An organic historic farm with innovative approaches in Midi Pyrenees, France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 238 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    23.11.2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is an organic farm, developed since the 1980s. We combine traditional methods with creative approaches, and love to learn new ideas.

    My name is Louis, 35 years old. To describe my world in a few words is challenging, but I will share some highlights.

    My farm is situated in the beautiful Quercy region, in a diversified landscape with lots of historical buildings.
    On the farm we grow many different crops (wheat, sunflower, garlic, linen, lavender, hemp, basil, chilli....), we transform all of them (into flour, bread, vegetable oils, condiment preparations, cosmetics....) and we sell them directly on markets or to shops.

    I have two daughters, 3 and 5 years old, I have them all the time, they go to the local school, they go to their mother every second weekend.

    My children and my work are my greatest loves but I still enjoy cultural exchange and sharing global experiences and approaches.

    On the farm there is always activity with people around for different projects or tasks that have to be done. Things depend a lot on the time of year and the weather. There are often some building projects going on, like working on a barn or a house. I have a herd of 20 cuddly cows to look after, a few cats and a dog.

    The farm is situated 1h30 driving North of Toulouse. There is no public transport nearby but there is always a solution how to come around!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    My cultural background is quite diverse.
    I am born in France but my parents who live nearby and participate in the activities of the farm are German. I have studied in different universities and graduated in various subjects before becoming a farmer.

    I still have many friends around Europe. There are often people coming around from all kinds of backgrounds.

    Critical approaches to agricultural practices, about environmental policies or "modern way of living" can be part of daily discussions.

    I am not a good French teacher - I easily switch to other languages, but my daughters speak a lot and mainly in French.

  • Aide

    Aide

    There are many things you can do here, depending on your interests. The Big Boss is the weather. If the conditions are good, there are a lot of different tasks, all of the time, everywhere. If it's rainy, we might take a few days off in the middle of the week.

    My work also depends a lot on my daughters. They come with me to feed the cows or on the tractor, but if they connect, they might want to stay with you. My girls speak French mainly. I try to speak German with them and they are used to English too.

    We might need help on the fields, working with our processed products (labeling or transformation), homework or cooking. Many other things can arise where a little helping hand is welcome.

    For me it's important that you are interested and involved in alternative ways of living. It's good if you enjoy spending time with children as my daughters often rule the farm!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    German: Courant
    English: Courant
    Spanish: Courant
    French: Courant
    Italian: Courant
    Dutch: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    I have a little separated appartement near the house (part of a barn conversion), a room of about 20 m2, with a double bed, table, small kitchen area, with a sink, gas stove, and a small bathroom with shower. There is a wood burning stove for the winter.

    I also have a spare bedroom next to the house, but there is no individual bathroom.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    For the past year I have lived without a computer, internet or tv, and mobile phones do not always have good connection in the house, depending of the weather.

    No smoking in the house or near places with risk of fire.

    At lunch, we often share a nice group meal. Everthing that grows or lives on the farm or nearby which can be eaten might be cooked. There is mainly organic quality food and drinks.

    If you come without a car there are bikes but everthing is quite far away. There is no public transport system.

    There are nice walks in the nature around, many old paths, old ruins and nice viewpoints. There are also rivers or lakes to go wild swimming.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Maximum 19t

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours 5 days a week.






N° de référence hôte : 727926959439