Gardening & dog walking help needed near to the Pyrenees, France

  • Enregistré comme favori 5 fois
  • Activité récente: 20 avr. 2024



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    We are a young retired couple living close to the Pyrenees mountains near a place called Pau. My husband is currently working back in the UK and I am looking for extra hands to help with some general jobs around the house as I'm struggling to manage on my own.
    I'm looking for help with the following:-
    some outdoor gardening jobs such as cutting the grass, strimming, weeding, planting some shrubs & trees, and tidying the veg plot & cutting back brambles. I am also looking for help to dig up some small lawned areas & replace it with gravel.
    We do have a gardener once a month and he usually cuts the hedges but then I need help to put all the cuttings in the trailer & take to the tip, I'm sorry to say trailer driving isn't one of my strengths so if you can reverse a trailer that would be a bonus!
    We also are currently undergoing house renovations which should be completed very soon, unfortunately, my house has become dust-ridden so I would also like someone to help me undertake a deep clean, dusting, cleaning windows etc.
    We also have 3 large dogs, who by the way are extremely friendly & loveable, and 2 cats, and walking the dogs on my own is a challenge so help with walking the dogs together some days would be really helpful as well as as nice activity to do together.

    Full guidance & direction will be given such as using the sit-on mower, areas to be weeded, cleaning needed etc. some tasks can be done solo however some jobs we will do together.

    Our home is a traditional 5-bed farmhouse with a pool (only opened for the summer) located in a small village near to the beautiful city of Pau with easy access to the Pyrenees mountains. Approx 90 minutes from the coast to the west and Toulouse to the east with Lourdes 40 minutes to the south. Ideal for those who love the outdoors, fresh air, blue skies, and stunning views.
    UK TV is available also Netflix & Disney+, together with a large selection of books, board games as well as table tennis. We have tennis rackets as there is a tennis court in the village too. 
    Unfortunately, there is no shop in the village and a car will be essential to go to local villages, the nearest small town with a supermarket is approx a 15 min drive away.
    The house has recently been upgraded with new double glazing, a new heating system, and a wood burner so you won't get cold!
    There are also bicycles available if you wish to explore the local area but may need some TLC.

    I would expect that we would spend the evening & weekend socialising & getting to know one another however if you want to spend time away from the house exploring then that's perfectly fine.
    Food will be provided however I would not want to cook every day and hope you would take turns with me or we cook together.

    If you think you can help me please do get in touch.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide à la maison
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I am English & have been living in France for the last 5 yrs & could happily help you improve your own English language skills as I am qualified to teach English as a foreign language. You would also benefit from living in an authentic French village and I would be happy to show you around the area as well as larger local towns. These opportunities would enable you to develop your own French language skills.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We have a few areas where help would be beneficial such as grass cutting & strimming as well as help with the overhaul & maintenance of some raised vegetable beds, removing ivy from the building, or general help around the house & taking our dogs for walks.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I would love more exposure to the French language & if desired I can help you learn English.

  • Hébergement


    You will have your own bedroom with the sole use of a separate bathroom. However, if you require your own space away from the house we also have a caravan you can use as a sanctuary. Meals will be provided however sometimes it might entail making your own from kitchen supplies.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Lots to see & do locally such as visiting the cities of Pau & Tarbes with Lourdes approx 40 minutes away and is certainly a must-see place. The Pyrenees mountains are a wonderful place to visit for walking or even some skiing, there are aslo a few outdoor attractions such as karting & crazy golf. The coast is around 1.30 minutes to the west and is great for surfing.

    We are very easygoing although we have neighbours close by so would expect you the be respectful of their right to tranquility so no late-night parties!
    If needed the use of a car can be made available to travel locally providing you have a valid driving license & replace any petrol used. We also expect any traffic violations that occur to be accepted & any fines paid for. A copy of your driver's license will be required before the car is used.
    There are bicycles free to use but may need some attention as they haven't been used for a while.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Internet access covers the whole house so work can be undertaken from bedrooms, lounge, dining room etc there is a desk you can use too located downstairs.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a large graveled courtyard where a van can be left securely

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 719764726148