mis à jour  

Help around the home, gardening, house maintenance, Cairns, Australia

  • Australie
  • Enregistré comme favori 251 fois
  • Activité récente: 24 mars 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    Hello Workawayers,

    I am a builder and dive instructor who works away and travels a lot. I have a typical Queenslander house that is 80% renovated. I rent out rooms to students and travellers.

    I need help with gardens, building maintenance, cleaning, tech stuff, redecorating.

    You will have accommodation provided in exchange of 20 hours work per week approximately. Because I am away about 8 months of the year and most of the time when you will be doing the work away I won't be there I don't supply food. Though there is plenty of gardens that you can eat from and grow your own food while you are here.

    When I'm here we will work together, and when I'm not there we will communicate via whatsapp and I will guide you.

    Your length of stay can be from 1 week to 8 weeks. Accommodation will be student style accommodation in your own room or in a campervan in the backyard with all your own amenities, while sharing bathroom and kitchen with other people. We have wifi, TV's, projector in the backyard, organic gardens.

    We are a short walk into town, the Esplanade, and to the Cairns lagoon. You will have time to see Cairns and the surrounding area and do all the outdoor activities that are available in the area. You can manage your own time around your chores. You will have time to do other work if you find a job in Cairns, if you like. You will have a chance at learning how to garden, be a handyman, and creating an organic garden which is an ongoing project of mine with alot of failures jajajajaja, you will be able to add your own character to the house and campervan area.

    It's important that you are clean and have an eye for detail, respect others space, work in the gardens with love, and are a little bit handy with power tools, lawn mowers etc, while not being scared of a little hard physical work.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will have a chance to see Cairns and surrounding area. Learn about the history of this area. You will get a chance to learn small building projects as well as learn gardening and raw food etc.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Hello workawayers,
    I work away a lot and get back every month or 2. When I'm home i help with maintenance around house and prepare for my next work trip or adventure away. Your chores here are to clean the house, maintain the gardens, general house maintenance.

    If there are any issue and im away you can let me know via whatsapp so I can help.

    I have an organic garden which needs tending to as an ongoing project we have had alot of failures but we are getting there slowly jajajaja. We try and grow as much edible produce as possible on the land we have. I am trying to reduce our carbon footprint as well as eat healthier. We have alot of vegetarians and vegans stay here. We have herbs and spices, vegetables, tropical fruits, citrus fruits, avocado tree, and are constantly looking at ways of improving the garden and now moving into vertical walls to grow more non gmo organic produce.

    House is old but (80%) newly renovated.

    If you are handy then odd jobs in fixing or painting would be handy.

    Your accommodation is a bedroom in a 4 bedroom apartment or in a campervan in the backyard. You share a bathroom kitchen and toilet with orhers. Which is like a student style accommodation.

    You will be supplied a room per week in exchange for 3-4 hours a day 5 days a week work. We have developed a little system with the previous workawayers.
    You will have plenty of time to work another job and explore Cairns and the surrounding area.
    I am contactable on whatsapp and email and can respond within a couple of hours normally.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    Your accommodation type is your own room 4 bedroom apartment or in a campervan in the backyard, sharing a bathroom, toilet and kitchen with other people.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    With your time off you can go fishing, diving, see the waterfalls, camping, visit the daintree rainforest, go to the lagoon and swim and get a suntan.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Yes it's possible to host digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    I have a driveway you can park in with power.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    No pets

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 724647676779

Feedback (2)



Be part of our family and on an intentional off grid community near Nimbin, Australia
Help at our place with beautiful views just outside of Mullumbimby, Australia