Help us with our micro-brewery, gardening and outbuilding renovation projects near Fougeres, France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 66 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    11.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    86.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 6 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Californian and British couple in Northeastern Brittany looking for help with gardening and outbuilding renovation projects. We have owned our home for 30 years splitting our time between California and France. The farm is tiny, but provides a good percentage of our food so gardening is always needed. We have lots of projects underway and are always improving the garden and buildings. We are working on finishing the raised bed vegetable garden, chicken pens and outbuildings and are currently installing a microbrewery in the stable. Our children are grown (one lives in Paris) and we now live in France most of the year.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We worked as crew aboard private yachts as captain and chef in one of our previous lives, and have traveled extensively. If if you are interested in wine, brewing beer, cooking or perfecting your English (we do speak French) we would be good company. We have an active compost, use natural pesticides made from plants and work with bio-dynamic gardening as best we know how. We are always learning! We are laid back and enjoy all kinds of music and art. We have a piano, keyboard and a few old guitars. We tend to be night owls, rather than dawnbreakers, but we have no issues with anyone's circadian cycle, and the house is big enough that everyone can do their own thing without disturbing others.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for someone or a couple who enjoy gardening who will help harvest, prune, plant and help maintain the vegetable garden. We are re-doing some fencing for the chickens and also landscaping an area of the garden including building some stone walls with granite from the property. We are working on renovating the stable into a microbrewery and are doing some construction in the stable. Gardening knowledge, masonry, carpentry, painting, building, art and beer knowledge would all be useful!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Italien: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have owned our home near Fougeres for 30 years. It is a 300 year old granite farmhouse with several bedrooms, a massive kitchen and a nice salon. The house is in a tiny hamlet outside of the village in tranquil farmland. However we are only 10km from the large town of Fougeres. Beautiful B&B style bedroom en suite with a double bed and your own bathroom with toilet and shower/ tub combo. The fish man comes every Wednesday. We get fresh eggs from our chickens. Peter bakes bread daily. We do not eat much meat but you are welcome to if you like. We cook with food from the garden if possible. We are usually doing projects so are not regimented with meal times. We share cooking and are happy if you want to help.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our nearest big town is Fougeres (10km) which boasts a chateau and some great bars and restaurants, Market day is Saturday. We are 45 km from Rennes, a vibrant university town with lots of bars, restaurants, galleries and entertainment. There is a regular bus schedule, and this would be a good day trip. We are also less than an hour from Mont Saint Michel, a place that should definitely be on everyone's list of places to visit. An hour to Saint Malo which is a fortified port town with lots of history, and Cancale, with the best oysters in France (in our opinion). We are always up for a trip to the coast to see the beaches or pick up some oysters.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have wifi throughout the house. Not fiber though... signal is generally decent, can do video calling OK, but if Zooming we need to avoid other bandwith use.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Big yard and field if you want to get further from house. Outside power points if need be.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We love animals and may be open to dogs however we do not have an enclosed area and are near a road so it would depend on your comfort.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 725827169725