mis à jour  

Indoor and outdoor tasks in the small village of Příkrý, Giant Mountains, Czech Republic

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Update 24/5 This summer I'm very interested in Czech Workawayers to help me improve my Czech and other jobs.
    This can be repeating shorter or even repeating weekend stays (if this realistic with your travelling time).
    It's no problem if your English level is 'beginner'or 'intermediate' because than we can both benefit from this interaction.

    Hello, my name is Rob, 57 years old from the Netherlands and living for over 7 years now in a small village on the border of the Giant Mountains and the Czech Paradise (last house on a hill).
    About 10 years ago I bought this house with my girlfriend with the plan to start a small non commercial guest house.
    Unfortunately, my girlfriend passed away in the summer of 2016.
    Because the Netherlands had little to offer me, I moved to our home in the Czech Republic (and I really fell in love with this location).
    A lot of projects have been done since.
    Still, I could use some help with various activities: gardening, cleaning, cooking, painting, website, tidying up, light carpentry tasks, helping with the firewood and so on.
    I speak English, German and a little bit of Czech.
    An original Czech speaker who speaks some English and can teach me some Czech along the way is also welcome.
    During your stay you have your own apartment with bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and of course your privacy.
    It would involve 4 hours of help per day from Monday to Friday (flexible to fill in if you want a day off or 7x3, etc.).
    I provide (good) free food and accommodation.
    The tasks are adapted to the weather; nice to do tasks outside when it's dry and inside when it rains.
    Directly from the house you can take short or long beautiful walks in all directions.
    The bus stop to a town nearby (Semily) is a 7 minute walk (uphill and downhill) but normally I can also give you a ride.
    From Prague Cerny Most there is a direct busline to Semily (ca 90 min) were I can pick you up.
    A mountain bike is available.
    At 3 km distance there are pebble beaches along the river and 7 km away there is a large free outdoor swimming pool.
    It is a large house (700m2) with a large garden (7,800m2) in the middle of nature.
    It's become quite a story but if you have any questions don't hesitate to contact me.
    I look forward to meeting you!
    Rob

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    During the projects I am open to your input and experience.
    Hopefully we can learn from each other that way.
    Doing tasks in a relaxed atmosphere where nothing has to be done, but where everything that is done shows immediate results is my main objective.
    It's a small old village.
    The houses are at a good distance from each other and most residents have lived here all their lives.
    On the one hand they are very traditional (mostly self-supported) and at the same time they are very open and helpful.
    I am the only foreigner in the village and although I hardly speak the language I have good contact with my neighbours.
    The last hundreds of meters to my house are difficult to find and the navigation usually fails.
    When friends come to visit and the neighbors see a Dutch license plate, they are already automatically indicating the direction ;)
    In the area (especially in the 2 nearby towns) there are many restaurants, terraces, supermarkets and everything you need.
    There are also many museums (glass industry, history Giant Mountains, etc).
    Various cultural activities, festivals and fairs are also organized.
    The information about this is hanging at the town hall and with the help of google translate (especially the translation via the camera is super!!) easy to understand.
    The museums and cultural activities are small-scale, but that certainly has its charms.
    The Bozkov Caves (multilingual guided tour using headphones) and the Riegrova Stezka (a nice walk with a direct busline to my village at the end) are in walking distance.
    If you look this up on google and see the pictures you will fall in love with this region!
    The city of Praque with all his history is an hour drive from my place (a break to visit Prague for a few days and then come back to my place is no problem).
    In Semily and Zelezny Brod (2 small towns nearby) there are bus and train stations.
    A mountain bike is available for you.
    There are still many things I haven't seen yet so if you like we can visit some sights and attractions together.
    If you want more tourist information just google on Riegrova Stezka, Snezka, Hrad Vranov, Kozakov Mountain, Bozkov, Caves, Semily, Zelezny Brod, Turnov, Liberec, Jilemnice and so on because it's simply too much to list here.

  • Aide

    Aide

    In and around the house there are always a lot of things to do: gardening, cleaning, cooking, painting, website, tidying up, light carpentry tasks, helping with the firewood and so on.
    Of course we do the less fun tasks together.
    While talking, these tasks are done in no time ;)
    Weather permitting, we will do projects outside as much as possible.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant
    Czech: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I want to learn to speak Czech. I have a very basic knowledge of the Czech language and like to learn more on the job. My Czech Workawayer Lucie bought me a book: Czech for beginners step by step (čeština pro začátečníky krok za krokem) and I would love to go through it with a native Czech speaker. At the same time you can practice your English, German or Dutch with me.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Big house in the middle of nature.

    In addition to my own apartment on the ground floor, there are 2 indoor apartments on the 1st floor.
    You can stay there so you have your own privacy.
    There is also a simple fitness room if you want to work out.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Reading back all my text I think it's very much complete so I will use this space for a small recap:
    - Help wanted for a wide variety of tasks in a relaxed atmosphere;
    - I'm open to your input and suggestions;
    - You are positive, hands-on mentality, solution-oriented and think along with me
    - You will have your own place to stay with complete privacy;
    - Starting point: 4 hours of help a day, 5 days a week, flexible if you want a day off;
    - I provide free food and accommodation;
    - House located in the middle of nature;
    - Public traffic, restaurant, bars, supermarkets, ATM's nearby;
    - The city of Praque an 1 hour drive;
    - Many tourist and cultural activities in the area;
    - With a mountain bike, hiking trails, the river with beaches, terraces and a swimming pool (nearby) plenty of opportunities to relax.
    actually: a combination of doing projects and holiday in a beautiful environment with free food and accommodation.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    On the first floor you'll have your own internet connection and it proved to be working fine to work online, have online meetings and watch Netflix.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    You can park downhill ca 200m from my home (safe place, no criminality around here!!) or when you the van is high on its wheels you can park directly at my place). The last 200m to my place is a bad road )path) though.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    I have an old cat and I want him to spent the rest of his life feeling save. With other pets he is not the same cat as I know him so I won't accept any other pets. update 23/3: unfortunately I had to let my little big friend go this week. I will probably be looking for a new cat so if you want to bring your pet with you it's not a final "ÿes" or "no" but it's open for discussion.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week (to be filled in flexibly)

N° de référence hôte : 693228161992

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)









Looking for an extra pair of hands around our home and garden in Vlašim, Czech Republic
Experience life and help in nature near Nahoruby, Czech Republic