Care taker for earthship inspired home and off grid casita just outside of Taos, New Mexico

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 115 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    10.06.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    85.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 5 jours

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE 2 OPTIONS AVAILABLE: My name is Rob and I am looking for a caretaker to help me manage my earthship inspired home and off-grid casita for at least June 2022. My land is located just outside of Taos on 10 acres located just outside of Taos, NM on the mesa with a sweeping view of the Sangre De Cristo mountains and a mile from the Rim of the Rio Grande and the 10 mile west rim trail.

    I will be in an out of Taos this summer and looking for someone or a couple, ideally with their own van or RV to stay on my property and help me create and manage the 500 sq ft green house, outdoor living space and keep the place tidy.

    Please reach out directly and we can discuss in greater detail. Thanks!


    I am also looking for volunteers who have little to no experience working with their hands or who want to learn more about green building techniques. I will provide all the necessary tools, gloves and ear protection. Volunteers just need a good set of shoes and a willingness to learn. Time commitments are flexible and last minute is fine!

    In the past I have been a contractor in Portland, Oregon building small homes and a high school teacher in Hood River, OR. I'm looking for help that can ideally commit for at least 2 weeks, ideally a month, but the nature of construction is flexible and if anyone is interested in a smaller amount of time or weekend please let me know. I'm not able to offer compensation, but I will provide food and rustic shelter on my land. There is an outdoor kitchen and shower so covid safe social distancing can happen while still having some creature comforts.

    I've worn a bunch of hats so to speak professionally, teacher, law school, small business owner, contractor but largely stopped working in 2017 to travel the world. Prior to covid I typically would travel for the winter and most recently tried to bike from Pakistan to Nepal with mixed results. The year before I re-built an old 92 4Runner and shipped it to Peru, where we cut the back off and welded a tiny home on the back and drove to Patagonia for 4 months. I sold my house in Hood River last fall and was looking for a new place to call home; I bought the land in Taos sight unseen at the start of the pandemic and spent most of the spring and summer living out of a large custom tiny home on the back of my F-250.

    If you have never seen Taos and you like high desert mountains, views, sunrises and sunsets, you simply love Taos.

    Construction and building is incredibly fun and also physically demanding. Temps are Taos are a high of 90 and cool in the morning and evening and as fall progresses it will be super pleasant for a while.

    I've worked with volunteers doing physical projects and ran a construction crew so I have a pretty good idea how to make the experience educational and hands on while also carving out a few projects for volunteers that I think would be fun.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    This is a strange time when sharing cultures and conversation with strangers does not happen often. New Mexico has amazing natural lands to explore. My land is a good place to ride out the election and the pandemic in all honesty. New Mexico has a progressive governor and they take covid seriously. I try to go to town once a week for food and other than that stay out on the mesa.

    There is great food in Taos available for foodies who want to explore the culinary scene in New Mexico and Santa Fe is less than 2 hours away.

    This is an opportunity to learn to build to work with your hands on a variety of projects from construction to gardening. I will prioritize making sure that travelers and volunteers leave the experience with a broad range of construction knowledge.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Ideally, I am looking for short to medium term help. Anything from a week to 2 months is ideal. This spring we will be doing some interior carpentry, setting up a basic green house and gray water system, putting in a septic system and doing concrete work for the foundation of the earthship.

    I am looking for individuals and couples/groups who are interested in learning green building techniques. As with any new construction project there are a ton of possible tasks and projects volunteers can help with including helping with me on the green house and designing/building artistic pieces to add to the property. If you are interested please contact me and we can talk in greater detail about how much time you have and what skills you'd like to learn from our time together.

  • Langues parlées

    Espagnol: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There is an outdoor shower, sink, and stove and a small casita on the land. I have my tiny home on the back of my truck, so travelers will have their own space. Ideal for people who have a van or camper to sleep in.

    In exchange for helping 4-5 hours a day 5 days a week, 3 meals, or ingredients for meals depending in dietary restrictions will be provided for volunteers. I love to cook and New Mexico has an endless variety of spices to experiment with.

    Volunteers will receive 3 meals or ingredients for meals, depending on dietary restrictions in exchange for 4-5 hours a day of help; 25 hours a week.

    I love to cook and New Mexico has great spices to experiment with and several good grocery stores in Taos.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    My land is a 10 minute drive from Taos and tons of amazing natural places to see and explore. I do require that volunteers have their own transportation.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    There is good wifi available. Verizon LTE has good coverage, but NM cell signal is not always reliable.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Very very van friendly. I've been living on the road for 3 straight years and have done a ton of different build outs. I love seeing new vans and connecting with people on the road. If you need just a night in Taos let me know.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    This will be on a case by case basis.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 682687375942