community project based on self reliance. He currently takes care of a flock of Merino sheep for meat, dairy goats for cheese and two donkeys.

    Rebecca arrived this spring and is busy building a small apiary (6 colonies at the moment). She is also helping tend to the flock of goats, in particular with milking.

    Fanny arrived also last spring and takes care of the house and the kitchen.

    Mathias arrived recently to help out in the vegetable garden. He is also looking after the chickens. He has a background as a gardener in Marseille.

    This is a small holding community, with a focus on producing for its own consumption. However, we sell pear juice and lamb meat due to a surplus of production. We are also looking to sell more produce in the future in order to achieve economic autonomy of the farm.

    We offer you, all year round, to accompany us in the care of animals and to make the parks for the herds.

    Everyday you can make bread and delicious goat cheese that you will enjoy at every meal (except in winter with the cheese; goats have a break from milking) .

    In the spring, we spend more time with the animals as this is often the season they give birth.

    You will also help us in planting out the large garden (1,000 m²). Activities may include planting, sowing, preparing garden beds, irrigation, compost etc...

    In the summer, we still do the garden but we also dedicate more time to working on the buildings.

    We also clean the sheepfolds and turn over the heaps of manure. At the beginning of summer there are also many wild plants to pick: nettle, thyme and lime tree leaves, then lavender mainly at the end of summer.

    In the fall we harvest pears, nuts and vegetables and make reserves. With pears (4 to 5t per year), we especially make juice, jam, brandy, vinegar and compotes.

    We often produce lamb meat and make canned food. We also return household composts. In winter we cut wood, prune and carve pear trees, clear land and do small renovations. It is still necessary to clean the sheepfolds and turn over the heaps of manure. In addition to all that, there are always things to tinker with...

    Regarding the pace, hours and organization of your stay, autonomy and initiatives are highly recommended.

    We like to meet new people, prepare tasty meals, play board games, play music and dance.

    We are also looking to diversify the farm (market gardening, fruit, cereals, medicinal plants, poultry, pig, bakery, animal traction, wool workshop, woodworking, forestry work, building restoration and construction on the farm, etc.).

    The life here is less modern: we cook and heat water with the wood stove and only use a dry toilet outside.

    The farm is in the heart of a natural park. It is surrounded by beautiful mountains with some nice treks around the farm, incredible climbing spots and lakes. The closest village, Orpierre, is around 10 min drive away. Occasionally (once a week) we are going to town for shopping. The closest rail station is Laragne-Montéglin (25 min drive). Of course we can pick you up there at your arrival if you are not able to hitch hike.

    We ask for a minimum stay of 2 weeks, but ideally 3 weeks or more. We are not willing to handle short term stays as it is in your interest to integrate well into the community, and important for us as a farm to streamline the workflow.

    See you soon!

    Thierry, Rebecca, Fanny and Mathias

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will get a great benefit from a cultural exchange in our community.

    This is a living farm and community project for those who would like to learn and be empowered, to take care of themselves, of animals and Nature and to move on to a more resilient lifestyle.

    We are looking for dedicated and autonomous people who a willing to learn, contribute and live in a multi-task community.

    Please note that THE CENTER IS LEARNING BASED. So it is not the place for drinking every night.

    Of course we have fun, enjoy life, music and occasionally have celebrations ;-)

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for skill-full individuals to help us to build up our farm project.

    Farm skills are welcomed to help in the gardens and with animal care and maintenance. We are also interested in carpentry skills to help improve or extend the existing infrastructures.

    Activities can include but are not limited to: farm tasks, gardening, animal care, feeding, milking, cooking, carpentry, painting etc...

    Help is 5 hours half day with 2 days off.

    In exchange for your help we offer free accommodation and meals.

  • Languages

    Langues parlées
    French: Courant
    German: Débutant
    English: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation is the campsite. We will provide you with a caravan or tent. Comfort is currently quite rudimentary but you will enjoy the peacefulness of the mountains and the surrounding nature.
    There is no hot water from the tap. But in the summer there is a solar shower in the garden. You can also heat water in the kitchen if more confortable for you. We hope that will be fixed soon. Toilets are dry toilets. In winter it is quite cool in the house (between 12 and 18 ° C) but we are using a wood heater.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    It's a rural farm at 1000m altitude. There is no convenient stores around. The first villages are around 20 minutes by car from the farm. We are going to town minimum once a week if you need to do some purchases.
    There are nice walking treks around the farm, climbing spots and lakes with amazing views. This is a place for Nature lovers and people who want to engage into a more resilient lifestyle.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    not too big vans, we have a good place close to the farm for campervans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    becareful with your dogs for our animals. dangerous dogs won't be accepted.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day

N° de référence hôte : 747279421776