mis à jour  

Seeking fresh energy to help at a mixed farm in Ontario, Canada

  • Enregistré comme favori 456 fois
  • Activité récente: 18 juin 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for nature loving volunteers to come stay at our farm and enjoy the sounds of wildlife while also working alongside livestock and dogs. We have a wide variety of tasks to suit every type of helper, some of them are:

    -caring for and planting into garden our flower and herb seedlings
    -planting small raised gardens with veggies
    - Making more walking trails in the forest and putting up small wooden markers
    - Building some bird, owl & bat houses out of scrap lumber, decorate them if you wish!
    -Redoing some fencing to keep cows where they should be to better improve our fields
    -walking the dogs through the forest and fields to give them exercise
    -household jobs like baking and cooking if you wish

    -Much much more

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Hi! Our names are Patrick & Valencia and we practice organic, no-till, regenerative methods with a focus on building topsoil. Our farm is 160 acres of fields, forest, marsh and natural springs. We allow wildlife to build homes here and coexist with us. We selective cut lumber to build with, and mill it right here on the farm.

    In the past 4.5 years we have hosted over 65 volunteers from around the world of all ages, genders and races. We try to make everyone feel like they are welcome and have built lasting friendships with our workaways. We hope to meet more people and learn new things.

    We have 4 dogs, big to little, that love people but love walks more. Valencia works shift work off the farm so we need someone to take the dogs out when she is at work or sleeping and be here to keep them company. They are our children. So you have to love dogs to be the right person.

    We want you to do the basic animal chores twice a day, which means watering & feeding the egg and meat chickens, a few pigs and turning the hose on for the cattle. It takes about 1.5 hour per day for everything (combined morning and night) for the basic chores then it will be a few hrs of other jobs.

    Now that spring is here we have miles of wire fencing that needs repair. It's not hard, but it is one of the main jobs we have. We will teach you, it's easy!

    You can relax in the afternoon, watch TV, read, or go for a walk. We have lots of trails through the forest. It's about 5 hours a day we ask, 5 days a week with 2 days off. We are flexible about what days and can discuss depending on what's happening that week. That leaves lots of time to explore the area. You can use the car to get around and go to town to shop, relax, see new places. With our volunteers we have been camping, on day trips in the canoe or kayak, swimming at the famous Sandbanks Beach in Prince Edward County. This area is famous for 1000's of acres of government land and thousands of lakes. There are dozens of national parks and great towns like Kingston to enjoy a nice meal. Valencia loves getting out in nature and would love to have some company camping or hiking!

    In the past we have trained people on driving tractors, cutting wood, building etc. We aren't perfectionists and often the house is messy, and there is junk laying around that we want to focus on getting rid of this yr. We've had volunteers build chicken coops, cute garden gates, benches to sit on and enjoy the ponds, bee hotels, anything you feel like you are free to do. We have unlimited lumber and supplies so get creative!

    We think our reviews speak for themselves. In the last 4.5 years we have had some helpers stay for a week, some for 6 Months. We have made incredible friends. You are welcome to hang out with us in the evenings!.

    We would love to meet you! Send us a message and we can see if we fit!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Vegetarians can come and learn about ethical and humane meat production to give them an idea of what really happens on a small pasture-based operation- see that we are not cruel heartless killers who truly do love our animals. We want you to experience the joy of raising livestock for food and how the earth can actually benefit and heal from eating food right in your backyard. Help reduce your food footprint by eating food raised right here on the farm!! It doesn't get more local than that!.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Basic animal chores : feed & water chickens, pigs, water cows.

    Dogs: let dogs out, walk dogs for 20-30mins

    Meals: if you can cook and want to great! If not, chop veggies.

    Help with fencing that needs repair

    Build bird houses and feeders, creative projects like signs and cute stuff for the gardens.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    2 Private RV's with double bed, couch, table, basic cookware, electricity (water coming this spring)

    Access to Starlink high speed internet, laundry, kitchen, bathroom and anywhere in the house or outside

    Electric Plug in for mobile camper or rv

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are more than happy to pick you up in Napanee (preferred), Kingston or Belleville. The bus can be taken to these cities.

    There is plenty to see and do less than 1 hour from the farm and you can get mostly everything you need in Napanee. Special items can be purchased on weekends when we go to the city or during your day off.

    Smoking is allowed everywhere outside EXCEPT the barns/sheds and inside the house. CIGARETTE BUTTS and BEER CAPS are to be kept OFF the ground. Marijuana and minor alcohol consumption is allowed during your time off. No smoking pot while driving equipment or operating machinery. Anyone not following these rules will be asked to leave immediately.

    We hope to host you soon! Thanks for reading.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have Starlink now

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have power for you.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    25 hrs per week as help vary by season

N° de référence hôte : 679323237241

Feedback (29)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)






































Come live in a Gaspésia community, Canada
Love to meet new people on our family farm in Lumby, BC, Canada